Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop Now Shop now
Through Dead Eyes and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £6.99
  • You Save: £1.00 (14%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Through Dead Eyes has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Through Dead Eyes Paperback – 13 Mar 2014

7 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.99
£0.01 £0.01
£5.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on Amazon.co.uk with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Through Dead Eyes
  • +
  • Death And The Arrow (Tom Marlowe)
  • +
  • The Dead of Winter
Total price: £18.97
Buy the selected items together



Product details

  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens (13 Mar. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1408811073
  • ISBN-13: 978-1408811078
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 1.6 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 204,342 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Chris Priestley worked as an illustrator and cartoonist for twenty years before becoming a writer. His books have been nominated for many awards including the Edgar Awards, the UKLA Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Medal. The award-winning and critically-acclaimed Tales of Terror series for Bloomsbury feature chilling stories rooted in the tradition of M R James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe and are available in many languages. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by, and linked to, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Product Description

Review

Chris Priestley is a modern master of horror and suspense, and Through Dead Eyes is unbearably gripping (Amanda Craig The Times 2013-03-30)

A creepy, tightly-plotted psychological thriller . . . chilling (Martin Chilton Telegraph 2013-04-02)

A brilliant counterpoint to Frankenstein, compellingly written. Chris Priestley goes from strength to strength (Praise for MR CREECHER Chris Riddell)

A wonderfully nightmarish journey of the imagination - old-fashioned storytelling at its best (Praise for the TALES OF TERROR Daily Mail)

Book Description

A subtle, sinister coming-of-age story with a contemporary setting and a dark dark past which quietly creeps up on the reader to unleash its deadly twist

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Ms Finch on 24 Mar. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I do love Priestley's style and he has an unrivalled touch with ghost stories and I expected a lot from Dead Eyes.
The descriptions of Amsterdam are vivid and real and set the scene for depressed and confused Alex to be drawn into a ghostly mystery.
I did enjoy the book but really wished it was a lot longer. I so wanted to know what happened next!
I won't drop in spoilers here, but after reading this you will -
a) want to visit or return to Amsterdam and b) avoid masks at all costs.
A good atmospheric ghost story in a modern setting but with a classic feel.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Lauren Carroll on 6 Oct. 2014
Format: Paperback
Ok, so I was unsure whether to even review this book, and here is why....

Basically, I picked this up from the YA section of my local bookshop (my frequent haunt), and having heard nothing at all about it, I was intrigued enough to take it home and give it a go. After finishing it, it became clear that this book is aimed more towards the 'young' in young adult...and definitely not towards a 20-something like me who does happen to enjoy YA fiction.

For that reason, I had to think more about my judgements of Through Dead Eyes by Chris Priestley. If, I am not indeed the target audience - then maybe my opinion of the book doesn't matter as much. Maybe someone else who is more fitted to who the author wrote this book for - would get alot more from it? Does that make sense? I didn't want to unfairly judge this book, when I think that I was just the wrong person to read it.

That being said, I HAVE decided to review it on here. I am going to keep objective about it. I will be stating a few things I wasn't so keen on, but for the most part I will be keeping my big opinionated nose out of the process, and forwarding some gentle advice about who I think should read this book, and who I think may be disappointed in it.

Okay...so what is this book? Through Dead Eyes is a story about a boy named Alex. Moving away from a troubled home and school life, Alex and his father are taking a trip to Amsterdam for one of his father's business ventures. When they arrive, Alex finds himself settling into a creepy old hotel...and he can't shake the feeling that someone is watching him in his room. With Alex's father tied up in business meetings, Alex is left in the somewhat unstable hands of Angelien - the daughter of Saskia, a business friend of Alex's father (or maybe more?).
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Shazjera TOP 1000 REVIEWER on 7 April 2013
Format: Hardcover
We begin Through Dead Eyes with Alex and his father Jeremy arriving at Schiphol Airport on a rainy day in March. Jeremy is an expert on WW2 and his recent book is a best seller in England and Holland. He's in Amsterdam to meet with publishers and negotiate a TV deal.

On arrival at the hotel, Alex looks up and is drawn to a face at a window. This is the beginning of coincidences that pull Alex into another era.

Family friend Angelien is studying history for a doctorate and she has journals from an artist who lived across from what is now the hotel (although then it was the home of a wealthy merchant Van Kempen and his daughter Hanna). It is at the antiques market on one of their trips out that Alex is drawn to the Japanese mask. Each time he wears the mask, adjusting to a parallel world gets easier and easier.

Through Dead Eyes is not just about the mask. Running alongside the paranormal is Alex' pain from his parents breakup and his crush on Angelien. Conflict comes from Angelien's boyfriend. Amsterdam and the culture is portrayed really well and for me, learning a little about its history gave the story an added edge. My 3 x gt grandfather was a British citizen born in Holland in 1810 and this has given me added impetus to find out more!

On the flight on the way home from Amsterdam, Alex finds out the truth of Hanna and her family. This brings home that sometimes what we see is not the truth but our own interpretation of events! The journey in the car and the ending gave me shivers ...

This is definitely a story that YA's will love. They will identify with the parenting and confused emotions. The horror will engross and the ending will provoke thoughts of what could happen next ...

I would like to thank the publishers for accepting my request to review on Netgalley.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Liberty Gilmore on 13 Mar. 2013
Format: Hardcover
There was a lot to like about this creepy little yarn, but it never quite hit enough right notes to elevate it from a light read to something really engrossing.

The good, then.

It was creepy. Priestly does fear well, which he should do by now, having penned many very successful books within the YA horror genre. This is the first I've read, but I've heard many good things about his Tales of Terror series. And if this is anything to go by, I can see why he's so popular. I was reading it in bed at night, with the Boyfriend sat next to me, and yet I still felt myself getting freaked out. (I am a total wuss.)

The characters were well drawn - and viewing them through Alex's eyes allowed for lots of the audience seeing more of the characters than the protagonist is able to, which I love. I just think it's so very clever when done successfully, which Priestly does.

On the not so good, there were lots of bits where I felt like the story wasn't really going anywhere. There was lots of wandering around Amsterdam, which was all very nice, but didn't really keep the pace up. And as the book was only very short, a lot of the time it felt like padding. It felt like it should have been a short story in a collection, rather than a short novel. I think it could have been very intense and scary as a short story, but fleshed out it just sagged a little between the frightening moments. Which does give wimps like me a chance to recover somewhat, but doesn't do the overall tension many favours.

I'd definitely pick up another book by Chris Priestly if I saw one, but I won't be rushing out to hunt one down. Through Dead Eyes was lots of promise that didn't quite deliver, but overall was enjoyable.

Rating: 3.5/5
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback