Start reading Thirteen Reasons Why on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration
Thirteen Reasons Why (Unabridged) Narrated by Joel Johnstone £13.48 £4.99
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Thirteen Reasons Why [Kindle Edition]

Jay Asher
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (259 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £4.54 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £2.45 (35%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £4.99 after you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.54  
Library Binding £12.32  
Paperback £5.24  
Audio Download, Unabridged £11.80 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Audio, CD, Audiobook £27.65  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher is a phenomenal New York Times Number One bestseller. It tackles the aftermath of teen suicide from the critically acclaimed young adult author Jay Asher - perfect for fans of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars.



You can't stop the future. You can't rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play.



Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker - his classmate and first love - who committed suicide.



Hannah's voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself and Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why.



All through the night, Clay keeps listening - and what he discovers changes his life . . .



Forever.



Bestselling US author Jay Asher had the idea for his debut young adult novel Thirteen Reasons Why at a museum. Whilst taking an audio tour, he was struck by the eeriness of the voice in his ear - a woman who described everything he was looking at but wasn't there. You can hear Hannah's tapes at hannahsreasons.blogspot.com.



Product Description

About the Author

Jay Asher got the idea for Thirteen Reasons Why at a museum. While taking an audio tour, he was struck by the eeriness of the voice in his ear - a woman who described everything he was looking at , but wasn't there. Jay has worked in various bookstores and lives in California. The US bestseller, Thirteen Reasons Why, is his debut novel.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1094 KB
  • Print Length: 316 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (6 Aug. 2009)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B002RI9M2U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (259 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #11,640 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Emotional 6 Oct. 2011
Format:Paperback
Clay Jensen received a parcel in the mail. Inside are seven tapes. When Clay presses `play', he hears a voice he never thought he'd hear again. Hannah Baker. She committed suicide. And those who are sent the tapes had some part in her death. But... it's got to be a joke, right? Some cruel, twisted practical joke. There's no way Clay had anything to do with Hannah's suicide. He barely even knew her... But how can he handle not knowing? So he does as Hannah says. He presses play, and he listens. What he hears will change him. Forever...

I was talking about this book with Sammee (I Want To Read That). Both of us agreed that the emotions in this book were the best aspect. Because they were: they were intense, almost on the verge of overwhelming. But as for Hannah... In any other book, I would have loved a girl like Hannah. But... the tapes. The saying "ignorance is bliss" pops to mind. I mean, could you live with yourself afterward? Knowing you'd helped push a girl to suicide? I couldn't. And should Hannah have done it? It seemed cruel. Me and Sammee were talking about that, and we both couldn't really understand the maliciousness of that act, sending them all those tapes. Ok, so it may have made them all better people. But, to make someone go through that, to make Clay go through that... Some of them deserved it. Undeniably. But others, they really didn't. That was my one fault with the book. Why. Not why she died. Why she sent the tapes to them all. Rant over, back to the review...

Clay Jensen was someone I felt incredible sorry for. He honestly was distraught, horrified, that he had anything to do with Hannah's death. He really, truly loved her. Even though he never told her, he did. God. Break my heart, why don't you?
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
101 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too 18 Oct. 2007
By TeensReadToo TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
I don't often write introductions to my reviews. In fact, the last time I can remember doing so was with the wonderful PUCKER by Melanie Gideon, which I read in 2006. However, THIRTEEN REASONS WHY, the debut novel from author Jay Asher, is the type of book that begs an introduction. So if you'd like to skip down to the third paragraph for the "meat" of the story, I won't hold it against you -- but you'll be missing something important.

If you have the chance to only read one novel this year, THIRTEEN REASONS WHY should be that book. It's sad, amazing, heartbreaking, and hopeful, all at the same time. I dare you to read it and not become so immersed in the story that you lose track of time and your surroundings. You'll cry, several times, while reading this story. You'll have no choice but to think about your actions, and wonder what type of effect they have on other people. And, in the end, you might also find the need to say "thank you."

Now, on to the story...

When Clay Jensen finds a package on his front porch, he's excited. A package, for him? With no return address? What could it possibly be? What Clay finds is a shoebox full of cassette tapes, each marked as "Cassette 1: Side A," "Cassette 1: Side B," etc. Of course he rushes to the old radio/cassette player in his dad's garage to check out these mysterious tapes.

And soon wishes, wholeheartedly, that he'd never picked up that stupid package from his front porch.

What he hears when he inserts that first tape is the voice of Hannah Baker. Hannah, the girl he'd crushed on for longer than he could remember. The girl he went to school with. The girl he worked at the movie theater with. The girl who had changed, drastically, in the last several months.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Great 25 Aug. 2009
Format:Paperback
Clay finds a package waiting on his doorstep. There is no return address and, excited, he quickly opens it. Inside are seven tapes, numbered on each side. Clay can't understand why anyone would send him these tapes until he plays side number one, and hears the voice of Hannah Baker, the girl he could have loved, the girl who killed herself two weeks ago.

The tapes are not a suicide note, nor a comprehensive account of why Hannah decided to commit suicide. Instead, Hannah dedicates one side of a tape to everyone in her life who gave her cause to hate the world she was in so badly that she took her own life. Their acts, which range from sexual harassment to bragging and spreading gossip, impacted on Hannah in ways that recipients of the tapes were not aware of, a theme which the author weaves strongly throughout the book. Over the course of one night, Clay listens to each tape and learns more about Hannah than he had ever learnt before she died, learns more about his friends and classmates than he could ever have known. Much of what he learns he wishes he could forget, but he must keep listening until Hannah has said all she wanted to say.

Suicide is a serious topic for a book aimed at young adults, but Asher has dealt with it in an honest and sensitive way. The reasons that Hannah cites in her tapes seem, at first, to be frivolous and petty, daily incidents that many people will be familiar with. Over the course of the book, each layer is added to by the next tape and finally a full picture of Hannah emerges that is neither frivolous nor petty and it becomes easier to understand how and why Hannah has reacted in such an extreme way.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written
My 13 year old daughter loved this book and thought it was very realistic and you really empathise with the main character. Read more
Published 17 hours ago by Penlover
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it
Absolutely loved this book. It was read in under a week! An easy but interesting read- would recommend it
Published 25 days ago by Miranda Poulter
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
This book has such a unique format and a great storyline. It's definitely a page turn as I read it in a few hours. Read more
Published 26 days ago by Dannica Richards
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Really good read, suitable for teens and adults alike.
Published 1 month ago by Lisk Lorraine
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Really interesting and detailed book-a good read
Published 1 month ago by iman omer
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Happy with my orders!
Published 1 month ago by sportmania
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
The book arrived very quickly in perfect condition. It is a lovely read and I thoroughly enjoyed it
Published 1 month ago by Julie
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Bought as a present for my sister, she must have read it three times already! Arrived promptly, no complaints.
Published 1 month ago by Emma Offler
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good
This book is very exciting to read and I recommend this to everyone!! If you're reading this, please enjoy it!
Published 1 month ago by LM
4.0 out of 5 stars good book.
Really good quality book
Published 1 month ago by Lucy Brook
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category