Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2013
History and personal memories inter-mixed in a well crafted and researched book about the 1968 Challenge Cup Final, memorable for so many reasons
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
Took this book on holiday and read it in a few days. It made me laugh out loud in some parts and other parts were very moving. Would recommend to anyone into rugby league not just Leeds or Wakefield fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
I bought this book for my husband who is a great Wakefield Trinity fan, and he thoroughly enjoyed it.....a good, informative read, well written and full of detail.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
If this had been made into a film in the 1970s/80s, Colin welland and david putnam would have some more Oscars to the collection. David hinchliffe has managed to put together a tale that has more layers than an onion....the true story was not that final kick......Don Fox is not the loser....but the type of character Kirk Douglas would have turned around in the glory of defeat....they walked on water would have been a great follow up to this sporting life....super stuff...though very sad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
very good and informative book good value and wo uld recommend to all rugby league fans who are interested in the challenge cup
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
thank you very much for this book it was absolutely brilliant reading i never realized what drama unfolded amazing
gripping final with a bit of controversy and farsical playing conditions due to freak weatther
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
This is a great read for rugby league fans, the book captures the essence of what is probably the most famous game of rugby league ever, in my view Eddie Waring's 'the poor lad' is up there with Wolstenholme's 'they think it's all over' commentary. It gets 4 stars instead of 5 for the book's failure to get Bernard Watson's comments on the final try as he was the one who missed the ball from the restart following Leeds' try.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
great book about a cup final game that never should of been played due to the appalling weather conditions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
I was at Wembley that day brings a lot of memories back good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Is an amazing account of the weekend for fans and players.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)