Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars30
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2014
Jesse Ventura (with some additional help from authors Dick Russell and David Wayne) has put together an excellent presentation of a multitude of facts pointing towards a conspiracy to assassinate the US President John F. Kennedy. Jesse is easy to read, and his style - while perhaps somewhat common - is nevertheless very typical of the man himself, and quite entertaining.

The good points of the book are, in my opinion, the following: Jesse and the co-authors use a lot of recent material (including research into the topic), so it is very up-to-date. The actual assassination and the coverup that followed are covered very well from different angles. Granted, there is perhaps not that much new, but on the other hand, it all runs very well, and throughout the book Jesse poses a lot of very good questions, the kind that make sense even and especially for the layman. Jesse makes also a good case for the derestriction of the assassination-related documents still being withheld.

The issue that I had was with the latter part of the book, the witnesses and different theories as to who did it (cf. section IV; the why, who and how). Jesse and his co-authors present a wide array of possible culprits and back the stories up sometimes with evidence that has been discarded as dubious by the "respectable" research community. Don't get me wrong, there are a lot of interesting avenues they follow, but when there is not much source criticism applied, all these very different theories start to sound plausible, when in fact, some of them are clearly more plausible than others. And then there are clearly some that seem, well, simply flawed, like the LBJ storyline.

But all in all, I think "They killed our President" is an excellent presentation of the conspiracy and the coverup in the JFK assassination in the inimitable style of Jesse Ventura.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Having witnessed the assassination on telly in 1963 ,most people I know we`re not convinced by the official !!story !!as more evidence is revealed over the years this book shows we were right. Another good example is 911.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Bought this for my JFK obsessed husband. He hasn't put it down do assume its good! He says author has a good tone
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
And pass it on - make sure people know the truth. Share as widely as you can. The shit we're in starts with JFK and conspiracy to cover up the murder. And this book tells it as it is. In easy bite size chunks. If you're looking for academic writing then this ain't it. This however leans heavily on academic research and conclusions and share the bare bones of the assassination... the cover up... and the enduring horror that we are being manipulated and controlled by a global elite made up of corporate interests and the upper echelons of the secret government.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
From a British perspective, this is absolutely captivating! After watching documentaries and reconstructions of the awful event, on the Discovery and History channels, commemorating the 50 year anniversary of the assassination, I readily accepted the evidence shown. But after thinking that some of these things just didn't seem right, I began to look a bit deeper and after searching the internet, found other explanations that seemed shocking, but a lot more feasible.
With Jesse's witty and no nonsense approach, he indeed provides a very thought provoking, and entertaining
read. 10/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
In 2013 the majority of the American public remain unconvinced by the conclusions of the official Warren commission report on the JFK assassination and Ventura's book will effectively add fire to the conspiracy arguments. `They killed our president' by Jesse Ventura (with contributions) is a real page turner or `shifter' in the case of the Kindle, even for those tired of `JFK conspiracy' theories. I read the Kindle Fire edition with its full sources, footnotes and direct web connections to the text.
Jesse Ventures stylistic voice is always apparent in this direct, accessible and convincing read on the events surrounding the JFK assassination. In part one Ventura uses documented sources, materials and witness testimony throughout (with some unpublished new material) to sustain his main argument that the USA security services, mafia and Cuban exile forces and others conspired to assassinate JFK. Ventura in part two argues the official Warren Commission's report on the assassination was part of a media cover up that focused public attention on the theory of lone gunman assassin Lee Harvey Oswald. Furthermore the Warren Commission omitted or retro fitted evidence to prove its lone gunman case. Ventura in part three analyses the principal characters and their conspiracy in the cause, event and aftermath of the assassination. Ventura notes in conclusion how the full JFK story has yet to be written, not least due to the amount of withheld documentation concerning the events and its lead characters for reasons of ongoing `national security' - 50 years after the event!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Mr Ventura gives more information into things that the readers of other books on JFK assassination already know so gets one thinking once again as to whom you believe who shot the president, defiantly a conspiracy, Oswald a patsy, you will enjoy this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Jesse Ventura uses is abrasive style (his writing reminds you very much of his way of speaking)to look at different variables which, summarised, lead the reader to a point where he has to question the official conclusion on the assassination.

I'd recommend it to anyone. Good read.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Bought it as gift for my younger sister who is interested in the kennedys. Not a perfect man . But who is personally. I believe there was a conspiracy to murder Kennedy if you look at the zapuda film you can plainly see that the final shot hit him in the front by his head being thrown backward by a high. Velocity round in fact a senate hearing decades later. Also agree Tha their was a 2nd gunman or third.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
This is a great overview of all the major anomalies connected with the JFK assassination. The Youtube and internet links are a great addition that backs up the points and conclusions he makes, the truth is out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse