Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars17
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2006
For those that want to understand a little more about Scottish travellers in the early part of the last century then this book is for you. Interspersed with 'cant' words and social rites, it is a heart felt and warming portrayal of a way of life, not only of travellers but of country folk, now gone. It makes me glad that traveller people continue to exist, especially in this harder and seemingly less tolerant world. This book helps to put their lives in a historical context. Thank you Betsy!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
What a lovely story of life on the open road in Scotland and the Borders. Times were very hard for these travelling people and yet they managed. The discriptions of their life, was so interesting. There were age old rules and patterns of life that were not broken. I was very suprised that at times they lived in houses usually when there was no work on the farms. Also they did not take anything without giving away something in return. It also illustrates that certainly in Scotland and the Borders they were treated in the most part well and allowed to camp on common ground. Well worth a read,
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2006
This book tells of what life on the road was like in the early 1900s, and of how different types of people treated the gypsy folk. It's full of fascinating insights, some quite sad moments, and also happy memories of Betsy Whyte, whose tale this is. Betsy was a terrific storyteller and I am looking forward to reading the second part of her story in Red Rowans and Honey.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
Authentic and very readable account of a way of life which has disappeared. Had me in tears of pathos and tears of laughter.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
This book was too whimsical and was really for children.There were some parts that were interesting but not many of them
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
I loved the book, beautifully written, gave me a good insight and understanding of the way travellers lived of the land.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
I absolutely loved this book, not so much for its literary quality but for its honesty and for the excellent portrayal skills of the author, who depictures her childhood and early youth as a member of a traveller family with much accuracy and beauty. The books sings, and its a beautiful tune.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
I love all these stories always keeps me interested as a bit of history it really tells the tale !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
I sent for this book because I had enjoyed Betsy White's previous book. Having only received it three days ago and started it yesterday I am only part way through but am enjoying it so far. It is good to understand something of the moral code amonst travelling people but now they are herded into caravan parks will it alter?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
Betsy was alive at a time when there was still respect for travellers and their way of life. But that all changed. Read No Easy Road by Patsy Whyte - Betsy is Patsy's great aunt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)