Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop Suki Ad Campaign Pieces Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Discover more Shop now
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
The Year of the Comet has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Year of the Comet Paperback – 1 Jul 2001

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
£5.81 £4.94
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

  • The Year of the Comet
  • +
  • A Wrinkle in the Skin
  • +
  • The Possessors
Total price: £24.97
Buy the selected items together

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Product details

  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Borgo Press (1 July 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1587153955
  • ISBN-13: 978-1587153952
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 1.5 x 21.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 681,838 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Sam Youd was born in Lancashire in April 1922, during an unseasonable snowstorm.

As a young boy, he was devoted to the newly emergent genre of science-fiction: 'In the early thirties,' he later wrote, 'we knew just enough about the solar system for its possibilities to be a magnet to the imagination.'

Over the following decades, his imagination flowed from science-fiction into general novels, cricket novels, medical novels, gothic romances, detective thrillers, light comedies ... In all he published fifty-six novels and a myriad of short stories, under his own name as well as eight different pen-names.

He is perhaps best known as John Christopher, author of the seminal work of speculative fiction, The Death of Grass (today available as a Penguin Classic), and a stream of novels in the genre he pioneered, young adult dystopian fiction, beginning with The Tripods Trilogy.

'I read somewhere,' Sam once said, 'that I have been cited as the greatest serial killer in fictional history, having destroyed civilisation in so many different ways - through famine, freezing, earthquakes, feral youth combined with religious fanaticism, and progeria.'

In an interview towards the end of his life, conversation turned to a recent spate of novels set on Mars and a possible setting for a John Christopher story: strand a group of people in a remote Martian enclave and see what happens.

The Mars aspect, he felt, was irrelevant. 'What happens between the people,' he said, 'that's the thing I'm interested in.'

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By D. Goldstone on 29 Oct. 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I read this as a child and only recently managed to track it down again. A well written book from (I believe) 1939 with a mass of delightful period touches and a respectably exciting story. The comet impact chapter is particularly gripping.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Would not recommend 3 Dec. 2014
By Jayme Lee - Published on
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I've read almost everything John Christopher has written, this is by far my least favorite. The story is just not good, and the made up words are pretty lame. It's very hard to get though...
6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
A devastating novel of prophecy and horror... 16 Jan. 2005
By T. bailey - Published on
Format: Paperback
"The Year of the Comet" foresees a world split up, not into States and Kingdoms, but into a business Group. The hero is a scientist with a secret which will give supreme authority to any group in control of it. Inevitably he finds himself the centre of murderous intrigues. In the tradition of H G Wells and Jules Verne.

"A devastating novel of prophecy and horror by one of the top writers of science fiction."

"In the 21st century a dedicated young scientist ordered to take over a top secret project has no idea that he will soon become the most dangerous man on Earth."

"When Charles Grayner, a dedicated young scientist of the 21st century became employed by one of the great ruling powers, he had no idea that he would hold the key to the future of civilization as we know it."

One in a series entitled Novels of Tomorrow
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know