The Well of Ascension: Mistborn Book Two and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£3.55
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn Trilogy) Paperback – 5 Aug 2014


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£15.26
Paperback, 5 Aug 2014
£3.55
--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.


Product details

  • Paperback: 784 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books (5 Aug. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765377144
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765377142
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 3.6 x 20.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (147 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,332,771 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

I'm Brandon Sanderson, and I write stories of the fantastic: fantasy, science fiction, and thrillers.

My newest book is Words of Radiance, written as a love letter of sorts to the epic fantasy genre. It continues the story of the Stormlight Archive that began in The Way of Kings, and it's the type of book I always dreamed epic fantasy could be.

In September 2013 I also released Steelheart, set in a near-future Chicago ruled by a ruthless villain with no heroes to oppose him.

Mistborn and The Way of Kings are among my most popular works, as are my concluding volumes to Robert Jordan's epic series The Wheel of Time. My novella The Emperor's Soul won a Hugo Award in 2013. That year also marked the release of my first young adult fantasy, The Rithmatist.

Sample chapters from all of my books are available at brandonsanderson.com/library -- and check out the rest of my site for chapter-by-chapter annotations, deleted scenes, and more.

Product Description

Review

Praise for "The Well of Ascension": “All the explosive action any adventure fan could want.”--"Locus ""Sanderson's entertaining second Mistborn novel begins after most fantasy series end, when the team of brave and cunning heroes find that holding on to power is even harder than overthrowing the previous tyrant. . . .  This entertaining read will especially please those who always wanted to know what happened after the good guys won."--"Publishers Weekly" “A great epic fantasy . . . Fans of Terry Goodkind and Terry Brooks will find "The Well of Ascension" fulfilling, satisfying, and incredibly exciting.”"--SFRevu.com" --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Book Description

The Dark Lord is dead, and now a new world can be built. The acclaimed epic commercial fantasy published for the first time in the UK. --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Hodgeheg on 23 Mar. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
I really enjoyed the first book and this series had been recommended to me by a number of people, so I was hoping this would be like the first book: readable with an original and compelling storyline. Unfortunately this was not my experience...

I think the fundamental problem with this book is that it seems confused about whether it wants to be a fantasy epic or a romance novel. It should want to be a fantasy epic! In book one I felt pretty neutral about Vin and Elend (she was obviously the tortured heroine, he was obviously the hero with much to learn, I assumed there would be a bubbling of romantic tension while the story got on its way...). The characters are very clunky and one dimensional anyway, there is no subtlety in any of the character development, and nearly HALF THE BOOK is taken up with insecure adolescent musings.

'Does he love me? Do I love him? Does he know that I love him, or if I know that I don't know that I love him? Maybe he just loves me because I love to wear ballgowns. But do I really love to wear ballgowns? I just don't know!'

This frustrated me for a number of reasons:
1. If I wanted to read a book about badly written teenage romance, then I would have chosen to read one of any number of books in that genre that already exist
2. This actively detracted from the story. I found myself wishing that something terrible would happen to one or the other of them so that the story could continue in a different vein, except that would have inevitably resulted in the remaining teenage character moping for the rest of the trilogy
3. Don't build a strong heroine character only to knock her down, essentially, because being female means that saving the world is secondary to boyfriends and lipstick

On the upside, Ore'seur and Sazed are still interesting characters, and when the story does pick itself up again it's gripping again. I was this close to giving up halfway through though...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Ali on 9 Mar. 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm going to preface this by saying that, despite the rating, I did enjoy this book. BUT it had several flaws that steadily knocked points off, preventing it from getting a higher rating.

Often when you get to book two of a fantasy trilogy, there is a huge info-dump of what happened in the last book. This annoys me greatly even though I know that not everybody can hold plots in their head like I do. Sanderson avoids this but still manages to recap the plot of The Final Empire by adding only the pertinent information. So kudos to him for that. The book picks up a few months after the end of The Final Empire, with The Lord Ruler dead and Elend king. Rather swiftly, Luthadel is under siege by three opposing armies. So begins the politics and plotting. Sanderson is a good writer when it comes to politics, plotting and subterfuge. Not the best but still decent enough. The problem is that there is just too much of it. It slows the plot down to a snail's pace and it becomes monotonous and, dare I say it, boring. And this is coming from someone who loves that sort of thing, so if it's not your cup of tea, you're doomed.

The magic systems of Allomancy and Feruchemy are marvellously original and inventive, similar to each other but different enough so that both are fascinating. The only thing is, they are not used often enough. It's the magic systems that inject something different to the action sequences and the action sequences are sorely lacking in this novel. And when they do crop up, they feel unnecessarily tacked on and don't always move the plot forward any. Although, the final action sequence is great if blood and gore is your thing!

I found the characterisation to be, for most of the characters, very poor. Exceptions were Elend and Sazed.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful By L. W. Gulbrandsen on 30 July 2008
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I was a bit disappointed by this book, having liked the first one

The story starts off a few months after the end of book one.
Elend is appointed king and rules the city, while Vin is protecting him and the city from assassins and spies. The Skaa, having won the rebellion and overthrown the lord ruler, is again threatened, this time by a overwhelming nobleman army led by Elend's father, intent on taking the city for himself as the world is in chaos after the Lord rulers demise.

The bulk of the book revolves around the city under siege, with both internal and external politicking, and Vin and Elends relationship.

I found both the politics and military strategies of all parties involved to be at times both naive and unrealistic, and thought that several of the scenarios seemed poorly thought out.
The romantic problems between Vin and Elend, revolves around them both feeling that the other is too good for them, and that they are too different. This whole part did not engage me at all, it seemed very contrived and stiff, not to mention unoriginal.

Although the action sequences are still well written, and the story picks up pace and gets exciting at the end, this was overall a disappointing 2nd book.
It haven't the depth in politics and tactics to compare to other epics fantasy series, and feels a bit shallow in comparison.

I'll still get the final installment when it comes in pocket version though.
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Alaran on 26 July 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
In some ways this is a strange book to evaluate. Firstly, for the majority of it not really that much happens. The bulk of the book is concerned with a city under siege and the political and military manoeuvrings of numerous characters concerned with this. It feels a lot like a stand off until the final stages of the story. A lot of this time is devoted to strengthening and expanding on characters from the previous novel (especially Elend whose character develops in various directions due to the flow of events, becoming very interesting and likeable) and introducing some new ones. This means that the novel does occasionally have that second part in a trilogy feel of treading water. Somehow, even without a great deal happening, the pace does not seem to slacken that much (even though it is noticeably slower than the previous novel in the series). There is certainly enough going on, sometimes ticking away in the background, to keep the reader intrigued. And the strength of the characterisation easily helps to carry things along.

Secondly, and a little disappointingly, not much more of this fantasy world is depicted (or even visited) despite the maps offered at the front of the book. This seems a pity. The action is again virtually all within Luthadel. This worked fabulously in the first book by creating a claustrophobic air. However, it isn't quite so successful at maintaining such an atmosphere this time. Hopefully the third volume will reveal more of this world the author has created.

The eponymous Well of Ascension itself is mainly just something occasionally mentioned in the background for most of the novel and you could easily forget about for much of the time. Its importance in the concluding stages is fairly effective though.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback