Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars16
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
6
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2010
Very good quick read, just under 200 pages. Introduces the weather systems and all its components i.e. ways of forecasting, measuring and relating to weather in our every day lives. Does what its supposed to, informs well on how the weather works but not too an unbelievably difficult extent- simple language used. Definately recommended!
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
This is a well-written little book which presents pretty basic meteorological facts concisely and in a friendly manner. A scientific book it ain't, but I have enjoyed reading it and admit to having learned quite a few useful facts. It is also good value at the price.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
Bought this book along with another weather book as our children were doing a project about it. This is very interesting and can be picked up and put down whenever without missing the point.Lots of little nuggets of information to keep you interested. Not so suitable for younger readers.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2011
Quite interesting but a little bit too basic. It told you about different weather patterns but didnt really explain why. If you are looking for a book to explain the whys and hows of different weather conditions I wouldnt really recommend this book. Good price and ok as a quick read though.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Not a complicated book but interesting, written by someone who clearly loves the subject. A good introduction to the weather.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 September 2013
What could be better than talking about the weather? Why, reading a book about it, of course! In simplified language, we read here about various types of weather phenomenon, including wind, rain, clouds and how these things are formed. You also get info on how to do various experiments. All in all, a good read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
children under 11 would enjoy the book. Less of a gripping read for adults. I found the explanations over simplified and having read an explanation I turned the page expecting the book to then build on what had been outlined but this element is at best present in the lightest and broadest terms.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
For those who want to know all about the weather this miscellany is a delightful introduction. We talk about it a lot in England, so at least Diana's book gives a little bit of authority on why it does what it does. Really enjoyable.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
A fantastic book for weather freaks. I found the mix of science and myth informative and entertaining. I shall keep this book on my Kindle and refer to it often. Highly recommended.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
An enjoyable and informative book. However, I believe a hard copy would be more useful as a reference than the Kindle edition
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.