Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 31 October 2001
If you're a fan of Steptoe & Son and you're replacing your VHS collection, then this disc is worth buying, if only because we're unlikely to see a better effort. The picture quality isn't very good as might be expected with such old material, but the main problem is that a disc with an entire series could have been produced instead of the rag-and-bone collection we have here. As there are three episodes from series 7 conspicuously absent even though they've been released on VHS in the past, I can only hope the BBC haven't managed to lose them in recent years, as they've managed to do with so many other Steptoe episodes.
On the plus side, there's what appears to be a recent interview (about 25 minutes long) with Galton and Simpson which is a nice extra.
Encouragingly, the disc calls itself volume 1, so hopefully we can expect some more episodes on DVD soon.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2003
I am not a die hard Steptoe fan, I am too young to have seen them on TV. I was simply looking for something to show my students here in Japan. I thought that it would be dated and stale, how wrong can you be, although these episodes are now 30 years old they still made me laugh, the acting is superb, the scripts timeless. All five episodes are excellent, from the opening scrabble game to the final curtain, a joy to watch.
I would recommend it to anyone. Thank you Galton and Simpson, stand up and take a bow.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2007
In reality, Wilfred Bramble (Steptoe) and Harry Corbett(Son) never got on with each other. However on camera, they were a formidable duo, and some of the acting seemed so natural, you wonder if all the scenes were performed on the first take itself. The two episodes 'Desperate Hours 'and 'A Star is Born are real gems. Steptoe is indeed a crafty character far more cunning than his son who is doomed to follow 'his old man'.

Menu isn't bad but nice extra is the interviews conducted
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2004
They dont make classic like these any more.Steptoe will always be tops for comedy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2004
Steptoe and son is an addictive comedy which proves that bbc comedy is going downhill recently, anyone who witnessed the horror that was Mad about alice bbc's 2004 release of a shameful unfunny and overall sickeningly boring 'comedy' (the word is being used in its loosest sense mind)will know excactly what i'm talking about. Even though Steptoe and son is old it keeps being funny each time you see it. Fair enough it may not be totally 'PC' and unsuitable for new comedies but so was porridge and fawlty towers, two of the best sitcoms ever made. Therefore i suggest strongly that you purchase this hilarious comedy. Ladies and Gentlemen I rest my case.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2005
Steptoe & Son was the best comedy (sorry that should say best programme) that the BBC ever made. The writing, acting and production were superb. The Desperate Hours is wonderful as Leonard Rossiter escapes with his father from the scrubs and finds the Steptoe residence as a refuge. Albert and Harold are, of course, even worse off than the escapees and finally Johnny (Rossiter) has to lend Harold a shilling for the meter. Johnny is not amused when Harold says he has no car and offers a horse as a means of escape (well it was good enough for Dick Turpin). Men of Letters is equally strong, as Albert proves he is the definite Scabble player and Harold shows his intellect to the vicar by arguing that Kant was in fact a "berk". All in the best possible taste - no modern comedy effort comes close. This is THE classic. Buy it.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
Have not watched this series since it was on television; took a little while to get used to again but was enjoyable.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A collection of classic episodes from this now rather dated series.

Not as good as haveing the complete series on DVD but still some good episodes.

Only 5 episodes are included which really is rather poor value.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
anything these two do is worth watching i highly recommened steptoe and son to watch for a good of fashion laugh
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
This DVD has five story's on it one of which is how Harold the son has been offered the chance of writing for the local parish magazine he is hoping that it will get him out of the rag and bone trade
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)