Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2009
A brillently written piece of work which provides interesting insight into the psychoanalysis of classic children's fairy tales and their meanings and usefulness to children and us all. A facinating and enjoyable read.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 June 2014
This is truly one of the most interesting books I have read. Bruno Bettelheim, a psychoanalyst, had a brilliant insight into the workings of the child mind and showed the rich symbolic way that fairy tales help the child to cope with its fears and understand the world it is growing up to face. After reading the book I rushed out and bought the complete Grimms tales and read them all.

As might be expected from a Freudian there is a lot of discussion about how children deal with their forthcoming sexuality. He doesn't make extreme assertions about children being sexual but if you aren't open to the premise that there are complicated things going on in the young mind linked to sex, you probably won't like this book.

The book was written 38 years ago. In a subject as fast moving as psychology it would be surprising if ideas had not moved on in the 38 years since Bettelheim wrote his book. Nevertheless it remains full of insight as well as being clearly written and enjoyable to read.

There has been some criticism of the author's character. I would recommend taking the work in itself without speculating on the man. If you are interested in the man I would refer to Wikipedia's account rather than hostile book reviews.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2007
I read this book when I was training in psychiatry and it was the most enjoyable and readable text of my training. It brings together beautifully the key concepts in psychoanalysis with stories that we were all brought up with. He writes with brevity and clarity and knows his subject inside out. Its a delight - abundant eureka moments.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2000
I read this book years ago - it remains one of my favourites today. If you still need convincing of the merits of the bedtime story and of the magical benefits that fairy tales can provide for your children - then read it! If you need reminding or better understanding of your own childhood - then read it too!!
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
A fascinating book which sets out in considerable detail how fairy tales are essential to a child’s inner life, providing him with a mythology with which to reflect upon what sort of person he wants to be. Some fairy tales have been applied by being turned into moral stories but the real tales include the conflict between good and evil, the need to struggle within oneself and overcome selfishness and other demons, to work through the oedipal complex and fear of sexuality &c. If such tales are essential for developing wholeness, one might presume that religion fulfils the same function, by its mythology, for adults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2001
I thoroughly enjoyed "The Uses of Enchantment". A book I could not put down till I had finished it. Fairy Tales are important. Dr Bettelheim proves it. His psychoanalysis of "Cinderella", "The frog Prince" and "The Three Bears" is truly well worth reading. If you only read one book year make it "The Uses of Enchantment. The meaning and importance of fairy tales". You'll not be disappointed.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
The book is very interesting and exactly what I needed!
I am doing a project on the original fairy tales and this book is coming in very handy with my analysis.

Seller very helpful - recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
It was an old hardback copy. The pages were yellow but still all firmly in place. An interesting book in very good condition equals one happy customer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2007
After seeing this title appear in numerous suggested reading lists for the study of fairy tales as some sort of bible for the mythical decoding of the tales, I'd advise googling Bettelheim first of all and doing some research on the man who claimed to be able to distill the universal truths that were to be found in the tales before taking this work seriously. See the essay in Jack Zipes - Breaking the Magic Spell on Bettelheim and realise that treating any fairytale as some sort of divine vehicle for the mystical wisdom of times past is a ridiculous venture.

The tales Bettelheim uses are only those that got into print - molested and relentlessly edited by the Brothers Grimm, so how can these give us any insight into a universal instruction for morality? See all the criticism done by Marina Warner and Maria Tatar etc which troubles the idea of there ever being a stable version of the tale we think of when someone says 'Little Red Riding Hood' thus never any stable meaning we can use to 'instruct our children' as Bettelheim hopes to do - the reason why he believes farytales are important. The universal morals Bettelheim comes up with really just turn out to be the morals of the 19th century patriarchal society he was living in. Or don't bother with any of the much more realistic and historically informed approaches to fairtyale criticism that have surfaced in the last decade and highlight the ridiculousness of Bettelheim's method and pursuit, and just read up on his life. Although a seeming paragon for the importance of reassurance in the socialisation of children - a need he sees fulfilled by fairytales - biographical details suggest he was in his own practices some what *authoritarian* with kids, if not worse...

Beware...
88 comments|106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
This is the best book for any fictional writer as it really does give a great diagnosis on why fantasy exists and why we need it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse