Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio Cassette|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2001
It is such a relief to find amongst lots of dross aimed at the female market a book that really stands out. For one thing Trisha Ashley can write well, she's got some great lines, her female charecters are all 'real', not superwomen nor drips, even the femme fatale, whom many less experienced writers would have been tempted to make an out and out cow, is an attractive charecter and someone you feel you wouldn't mind meeting. And the men are interesting people too, even the vile Chris. The plot's been constructed with great care too with none of the charecters suddenly acting totally against type just to advance the plot a little (as can, and does, happen in lesser books), but above all there's a great charm about this book that made me rather sorry when I finished it. Highly reccommended.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2006
A great bit of escapism! Recommended chick-lit. You will like this author if you like Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell, Catherine Alliott.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
I've read a few of Trisha Ashley's books and they are wonderful. This one had a touch of suspense in it and you hope it's going to end well. I love the chaotic humour in these books. I've loved it from start to finish and it was so good to get this out of print copy as most of Trisha's books are in my Kindle. I've since introduced friends to her books and they all love them.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2002
When Sappho, novelist and the best friend most women never had, arrives in a small Welsh village, she meets her match in Dragonslayer, a local potter and hunk of the month. Someone is out to get Sappho, but she's six feet tall, big with it, and she's got Dragonslayer on her side - so what chance do these evil-doers have? Well, quite a good chance, actually, and Sappho eventually has to deal with the urge to jump! Read this book - you'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll adore it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2001
Set in the Gower Peninsula, if you have been to this beautiful part of Wales you can picture the landscapes that spark off the romantic events. Well written and easy to read I enjoyed this book a lot. Jane Critchley.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Not my favourite Trisha book. Loved "Good Husband Material" and all the later noes from "Chocolate Wishes" onwards. This one just misses the mark but if you like Trisha read it but don't expect it to be like the newer books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2002
The other reviewers sum the story up fairly well. It's not the type of book that stays with you for days - or that I'll keep on my "keeper" shelf. But it was well-written and a charming tale of a different sort of heroine. I'll look for more by Ashley.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
I liked this story as it is unusual. It is one of Trisha Ashley's first novels which means the characters and storyline has a freshness to it and it is far less repetetive than her later novels. I like "Every woman to herself" and "The urge to jump" best and would recommend them to anyone wanting a light but slightly unsusal read, it is not the usual chicklit stuff although they - of course - tend to end in a very traditional and therefore slightly annoying way!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2001
I loved this book. Trisha Ashley is a very clever writer and this is another extremely witty novel full of sharp, intelligent humour. It's quirky and a little bit different. Overall, great fun and it has a stonking hero too...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£18.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.