Start reading The Tudor Princess on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
The Tudor Princess
 
 

The Tudor Princess [Kindle Edition]

Darcey Bonnette
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (75 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £1.49 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £6.50 (81%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.49  
Paperback £3.85  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Between 20-26 October 2014, spend £10 in a single order on item(s) dispatched from and sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive a £2 promotional code to spend in the Amazon Appstore. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

Praise for ‘Secrets of the Tudor Court’:

• ‘Throbs with intensity as it lays bare the secret delights of Tudor court life. A tale of innocence and ruthless ambition locked in a love-hate embrace.’
Barbara Kyle, author of ‘The King’s Daughter’

• ‘A beautifully written story with wonderful attention to detail. I loved the book.’
Diane Haeger, author of ‘The Queen’s Mistake’

Product Description

Love, treachery and betrayal at court… The perfect read for fans of Philippa Gregory and Susannah Dunn.

From her earliest days, Margaret Tudor knows she will not have the luxury of choosing a husband. As daughter of Henry VII, her duty is to gain alliances for England. Barely out of girlhood, Margaret is married by proxy to James IV and travels to Edinburgh to become Queen of Scotland.

Despite her doubts, Margaret falls under the spell of her adopted home. But she has rivals. While Jamie is an affectionate husband, he is not a faithful one. And providing an heir cannot guarantee Margaret's safety when Jamie leads an invading army against her own brother, Henry VIII.

In the wake of tragic loss she falls prey to the attentions of the ambitious Earl of Angus – a move that brings Scotland to the brink of anarchy. Beset by betrayal, secret alliances, and the vagaries of her own heart, Margaret has one overriding ambition – to preserve the crown of Scotland for her son, no matter what the cost.

Exquisitely detailed and poignant, The Tudor Princess vividly depicts the life and loves of an extraordinary woman who helped shape the fate of two kingdoms – and in time, became the means of uniting them.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 856 KB
  • Print Length: 337 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0007497784
  • Publisher: Avon (10 April 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00D0VX0JO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (75 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #5,649 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea 21 April 2014
By Iset TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
First, it's worth noting that this is a re-release under a different name of The Forbidden Queen by D. L. Bogdan.

Unfortunately, The Tudor Princess wasn't my cup of tea. I picked up this book because I was intrigued by the premise. Whilst historical fiction on the Tudors seems to be everywhere these days, novels about Margaret Tudor, elder sister of King Henry VIII and Queen of Scotland, are few and far between. So I was quite interested in the idea of reading a novel about Margaret's life and her struggles.

The choice of pacing and the book's style of telling instead of showing were what stopped me from really enjoying it. Margaret expresses sadness on one page and excitement the next, a happy event occurs and a page later we've skipped a year and tragedy occurs (I'm avoiding giving examples as I don't want to give spoilers). I felt like the events of Margaret's life were being skimmed over, not explored in enough depth. As a reader I simply wasn't given the opportunity to care for any of these characters. That just doesn't move me, that doesn't tug at my heartstrings or make me feel in any way invested in what happens to these characters at all.When exciting or moving events occur off-screen, so to speak, and are related back to us the readers in a one line summary, you're basically cutting out the heart of the story. This is the meat of the plot! A writer wants to get their readers engaged in the events and characters of the story, and readers want to read a story they care about. When the events occur "off-screen" they lose a great deal of immediacy and feeling, and even worse when events are summarised and characters go from one emotion to the next and months and years pass in one page.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful 14 May 2014
By Connal
Format:Kindle Edition
I could not finish this book it was so bad. Apart from the misrepresentation of life at the royal court, the constant use of dinna and canna as scot's language the final straw for me was Jame IV father being mutilated at the battle of Bannockburn. Given it took place 1314 his father would have been about 185 when James IV was born. I would have expected some basis in fact even though this is a historical novel. Very Brigadoon.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just awful 18 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Awful, I couldn't finish this - I 'canna' understand why anyone would give this a 5 star rating and 'dinna' believe how readers could compare this with other historical writers like Gregory, Weir or Chadwick - can now see why it was only £1 to download on kindle.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition
A new title. A new author's name. A new cover.

Yet EXACTLY the same book as one I'd purchased previously - The Forbidden Queen by D. L. Bogdan.

Why do this?

I've sent this one back for a refund and I won't be bothering with titles from *either* of these split personalities again.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy reading 25 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
You will love this if you enjoy philipa Gregory or similar writers . A good read biographical style so easy to follow
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended 11 April 2014
By ElaineG TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed this read. It is the story of Margaret Tudor, sister of Henry VIII, sent at a young age to Scotland as wife of King James IV. It gives a fantastic glimpse into how Royals at the time lived - the feasting, the jousting, the clothes and jewels, as well as the intrigues and plotting. It is a story of political danger, war, ambition, betrayal and bloody retribution. Margaret herself is determined to act in a way that will bring lasting peace between England and Scotland and is torn between the two countries for much of the read, until eventually she does truly settle into her role as Margaret Queen of Scots. Following the death of James IV she throws herself into supporting her son, James V, to secure his position as King.

She was a wonderfully complex character to read about, on the one hand she was an intelligent, brave stateswoman, a true Queen, yet on the other hand she had a strong desire just to be married and loved as a normal woman. She let her heart rule her head so much in this regard that it led to some disastrous romantic choices following the death of King James IV. She could be incredibly selfish at times, totally oblivious to the needs of other and so single minded was she in her support of her son, that she literally totally forgot about her own daughter for much of the time. I chuckled at her never ending love for fashion and marvelled at how easy she could be won over just by the promise of a few new gowns.

This was a really good read, that I got totally lost in and had a hard time putting down. Highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It's dreadful - none of the characters are remotely believable and the vague attempt at evoking Scotland in the Tudor period with one reference to a kilt and the constant use of 'canna' and 'dinna' is just irritating. Rebranded to cash in on the success of Phillipa Gregory - don't waste your money.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather one dimesional 28 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I prefer these type of novels that tell you a bit more of the politics of the time. This one doesn't. The central character is not very "real". No depth of character. Similarly with the characters around her. No emotional depth which makes characters come to life. Fine if you want something light. I expect a bit more from a book as I spend precious time reading them, I like to get something more out of them.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category