Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars200
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2010
As much a character study as it is a comedy this hidden-away gem reveals much, both good and bad, about the "real" Coogan and Brydon as they munch their way across Cumbria.

Coogan plays up his sullen, introverted reputation as he pines for his girlfriend and tries to get his Hollywood career back on track. Meanwhile Brydon provides most of the comedy as he continually annoys his colleague with constant impressions and upbeat mood.

You could easily get lost watching 2 or 3 episodes in a row (or better still all 6) whilst listening to the repartee between the guys. This show would excel if released on blu-ray but, until that happy day, this DVD is a super way to spend a cold winter's night.
11 comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
To a certain extent it is the 2nd DVD with its 'extras' that helps put 'The Trip' into context. You see the various takes of a scene and then realise just how much effort has gone in to catch impromptu idle banter on screen. This banter between 2 Actors at the top of their profession is for me 'edge of the seat' stuff. You're waiting for the next quick, but half muffled impression, snide dig or personal reflection almost as if it's a suspense drama. It's a bit like watching Picasso doodling in the sand. But then that's why I gave it a 4 rather than 5. I needed at times something just a little less than idle banter.
And why oh why did "Trevor Eves" get relegated to 'deleted scenes'? It was probably my absolute favourate scene. Possibly because it didn't quite fit in to 'idel banter'?
And don't miss the gripping flashing swordplay as they fight through who does the better Michael Caine impression - and why.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
I have to say this is one of the best things I have seen on TV in recent years. It is sublime, from the acting, to the stunning scenery of the north and the hauntingly beautiful soundtrack crafted by the deft hand of Michael Nyman. Everything comes together like a dish served by Heston Blumenthal. I genuinely agree with the other review stating this will become a classic in years to come and will most likely be used for students who are wanting to study beautiful film making.

The comedy served up by Messrs Coogan and Brydon act merely as a backdrop for something far more dark going on in the bleak countryside, all of which seem to make this a post-modern classic love story, and like every love story there is a certain amount of tragedy, seemingly around the corner at any given moment.

Michael Winterbottom deserves the most praise. This is just fantastic stuff, and it's certainly not a run of the mill comedy in the vein of "Gavin & Stacey" or even " Alan Partridge", this is far more sincere and sombre and gives a real insight into a fractured soul aka. Coogan.

Credit where credit is due, Coogan has gone out on a limb here, and it works brilliantly. I do not think I will see another programme so achingly sad and funny for a long time. Well done to all involved, it has been a pleasure to watch.
11 comment|86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
I am not British so I didn't really know Steve Coogan.(Sorry Steve) The other guy I had seen on some Gavin & Stacy episode on a British Airways flight. I had no expectations of any sort really, just a hunch that it might be interesting. Michael Winterbottom is the director and his cinematography is just breathtaking. The landscapes are heartbreakingly beautiful. The food he photographs would make Nigella Lawson blush--my fave being the sticky toffee pudding with creme anglaise shot. The comedy is based on the supposed rivalry between the 2 comics, one moody, one not. Both are excellent at impersonating famous actors and their oneupmanship is hilarious. The out takes are genuinely funny. It's a whole new film genre.. the atmospheric -yet- silly- buddy movie for food and drink lovers.
God bless the BBC and Baby Cow for this ingenious offering.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
The Trip is simply extraordinary - it defies easy categorisation - is it a comedy or a drama, is it a post-modern exploration of fame and celebrity? However you choose to define it one thing is absolutely clear - it is very funny, especially in the competitive use of impersonations. The basic plot is that Steve Coogan has been commissioned to review half a dozen restaurants in the North of England and when his American girlfriend backs out he eventually asks Rob Brydon to accompany him on his trip. This is the basic narrative drive which then becomes an exploration of the nature of fame, the impact of ageing, the importance of love and relationships, comedy and the beauty and distinctiveness of the North of England.
The Trip is remarkable also for its cinematography. The lighting is beautiful and the locations are not just a backdrop but an integral part of the whole narrative. The Trip is a hymn of praise to the beauty of the North of England. Steve Coogan muses on the distinct identity that the North has and the central role it played in the Industrial Revolution and popular culture. The Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales are shown in all their wintry glory - I found myself planning when I could re-visit these magnificent landscapes. Rob Brydon recites Wordsworth at Malham and Bolton Abbey and although it is partially played for comic effect it is genuinely moving. Serious points are made through comedy - Steve likes to impart information and apply scientific knowledge when he visits landscapes whereas Rob likes to just enjoy the moment quietly. The two approaches are equally valid but very different. Steve has the tables turned on him at Malham - just watch as he tries to get away from another geology enthusiast.
The Trip is also courageous. Both Rob Brydon and Steve Coogan seem to play recognisable versions of what we may imagine their real characters to be like. Steve is neurotic, self-questioning and egotistical; Rob is open, sincere, light-hearted and relatively straight forward. There is a cruelty and egotism in Steve Coogan's character that is not only the source of humour but I found it to be genuinely unsettling on occasions. The series also juxtaposes the relationships with women that both men have. Steve is ostensibly more `successful' with women - he has had far more sexual partners and relationships but Rob's bond with his wife is very warm, loving and stable. Which brings me on to the abiding quality of The Trip - it is profoundly melancholy. Steve may be the bigger name but fame and success are transitory and for all his aspirations to be a great comic actor he has not achieved all that he feels he could have. He is preoccupied with ageing and both physical and professional decline. I will not say too much but in the final closing scenes it is clear which man is the most fulfilled.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
I love Coogan and Brydon and I love The Trip, both series (although series 1 is arguably better) but I don't understand why they have released the movie version separately from the TV show version, when the movie is essentially a cut down version of the TV show.

It seems a lot better to me to have one release with the option of viewing it in the movie format or by the TV show/episodes format, just like how the Mid-Morning Matters DVD allows us to view it in its webisode format or its TV show format.

People shouldn't have to but 2 versions, plus the fact only the movie version is available on blu ray and the TV show version isn't which is odd as it was obviously filmed in hd. the same thing has happened for the series 2/sequel (the trip in Italy). I just want one copy on blu ray with both the movie version and TV version on them

a great show but a poor release choice
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Seeing the episodes close together rather than spaced out over their weekly time slots on TV is much more satisfying and enables the viewer to pick up far more on themes and strands that run through the series. The sense of coogan as a tragic hero is nicely played and hats off to the man for being willing to play himself in this way.
They play off each other beautifully and now that quiz shows has claimed our Welsh friend it's easy to forget what a good actor he is.
This slow pace and lingering shots of the scenery work exceptionally well. The reality of bickering friends constantly trying to outdo each other is uncomfortably familiar and ultimately it is the humanity of the "characters" (because that's what they are) which make sthis series so special.
This is one of my favourite Coogan projects.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
We watched The Trip when it first came out on the BBC and it really does bear repeated viewings so it's well worth having the DVD for that alone. Without spoiling the contents for those who haven't seen it before, it takes at least a couple of viewings to appreciate the running themes through the series and the very accurate observations that come in a torrent as you watch each episode. Having the material that was cut helps appreciate how the series was crafted. So, very much recommended, particularly if you're a fan of Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon or you like black comedy. It delivers even more if you have visited or lived in the places they visit as part of the series. The food and restaurants, somewhat ironically, are almost incidental.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Coogan and Brydon may not be everyone's cup of tea on their own....but together thay make a perfect match. Coogan outwardly brash - always looking out for the next piece of 'skirt'. Brydon in the background, knowing he's a married man with a young child. And their approach to reviewing restaurants in the North of england is honest and refreshing. They know value when they get it and are similarly NOT impressed when they don't. It's a pleasant ramble arounde some of the best scenery that England can dish up, mixed with anecdotes and observations of life. A cut above yer average food review and worth the time spent watching the six episodes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
I love watching this, especially while away abroad working for long periods.
We all enjoy the fruits of our labour in this one-time life...appreciative of good food and the characters of each and every one of your friends, from the deepest sea to the highest mountain, everyone has a story without even saying as much...and this DVD brings all that.
I watched the "In-flight movie" version on the plane but was nothing in reflection to the depth when you watch both discs of the full package in this DVD. Excellent, love it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)