Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars20
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2014
Contains clues of midpoint plot spoiler.

Cate (Kate Beckinsale) is on probation from the DAs office. She has a drinking problem which has compounded her problems as it has placed her on the ugly end of a custody case. The bad news is that Nick Nolte is the one helping to keep her sober (search Nolte 2002 DUI arrest photo). In spite of her personal issues, Cate is good in the courtroom and likes to win. She is given a pro bono case of a woman convicted of murder (Anna Anissimova) who claims she is innocent.

As Cate investigates the case she discovers layers of lies and misconduct by the police. She becomes convinced of her innocence and works to get her released in a courtroom case that goes like a hot knife through butter. in fact it was too easy as my John Katzenbach flashbacks materialized before my eyes. Ho-hum. I felt like I had been there and done that before.

The film was done fairly well for a 90 minute production. There were things that weren't explained. Was the car crash an attempt on her life or a co-incidence? In many ways the film felt incomplete. Her personal demons seemed glossed over and exactly how did her relationship fall so fast with her daughter, or did she ever have one?

In many ways it reminded me of a Lifetime film. 3 1/2 stars

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
33 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Very good thriller Kate beckensale plays a fantastic part in this brilliant film I would watch it again
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
A good cast and plot keeps your interest in this thriller. The personal issues of Cate make an interesting sub-plot which could have been expanded on rather than having the various twists in the main plot which eventually got confusing. By the end of the film I didn't know who was innocent or guilty and what were the lies and the truth whilst the personal issues were only superficially covered. Despite the film messy unresolved ending it's still worth watching.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
Californian attorney, Cate McCall (Kate Beckinsale) is a drunk. With her marriage on the rocks, her career in jeopardy, she's turned to drink to numb the pain, and her inability to deal with her problems means she is about to lose her daughter who's being cared for by her estranged husband (David Lyons). With little choice left but to turn her life around under the watchful eye of her sponsor (Nick Nolte), Cate's obliged to take on the case of a young woman, Lacey Stubbs (Anna Anissimova) who has been imprisoned for committing murder . Initially admitting to cutting the throat of another woman, Lacey now denies her guilt and accuses a policeman (Mark Pellegrino) of raping her and someone else of the murder. Cate McCall isn't used to losing court cases and she's determined to win the freedom of her client, renew her reputation, and get back her daughter.

The Trials of Cate McCall has a storyline which is similar to other courtroom dramas and there's no prize for guessing the course the storyline takes. Nevertheless, I found it a gripping movie and that is probably more down to the strong cast and excellent performances all round than the plot. It's a shame that Clancy Brown, forever the bad guy, didn't get a bigger part in the movie as he's always good to watch but at least we get a fair dose of gravelly-voiced Nick Nolte. James Cromwell seems to be popping up in all sorts of movies nowadays and appeared in this as a judge. I thought some of the legalities were a bit suspect but who am I to argue?

VJ - Movies and Books World
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
good movie with some clever twists which are slightly obvious....a lot of swearing inc C word.....Kate Beckinsale was excellent
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
I found this gripping- I did not intend to watch it all in one sitting but I could not turn it off. The character is brilliantly portrayed by Cate and the true depth of her flaws are kept for the latter part of the film so that you empathize or sympathize with her predicament. Life is never perfect and Cate's character has to forego her massive ego to set things on a better footing even challenging her ethics. Good to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
This movie has been panned by many. It took very little money at the Box Office, and yet it is probably one of the best movies I have watched in the last 6 months. And boy has there been some rubbish. Make you own mind up.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
An excellent film. I would recommend it to those interested in courtroom drama and the stories linked to the drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Nice movie about the a lawyer who believe in her client and everything turned out not to be what it was expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Well written plot and excellent acting.

Kate Beckinsale is amazingly good in this.

Money well spent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.44

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)