Includes FREE MP3
of this album.
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £7.99
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available


The Travelling Record Man: Historic Down South Recording Trips of Joe Bihari & Ike Turner [CD]

Various Artists Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
Price: £13.12 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Does not apply to gift orders. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, 22 April? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Cloud Player. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
Buy the MP3 album for £7.99 at the Amazon MP3 Downloads store.

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

Product details

  • Audio CD (30 July 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Ace
  • ASIN: B00005M08O
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 256,339 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Blue Serenade - Baby Face Turner
2. My Sweet Woman - Driftin' Slim
3. No Ridin' Blues - Charlie Booker
4. Numbered Days - Big Charlie Bradix
5. Riding in the Moonlight - Howlin' Wolf
6. I'm Gonna Find Your Trick - Smokey Hogg
7. Baby Plaese don't Go - Pinetop Slim
8. Cairo Blues - Lil'Son Jackson
9. Good Morning Little Angel - Joe Hill Louis
10. Tiny's Down Home - Tiny Webb
11. Tomorrow I May Be Gone - Jesse Thomas
12. Please Send My Baby Back Home - Sunny Blair
13. If I Lose You Woman - Alexander Moore
14. My Little Machine - Driftin' Slim
15. My Baby's Gone - Elmore James
16. Rock House - Calvin Frasier
17. She Broke Up My Life - Joe Hill Louis
18. Keep Away from My Baby - Joe Hill Louis
19. Meet Me Tonight - Jesse Thomas
20. Lonesome Bedroom Blues - Willie Nix
See all 24 tracks on this disc

Product Description

(1947-53 'Modern/RPM') (66:57/24) Downhome Blues at its best! Aufnahmen, die bei Biharis und Turners Reisen nach Kalifornien und Memphis entstanden. Einige Titel bislang unveröffentlicht * / great compilation of recordings made during their field trips to California and Memphis. Some cuts previously unissued *.Medium 1
  1. Blue Serenade - TURNER, Baby Face""
  2. My Sweet Woman - DRIFTIN' SLIM
  3. My Little Machine - DRIFTIN' SLIM
  4. No Ridin' Blues - BOOKER, Charlie
  5. Numbered Days * - BRADIX, Big Charlie
  6. Riding In The Moonlight - HOWLIN' WOLF
  7. I'm Gonna Find Your Trick * - HOGG, Smokey
  8. Baby Please Don't Go * - PINETOP SLIM
  9. Cairo Blues - JACKSON, Lil' Son
  10. Talking Boogie - JACKSON, Lil' Son
  11. Good Morning Little Angel - LOUIS, Joe Hill
  12. She Broke Up My Life (She Got Me Walking) - LOUIS, Joe Hill
  13. Keep Away From My Baby - LOUIS, Joe Hill
  14. Tiny's Down Home - WEBB, Tiny
  15. Lonesome Bedroom Blues - NIX, Willie
  16. Please Send My Baby Back Home (aka Step Back) - BLAIR, Sunny
  17. If I Lose You Woman - MOORE, Alexander
  18. My Baby's Gone - JAMES, Elmore
  19. Long Tall Woman - JAMES, Elmore
  20. Rock House * - WASHBOARD WILLIE
  21. Meet Me Tonight (Along The Avenue) * - THOMAS, Jesse
  22. Tomorrow I May Be Gone * - THOMAS, Jesse
  23. I'll Be Glad When You're Dead, You Rascal * - TODD, Arkansas" Johnny"
  24. Ramblin' On My Mind * - GILMORE, Boyd

Customer Reviews

4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ike Turner's Beginnings 10 Dec 2011
Format:Audio CD
There are a number of Ike Turner compilations covering his "pre-Tina" session years. This is a 2001 release from the ever relible Ace label.It documents the time in 1952 when joe Bihari hired Ike as a talent scout for his and his brothers Modern label.24 cuts, 67 minutes of down home blues from the Mississippi delta and further afield. Joe Hill Louis, Smokey Hogg and Howling Wolf feature along with Elmore James.A 12 page booklet with label pictures, trade ads and photos makes the verdict "Highly recommended". Enjoy! Alan.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category