Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars26
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2012
Fun and a bit of a challenge are what most of us ask from crosswords, and this book has sixty jumbo-sized ones (clue in the title). Every now and then there is a truly obscure answer, like a Schubert song cycle in the original German, but most of the clues are straightforward and just a handful are testing: it's easy to write in `carrot' as the answer to `root vegetable' (6) and then be thrown by its turning out to be `turnip'. (No need for a spoiler alert - it may well have been the other way round. Or it may have been `potato'.) I thought the balance was just right.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Don't look at the answers. You're only cheating yourself! Good value for those of us who only buy the Times on Saturdays for the crossword.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
..Having had other books in this series this was great,just the right level of difficulty for me. I would buy more
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
Thanks guys, my puzzle book arrived safe and sound. Already have the small crossword books for holidays and could not believe my luck on seeing the Jumbo version on offer. Not only are they enjoyable but you get to meet some great people (ergo the ones that know the impossible answers like jazzgirl et al ). however as far as addictions go I think this one is cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
This version is a bit big for travelling but perfect for home use. There's a good mix of clues, some more challenging than others, and one or two where the sense/meaning is sometimes less obvious, but having the answers at the back does help to resolve this. For any crossword addict, this series would make a perfect gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
I bought this book of puzzles for my man, we are retired and find the long cold days when you cannot get out really long. We spent nearly one whole afternoon doing some of these puzzles, really difficult and very entertaining, we had the dictionary out more than once and it kept us old folk entertained for hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
My Jumbo arrived in pristine condition, very quickly - next day, in fact. I shall soon be ready for another one! I just love these books - I think I've been through the whole series by now! Thank you. EK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
I really like these jumbo books, each crossword is huge so there are many more chances for my little grey cells to solve!! They seem to have a good mix of easy and harder clues which keeps me amused for hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
well constructed grids which allow much longer words than conventional crosswords in the general knowledge/concise format without straying into cryptic format
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
Great selection of jumbo crosswords - I try to do one a day but can't always finish them. Help to take the mind off the troubles of the day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)