Start reading The Three on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
The Three
 
 

The Three [Kindle Edition]

Sarah Lotz
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (56 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £14.99
Kindle Price: £9.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.00 (33%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £9.99  
Hardcover £10.49  
Paperback £12.52  
Audio, CD, Audiobook --  
Promotional Offer:
Purchase this book and qualify to buy selected Kindle books for only £1.39 each. See offer details

Watch a Related Video



Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Book Description

The extraordinary, unforgettable new thriller for fans of The Shining Girls, The Passage and Lost.

Product Description

Lost meets The Passage in this incredible new thriller, for all fans of The Shining Girls and Stephen King.

They're here ... The boy. The boy watch the boy watch the dead people oh Lordy there's so many ... They're coming for me now. We're all going soon. All of us. Pastor Len warn them that the boy he's not to­­--

The last words of Pamela May Donald (1961 - 2012)

Black Thursday. The day that will never be forgotten. The day that four passenger planes crash, at almost exactly the same moment, at four different points around the globe.

There are only four survivors. Three are children, who emerge from the wreckage seemingly unhurt. But they are not unchanged. And the fourth is Pamela May Donald, who lives just long enough to record a voice message on her phone. A message that will change the world.

The message is a warning.

Product details


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book 22 Jun 2014
By Brida TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Hardcover
I first became aware of THE THREE through Amazon.com. As soon as I read the synopsis, I decided that I wanted to read it. Now that I have finished it, I found that I have struggled to try and describe it to others.

The basic plot is that one day, across the globe in different countries, four planes crash. From each plane there is a single child which survives. These are termed as The Three (the fourth one takes a little finding) by the media. At first they are seen as miracle children. But, not too long afterwards, there are some who question exactly what they are. Conspiracy theories fly around, there are some who believe that they are aliens and there are others who see them as bringers of the end of the world.

So, that is the basic plot. Lotz has used an interesting technique to tell her story. Rather than having one main narrator, instead each chapter is a different type of media. So, for instance, some of the chapters are set out as newspaper articles, or articles from the internet, whereas others are supposed to be transcripts of interviews etc. It is an interesting technique to use, and I personally think that for this book it works very well. It means that the story develops, but not in the linear way you may be used to. It also means that you are kept guessing about just which trails of thought may be true. Are the children just suffering from PTSD or is there something else, more supernatural, going on?

I really enjoyed this book. The reason I gave it only one star is due to the ending. Without giving anything away, it was a disappointment. Not to say that it was bad! Read it for yourself to see what I mean.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Spooky 17 Jun 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
I was drawn to The Three as who wouldn’t be intrigued by four plane crashes, all on the same day with three child survivors. I had heard that this was a cross between Lost and The Passage and as I enjoyed those books, I thought that The Three would be good too.

It’s really difficult to say anything about the storyline without giving too much away but the book is written mainly as a non-fiction report titled ‘Black Thursday’. Information comes in the form of interviews that the author did with the relevant people involved. I loved this way of writing and particularly enjoyed the conversations in the online chat rooms between 2 of the characters. The author has used modern technology examples on where the data was gathered. The characters are all strong and some more spooky than others. The only slight disappointment for me was the ending as it felt a bit flat. I’m not sure how I would have wanted it to end but it just didn’t seem right for me.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I liked the storyline and the style and I finished it in a few days.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
By JK TOP 50 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
It would cause some speculation wouldn't it?. Four planes crash on the same day and from out of all of that dreadul carnage step forward three survivors. Three children. You can imagine the sound of social media sites crashing as millions flock online. That's where the author has been clever. She has tapped directly into modern culture with themes of conspiracy, politics, religion and social unrest to mix up a fiction that's just scarily believable.

I particularly enjoyed the format of this book. It's written mainly as a non fiction report, Black Thursday, which takes some of the surreal edge off the plot and anchors it down. Information comes in the form of 'real' interviews that build credibility but; there's a building sense of unease as theories abound throughout the world and maybe those being interviewed have another agenda that has little to do with honesty or the fate of three children.

What happens to the children in the middle of the storm and exactly who, or what, they are is key to the fantasy element of the plot?. I'm not saying another word. You'll have to read the book!.

From it's black cover with three red slashes through to the black edged pages 'The Three' has a look and feel I'd expect from one of the best of the contemporary horror writers. Don't be fooled. The only devils in here are people and the horror comes in the cleverly worked insight into our ability to fall into a state of chaos.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Creeeeeepy! 20 July 2014
By Kat
Format:Hardcover
I had the sadly cooincidental perspective of reading The Three during the first week after the disappearance of Malaysian Airlines flight MH370. The Three is not about missing aircraft, but four simultaneous airplane crashes mark the beginning of the story, opening with a particularly harrowing account of one of the passengers.

The Three is told in multiple perspectives, but with a bit of a twist. The story is centered around the findings of an investigative journalist, who interviews relatives, friends, officials and speculators to find out their stories of the aftermath of the crashes. Although there are so many perspectives, I still found it quite easy to keep track of the more prominent characters, and it adds an extra dimension to the plot, particularly as there are so many elements. I’m not usually the biggest lover of multiple perspectives, but in The Three it really works – there was perhaps a handful that I was less interested in than others, but they were still all very relevant and captivating.

The religious fanatics were those that I found least compelling – and I had been expecting a little more from that particular plot line based on the synopsis. It started well, gained momentum and then just faded into the background.

There is an intense invasion of the lives of the children and their families and it’s very easy to sympathise with them as they try and protect the children from media vultures, the religious fanatics and spiritualists who are desperate to get more information. And then things just get creepy. Like seriously skin-crawling creepy – and I loved every single second of it.

The Three doesn’t ever transition to bloody, gory horror scenes. It’s more a gradual, disturbing creepiness that had me completely sucked in.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars intense once you get into it
Oh. My. God. This book has it all...it seems to be quite frustrating at first as it reads like a jumble of media reports about four plane crashes and nothing seems to gel. Read more
Published 1 day ago by Patricia Walker
4.0 out of 5 stars creepy but a disappointing ending
I heard about this book via Sci Fi magazine and thought it looked like a good read, and boy was I right. Read more
Published 4 days ago by Stephen Reid
3.0 out of 5 stars Different
I did like the book, but found the writing style difficult at times. it's written in articles/interviews which meant I didn't always connect. Read more
Published 11 days ago by Vicki @ Cosy Books
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever & structurally complex
I loved this book! It was clever, structurally complex, and would not allow me to put it down. I had very much wanted to read it & was definitely not disappointed. Read more
Published 14 days ago by Dr Emma Kavanagh-Jones
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, unnerving and incredibly original. Very possibly one of the...
First published back in May of 2014, South African author Sarah Lotz’s novel ‘The Three’ formed the author’s first solo offering without having been co-written with another fellow... Read more
Published 15 days ago by Chris Hall
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy and atmospheric thriller
The `novel within a novel' has become a popular format over the past few years and I have read a fair few of them. Read more
Published 15 days ago by I Readalot
3.0 out of 5 stars INTEREST NOT MAINTAINED
An attention grabbing start. On 12/1/12 four passenger planes plummet in different parts of the world: over one thousand dead, just three (four?) survivors, all of them children. Read more
Published 18 days ago by Mr. D. L. Rees
2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time
The books sounds quite interesting from just reading the description but without wanting to spoil the ending I feel that there was a lot left unsaid and actually feel quite let... Read more
Published 19 days ago by 7thMarch
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising Read
I'm a bit of a coward when it comes to trying new books, and the fact that this didn't have many reviews when I first came across it made me shallowly skeptical of it. Read more
Published 19 days ago by ElisaJulia86
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it in two days..says it all
I hate flying so why I picked this in the first place escapes me, glutton for punishment I think. That aside I really got in to this booked, loved the way it was written, like the... Read more
Published 21 days ago by Miss G E Duff
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category