Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars109
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2011
I had watched this movie in the cinema when i was 13 years old, then about 6 years later and then again a while ago. Every time I enjoyed it as much for different reasons, the latest being Tim Curry's performance. He makes for one of the most entertaining larger than life characters i've ever seen.

It's NOT a serious adaptation. For that please go to the earlier movies - certainly not the one that came out this year!!! Imagine an animated movie, but with real actors. There's either a comical undertone or tightly written action scenes alternating very quickly and lasting only just enough for the viewer not to get bored. Then you have the larger than life villain, the hero and his sidekicks (since they are given an angle and stay that way that's how they are treated) and the final battle where every character is beating up villains in his own way, just like a Disney animated movie.

If it's not obvious the suggested audience would be people in touch with their childish side. Yes, i too have watched films from Zulaswki, Shinoda, Riefenstahl, et al and loved them :-) , but i can appreciate this for its own merits.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
Despite adverse criticism by some viewers,this is a wonderful version of Dumas`s story; the plot is given free rein, and why not? The stories and characters are meant to be flexible. All the film-makers had to do was adapt their own style to the basic idea.
The spectator will no doubt find this DVD enjoyable, simply because he/she is not allowed to "think"; the battle scenes are well-staged and the excitement never flags.

Some perfomances are worthy of note: Tim Curry`s portrayal of Cardinal Richelieu is outstanding, and Rebecca De Mornay as Milady de Winter: wonderful! Such beauty! Such sensuality! Such evil! In particular,the eroticism she displays in her meeting and seduction of the boy D`Artagnan (Chris O`Donnell) is breathtaking; and her subsequent move to stab him is undoubtedly a substitute for the sexual act. There are pleasing glimpses of Milady`s bosom, but this is not allowed to become pornographic, and the viewer will probably deeply regret her early demise. One false note: the boy-king is somewhat miscast.

It was a great surprise to find that this is a double-sided DVD, but do not let that discourage you, for you will not find this a great problem.

If you should find the American accents "jar" somewhat, there are language options, and you can do as I did: listen to the dialogue in French or Italian!

Thoroughly enjoyable.

John Harman
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
This is an entertaining take on the famous musketeers - it doesn't keep to the Dumas storyline but it has some entertaining ideas. I was rather disappointed with some of the casting. I really didn't like Tim Curry as Richelieu - the original Richelieu was not quote the nasty slimy creep that we see in this movie and I just wanted him to "go away". Of course we aren't supposed to like Richelieu as Dumas depicted him as something of a baddie, but on the other hand, most people know from the real history that Richelieu was first minister of France and a very good one too whilst Louis XIII was not a very competent king and needed a very good first minister. It is thought that the real Richelieu may well have made passes at the Queen, and this was one reason she did not like him.

I felt Porthos and Athos were cast quite well, but the d''Artagnan actor seemed far too young. For sure the original in the book is 18, but this one looked about 12! I think a more adult haircut would have helped a lot. King Louis is also acted by a very young man or so he looks - a teenager? He also looks far too childish for the part. The actor for Aramis doesn't look the part at all - the character is supposed to be very elegant, always beautifully dressed, whilst this actor is far too brawny and ordinary-looking so it jarred on me. But if can ignore his looks (which are not in the least unpleasant, just for me "wrong for the character") he acts the part very well.

In view of the look of this d'Artagnan and this king, and a few other aspects, I wondered if this movie was made mainly for teens - but nonetheless, I am sure the young at heart of all ages will enjoy it. An entertaining, lighthearted family movie.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2009
I really enjoyed this film. Easy watching, interesting & amusing. Turning the disc over half way through didn't bother me in the slightest.
I love the ending, and the soundtrack is amazing. Actually i'm going to make myself a coffee and watch it right now.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
I enjoyed the film, and D'Artagnan was rather pretty, but the film has not stuck to the spirit of the book and as with most book-to-film adaptions, it loses the bulk of the humour, excitement, and strength of the characters in translation. Milady had a weak part and did not seem evil, none of the musketeers were particularly developed, and D'artagnan did not have the same fire ands rashness of the book.

On its own it was alright, but it could have been so much better had it stuck a little closer to the classic story. If you haven't read the book and are looking for a safe movie for kids then this fits the bill. If you're looking for the true story of the three musketeers then this is not the movie version to try.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Now don't start on me. I know it's Disney. I know the version with Oliver Reed is the definitive one. Don't start on me, until you have watched this movie, because this movie...? This movie is epic. For real.

You've got young Chris O'Donnell with the worst hair in the world getting his shirt off at every opportunity. You've got Charlie Sheen in tight breeches with a Tony Stark 'tache; Keifer Sutherland getting it on with his manpain and woe; Oliver Platt being awesome and getting all the best lines. And that's not including Tim Curry stealing the entire movie and chewing the scenery like the old British pro he is, Paul McGann as the shrillest redhead in the world and Hugh O'Conor as the cutest ickle King Louis you will ever meet.

This movie has got it all. Hell, this movie is so awesome its theme song is performed by Bryan Adams, Rod Stewart and Sting. Oh yeah. Not just one of 'em, not even two, but all three.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
A perfect mix of adventure and comedy (Oliver Platt) based on the story of Alexander Dumas Novel. Tim Curry is fantastic as the Red Cardinal (but he is always good as the bad guy). Oliver Platt steals the scenes with his comedy and one liners.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Recently, I've gotten interested in The Three Musketeers, a story I really know nothing about. Instead of going to the original source, I turned to this Disney movie from 1993. I remember watching it in the theaters and not being super impressed with it. Time hasn't changed my opinion of it at all.

D'Artagna (Chris O'Donnell) longs to be a musketeer, so he sets off from his village to travel toParisto join up. When he arrives, he finds that they have been disbanded on the orders of Cardinal Richelieu (Tim Curry). However, he soon runs afoul of three of them, Aramis (Charlie Sheen), Athos (Kiefer Sutherland), and Porthos (Oliver Platt).

Then fate changes things, and the four of them must team up to stop a plot by Richelieu and Countess D'Winter (Rebecca DeMornay) to overthrow the king (Hugh O'Conor). Can they save the young monarch and his wife (Gabrielle Anwar)?

Obviously, I have no idea how this movie compares to the book or even the other movie versions out there. That's probably a good thing because it means I can just judge it by itself.

The movie is trying to be a somewhat comic version of the story, and there are certainly some scenes that give us some great one liners. However, it doesn't quite come to the level of a comedy.

Likewise, it doesn't quite work as an action film. Oh, I have no problem with the mostly bloodless sword fights. But the scenes are perfunctory and not really that exciting. The epic battle at the end has some good moments, but that's about it. Again, it's not that it's bad, but it's not great either.

The characters are likewise passable, but that's about it. There are some moments in the second half that are supposed to mean something to us emotionally, but they just don't. In fact, I find the relationship between the king and queen the most emotionally impacting one in the movie. They're minor characters and I care for them more than our leads.

It's probably because the movie is fairly predictable. Don't get me wrong, it's fun, but there are no twists you can't see coming from a ways away.

The movie is set some time in the seventeenth century, and they do a good job of recreating the period. Okay, I'm no expert, but nothing jumped out at me.

I got a big kick out of watching this movie again since I know several of the actors from their recent TV work. I think they all do a great job here bringing their characters to life. My issues with the movie are with the script, and not the acting. Special mention must be made of Tim Curry, who is over the top, but in a delightful way that makes his scenes as the villain all the more fun. He walks a fine line and pulls it off perfectly.

It's easy to pick on the many issues in Disney's The Three Musketeers, but it's not all bad. It's entertaining enough while you're watching it, but this also isn't one to rush out and watch. If you catch it you'll enjoy it, but I'm sure there are better versions of the story out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
I love this movie and would have given it a 5* rating had it not been for the fact the movie is in 2 parts (1st half of the movie on side A of the disc and the 2nd part on side B!) - not ideal when you're sitting down to enjoy the movie and have to get up and turn the disc over to watch the 2nd half! The other negative was that it took AGES to be dispatched and ultimately received. Would be hesitant about buying from this seller in future due to these 2 points. Otherwise, great movie.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2010
The title says it all.

I remember seeing this film years ago, and really enjoying it. This time around was no different. A great little fun film about D'Artagnan and the Three Musketeers.

The only thing I didn't like was that the DVD is a double-sided disc, and so half way through the film you need to turn the disc over to play the rest. Kind of surprised as it's not a particularly long film. I guess it's to do with when the disc was made.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)