Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars113
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2000
Before the new version of Thomas Crown was released I thought I ought to see how it should have been, so I bought this. What a gem of a movie - did you know the original bank heist sceen was filmed with only five actors - everyone else there were members of the public who actually thought it was real ! This shows sixties cult filming at it's highest, well shot and excellent editing make this a film to own for all the right reasons.
11 comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All the kudos usually goes to Bullit, released the same year, yet with this movie, McQueen, the King of Cool, comes of age as an actor, at the height of his power as the No.1 Box office Hollywood star. Commonly regarded by critics as a triumph of style over substance, Jewison crafted a movie for the age and drew from McQueen the kind of performance of which few thought him capable. True, Dunaway's outfits (and Burke's hats) do cement the movie pretty firmly into its time period but anyone coming new to this movie who wasn't around at the time it was made has ample compensation in the luminosity of the stars, the fabulous jazz inspired Michel Legrand soundtrack, a gem of a performance from Jack Weston, as Erwin, and the famous chess game scene.

Through the filter of McQueen's performance in the movie, picturing Brosnan as Crown in the recent remake is even more ludicrous than trying to picture Alec Baldwin as Doc McCoy: watch out for the scene in which Crown sets the 'ball rolling' by phoning up the members of the 'gang' he's hired to carry out the heist and then reflect on the observational skills of his detractors. His acting in this movie was matched only by that of his performances later in Papillon and the Getaway. Ultimately, the movie has stood the test of time and will continue to be watched long after DVDs of the Brosnan remake are gathering dust, deservedly, on the shelves of charity shops up and down the country.

Incidently, in direct contrast to The Cincinatti Kid and Bullitt, the Blu Ray transfer is not worth the upgrade: stick with the DVD and save the cash.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2008
A wonderful performance. I loved first watching it 20 years ago. McQueen's charisma is unbeatable. They should never have bothered with the Brosnan remake.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
For those of you who like sixties (1968) movies then this is one of the greatest. Obviously has the attire ,decor and surroundings of that era but a wonderful film. McQueen at his best. Coolest guy there was in films. This film epitomises how cool he was. Everbody wants to be Tommy Crown. There is no doubt. Fay Dunaway is brilliant also creating the cat and mouse game that they play. The theme song is one of the best to come from that era. One of my top 5.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2001
A change of direction for Steve McQueen in this film playing a millionaire businessman who likes to plan bank robberies in his spare time.Shot in a unique way for its time Norman Jewison(In The Heat Of The Night) has made a remarkable film.McQueen and Dunaway are both great!!!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Smart movie smartly made. The movie where wit was still in grasp of actors and when crime was still glamorised kind of personal initiative .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Great story, exquisitely filmed and still very watchable 46 years later. For me though, as a McQueen fan, the real star is his beach buggy.

This was highly modified, on his instructions and with him supervising the build, with a Chevy Corvair flat six engine substituted for the VW flat four. Stock, the Chevy was good for 180HP. McQueen had his tuned to 230hp and fitted into a light-weight buggy – 360BHP/ton! You can see it’s a powerful machine watching it accelerate and swing it’s tail out on the sand. He must have had a great time filming this one.

More here:

[...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2010
Having seen original film in 1968, wonderful to get DvD
version in good condition. I wanted music and colour to bring alive my old recollection and was very happy on all counts
From mail order despatch & follow-up tracking and receipt of product delivery I must commend Amazon on it's excellent service
Thank you so much!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Shot forty odd years ago, Steve McQueen and Faye Dunaway give us timeless performances in a dreamy film that is unique. I also have the much later remake with Pierce Brosnan and Rene Russo, which is also excellent, but so different as to almost (but not really) be a different story.

Comparing the two I think the first film just wins; it is more 'cool', the acting more restrained and yet more intense, and the direction more subtle. It is one of those films that one wants to restart and watch again!

The picture quality on my DVD copy is excellent apart from some grain and film dirt at the beginning especially in the aerial sequences. The Mono sound is OK considering the age, but I've heard much better from considerably older films and on the remake. The additional commentary by the director Normal Jewison is surprisingly interesting, and after selecting it by accident one wet afternoon we enjoyed his insight as well as the film.

This is an essential component in any movie buff's collection.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Great movie. Transfer though is a little muddy. Not convinced that this is the best copy that could be available.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)