The Things We Did for Love and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Things We Did for Love Hardcover – 1 Mar 2012


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£9.99
£1.46 £0.01

Children's Gift Guide


Special Offers and Product Promotions



Product details

  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber (1 Mar 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0571278175
  • ISBN-13: 978-0571278176
  • Product Dimensions: 14.3 x 2.3 x 22.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 871,578 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Poignant, gut-wrenching and beautifully written . . . Perfect for fans of Meg Rosoff. --Anthony McGowan

Simply a wonderful story - characters who wind themselves into your heart and a backdrop of one of the most shocking pieces of history how I wish this book had been around when I was becoming a teenager! --Wendy Cooling

Book Description

Resistance. Heartbreak. Betrayal. An unforgettable young adult novel set in occupied France during World War II.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By YAYeahYeah on 28 April 2012
Format: Hardcover
In a small village in South-West France in the final years of World War II, the Resistance fight against the occupying Germans. Against this backdrop, Arianne falls madly in love with Luc, who has returned to the village after a long time away. They seem perfect for each other - but Luc has a dark secret in his past, and is desperate to make up for it, leading him to become involved with the fight against the Nazis. When someone else becomes jealous of Arianne's feelings for him, tragedy seems inevitable.

It was, in retrospect, a mistake reading this straight after Code Name Verity, my favourite book of the year so far. Not for the reason I half-expected, though. I nearly left it for a while because I was worried that no other World War II novel could compare to the fabulous CNV - but this one holds its own. The reason reading them in succession was a mistake is that I ended up crying so much over a period of a couple of days that my eyes took ages to recover.

It's truly heart-rending, it has a wonderfully drawn cast of characters - I fell completely in love with about six different people at various points in the book - and Farrant's writing style is utterly beautiful. Massive recommendation as one of my top few of the year so far. I appreciate this is a rather short review - as always, with the books I really loved I find it very difficult to say too much because I'm always petrified of spoiling them - but it really is one you should rush out and buy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By BCT on 21 Jun 2012
Format: Hardcover
This novel is so sad, in the vein of novels like The Book Thief by Martin Zusak, this novel is really really tear-jerkingly sad, all the more so because it's based on true events. Although the characters themselves aren't real, it's not hard to believe that some of the individuals who went through the experiences in France in the later years of World War Two felt the same things and experienced the same emotions.

Luc and Ari fall desperately and passionately in love, at the worst possible time. The Nazis are on their way and the French Resistance are resolute but no match for the German forces. Luc gets drawn into the dangerous world of the Resistance with disastrous consequences whilst Ari pines for him. As well as Luc and Ari other key characters include Ari's fun-loving and amiable cousin Solange and Romy who is not all he seems to be and becomes thoroughly dislikeable.

There is no deep characterisation of any of the characters in my opinion. They all seem symbolic and representative of an element of society affected by the trials of world war and how harrowing it can become. The italicised sections of the novel are the most emotional, especially towards the end when we learn who is `speaking' these words.

This novel is a great accomplishment portraying an interesting and poignant period of history in an accessible and interesting way which meant I finished it in about two sittings. The love story between Luc and Ari adds a touch of realism and romance to a dark period of history.

Brilliant novel which delicately and cleverly discusses an essential area of European history.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By primrose on 25 April 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
found this book a bit boring maybe just me as I enjoy most books but did not enjoy this at all so not had another for a wee while.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
I don't often read historical fiction but I've been very successful with some historical YA recently and I felt ready to give The Things We Did For Love by Natashsa Farrant a chance. I'd read one or two reviews of it when it was published in hardback last year, but thankfully, when it came down to reading the book, I found that I didn't have any previous knowledge of the storyline that might have spoilt things for me.

What strikes me the most about this book is that it is based on a true story. I find that really harrowing as some quite horrific things happen during The Things We Did For Love and the author has written a short piece at the end of the novel letting the reader know at which points she has fictionalised the account and what she believes did occur in France during WWII according to eyewitness accounts. I found that to be quite chilling and it really made me stop and think.

While this book is mostly a love story between two teenagers, Luc and Arriane, during the French resistance in World War II, I found myself not particularly being emotionally invested in their romantic relationship. I liked both Luc and Arriane and I really liked their original relationship as friends who connect over their shared loss. But after years of separation, when Luc and Arriane are reunited and things are back on track romantically for them, there just seemed to be something lacking in their relationship. I don't know quite what it was missing, but either way, I still enjoyed the story that is built around them enough to carry on reading. The book isn't that long at all, and I liked reading of war-time France and how these teenagers spend their time and getting a feel for what it would have been like for people like Luc and Arriane.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback