Start reading The Toy Taker (DI Sean Corrigan, Book 3) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration
The Toy Taker: DI Sean Corrigan, Book 3 (Unabridged) (Unabridged) Narrated by Robin Bowerman £13.99 £7.99
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

The Toy Taker (DI Sean Corrigan, Book 3) [Kindle Edition]

Luke Delaney
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (180 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £4.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.00 (38%)
This price was set by the publisher
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £7.99 after you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.99  
Hardcover £7.00  
Paperback £3.85  
Audio Download, Unabridged £0.00 Free with Audible trial
Kindle Books Summer Sale
Kindle Summer Sale: Books from 99p
Browse over 600 titles from best-selling authors, including Neil Gaiman, John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer, Veronica Roth and Sylvia Day. >Shop now

Book Description

The third novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series – authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

Your child has been taken…

Snatched in the dead of night from the safety of the family home. There’s no sign of forced entry, no one heard or saw a thing.

DI Sean Corrigan investigates.

He needs to find four-year-old George Bridgeman before abduction becomes murder. But his ability to see into dark minds, to think like those he hunts, has deserted him – just when he needs it most.

Another child vanishes.

What kind of monster is Corrigan hunting? And will he work it out in time to save the children?


Books In This Series (4 Books)
Complete Series

  • Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

    Page of Start over
    This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

    Product Description

    Review

    ‘The feeling of being at the heart of a police investigation seeps from every page’ Daily Mail

    f you haven’t made Sean Corrigan’s acquaintance yet, don’t worry. This is as good a place to start as any. Jump in, make yourself at home, but remember to turn the heating up, as this is chilling crime at its best.’ Crime Review

    ‘Luke Delaney knows the London crime scene like the back of his hand and uses this inside knowledge to the full’ The Times

    Praise for Luke Delaney:

    ‘A striking debut from a former Murder Squad Detective, Delaney is not his real name, but there is no doubt about his inside knowledge and ability to convey it’ Daily Mail

    ‘A confident, aggressive and very promising debut by a former Met detective’ The Times

    ‘An authentic voice on how the police operate with a stone-cold killer striking randomly around London … scary authenticity’ The Sun

    About the Author

    Luke Delaney joined the Metropolitan Police Service in the late 1980s and his first posting was to an inner city area of South East London notorious for high levels of crime and extreme violence. He later joined CID where he investigated murders ranging from those committed by fledgling serial killers to gangland assassinations.


    Product details

    • Format: Kindle Edition
    • File Size: 1556 KB
    • Print Length: 465 pages
    • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0007486146
    • Publisher: HarperCollins (13 Feb. 2014)
    • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
    • Language: English
    • ASIN: B00EN5ES7O
    • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
    • X-Ray:
    • Word Wise: Enabled
    • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
    • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (180 customer reviews)
    • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,347 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
    •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


    More About the Author

    Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

    What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


    Customer Reviews

    Most Helpful Customer Reviews
    8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars Enough to give an adult nightmares. 27 Mar. 2014
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    I only discovered Luke's second book in the DI Corrigan series at the beginning of the week. I read this one first as somebody wrongfully informed me it was the first, I loved it. I then went on to read the first and needless to say I became hooked, I downloaded The Toy Taker Tuesday and I finished it last night, I couldn't put it down, the storyline was fantastic, a little creepy too, I can imagine even more so for those with children of their own. if you haven't read any Luke Delaney yet I would HIGHLY recommend, you won't be disappointed, in some crime fiction I've read some of the stories can get a little far fetched but not with this one, the book constantly keeps you thinking and guessing.... brilliant is all I can really say. cannot wait for the next in the series, don't know what I'm going to read till then!
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    By JK TOP 50 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
    Format:Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
    Delaney's experience as a police officer, ex CID, helps him add certain bits and pieces to what might otherwise be considered 'standard' crime fiction and take it to another level.

    There's nothing particularly unique about The Toy Taker. This is crime fiction written to formula but; it's a decent read and lead character, DI Sean Corrigan, is certainly developing since his last appearance in The Keeper. The core of the plot surrounds the abduction of a child, four year old George Bridgeman, snatched from his home in the night with no sign of break in and little in the way of clues. Unfortunately for Corrigan he's still suffering the after effects of his last investigation and his 'coppers intuition' is way out of tune. The Cat and Mouse chase is leading nowhere when, suddenly, another child is taken and it seems worse is to come.

    There's a nice feeling of being unsettled throughout this novel. The crime and police investigation are believable which makes it quite disturbing while the fast pace adds to the tension. There's nothing here that takes too much thinking about but I'd happily recommend The Toy Taker as quick to read and a decent crime fiction.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars I am not a great fan of UK's detective fiction 17 July 2014
    By rhosymynydd VINE VOICE
    Format:Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
    I am not a great fan of UK's detective fiction. However, this book was so well written, and unusual that I found myself gripped from the beginning. DI Corrigan is a well portrayed, character detective. This wonderfully gripping novel has you on the edge of your seat, as a young child goes missing from his bed in a locked, alarmed house with his parents ad sibling sleeping soundly on....The parents were the first suspects - how could it happen??? where was the body they might have concealed- until another child goes missing. the intruder takes a favourite toy from the child and returns to the bedside with the toy to lure the child away "to a magic place", half-asleep, and so happy to be reuinted with their adored toy the child follows willingly.

    Things heat up fast, as DI Corrigan is transferred from his local cop shop to Scotland Yard, forming a new squad for serious crimes but it comes with a heavy price. He and his whole team must make it work and fast or they will be broken up and sent to provincial police units to work on lesser uninteresting crimes. His new boss puts pressure on, expecting results in 48hrs...and the kidnapping continues. Meanwhile Corrigan's wife and children hate the new hours he is working so he is under stress form all angles. Will he survive? Read the book for this really hot-wired realistic UK detective up there with the likes of Mark Billingham's early work.

    This is the third book in the series but I came in cold never havig read Luke Delaney before but the book is so well written it can serve as a stand-alone novel.Not to be missed by lovers of good crime fiction
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
    2.0 out of 5 stars A short story made into a long book 19 Feb. 2014
    By Michael Watson TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
    Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
    I'm hard put to award two stars for this outing for DI Sean Corrigan. I read the previous book and found, in my review, that much of what I could say about this book is still with us, only more so.

    It's boring, repetitive and hardly thrilling. Corrigan is a disorientated person, searching for someone to show him the way to solve the crimes. He even resorts to a priest to point him in the right direction.

    Meanwhile, the kidnapper of small children is busy talking to his dead wife and, of course, God so we have pages upon pages of this very disturbed person's dialogue with non-existant forces. Sad, really.

    The kidnapper carefully and expertly enters houses at night and abducts the child. In the first case, we are given a detailed scenario as he goes about his business. This is fine, we begin to see the man is at least good at something. However, we have the same detailed picture of every other kidnapping. You can skip pages and carry on where you left off, only to be met with more pages of dialogue with God.

    As for Corrigan, he does his own thing, though not very well. Why he believes himself capable of visualising the inner mind of the criminal is at odds with the results. Any half-decent detective could have solved this case halfway through the book. Instead Corrigan swoops on a rather vile man feeling that htis is the kidnapper. He isn't and when finally we reach the rather soft finale, there is no mention of the original chappie and the part he is supposed to have played in the story.

    Oh, then there's the AC Addis, Corrigan's boss.
    Read more ›
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
    Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

    Customer Discussions

    This product's forum
    Discussion Replies Latest Post
    No discussions yet

    Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
    Start a new discussion
    Topic:
    First post:
    Prompts for sign-in
     

    Search Customer Discussions
    Search all Amazon discussions
       


    Look for similar items by category