Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars9
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Spiral-bound|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2000
Anyone planning a trip to Speyside will enjoy this excellent and informative read - a great starting point for any holiday. Dedicated walkers will find it compact yet comprehensive - a route planner and almanac combined. At just under a tenner, I rate it a great buy.
As a light recreational walker and home owner in Speyside for over 20 years, I already know something of the area. Yet I found this new publication packed with useful, interesting (and accurate) information from start to finish. Indeed, I read it like a novel!
Of course, it's greatest value will be when actually on the trail and the spiral binding, waterproof paper and large-scale maps should make reading on-the-move very easy. The authors have an unusually clear style of writing and pack a great deal of information into short, punchy paragraphs. The entire publication is well presented and beautifully illustrated with original photographs and maps and there are suggestions and tips on everything from clothing to accommodation.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
A value for money guide containing everything required. Easy to follow and well researched. Recommended for all walkers, whether planning a day trip and a short walk, or a longer trail over several days
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
As with the other 2 Rucksack guide books I have this is excellent. It is well researched, well written, easy to use, in a very handy format with good maps. I have no hesitation in recommending it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2009
This book describes the walk from the coast uphill to Aviemore. It has some useful info, some good photos and a strip map of the walk in a semi stylised form.

It's waterproof, but also fairly heavy for what you get.

I have to say that having seen the book I also bought the Harveys map of the walk, which I found more useful on the walk itself.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
Its a book about the Speyside Way, full of relevant info about our up and coming walk, We have enjoyed flicking through it to see what to expect on the walk,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Clear guidance and a lot of information provided both about the route and the area. Background to a great holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
VG
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
This is a poor attempt at a guidebook to the speyside way. It feels like a poor rehash of this excellent cicerone guide to the route by Alan Castle. See some details below....be sure to by the cicerone version - its miles better!!!!!! (not to mention half the size)...

"Alan Castle has trekked and cycled in over thirty countries across five continents and led European walking holidays. A member of the British Outdoor Writers and Photographers Guild and former National Secretary of the Long Distance Walkers Association, he has written 18 guidebooks, many for Cicerone. He lives at the foot of the Moffat Hills, in the heart of the Scottish Southern Uplands."
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)