Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars17
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 CD|Change
Price:£12.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 October 2009
The sub-title claims this book is about "Tactics, Tools & Strategies for Business Success". I expected a book focused on how you could use social media to build your business.

If that information is in there, it is buried in over 800 rambling pages. They do probably cover everything there is to know about social media but not ina way that is very useful. Large parts of it are simply lengthy blogs, which have been republished in book form.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
I bought the 2nd edition of this book and I found it really boring and not helpful at all.
Far to many pages (800) of bla bla bla on the subject in a way that made me sleep while reading the book.
I would not recommend this book at all.
The only reason I give 2 stars if for the amazon service.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
As fellow reviewers mentioned 800 pages of useless ramblings.
The language is far from academic. And the information is inferior and common knowledge.

Quote: "Social media is the media we use to be social.That's it"

The author fails to define social media in the 800 pages of the book. And from the content of the book clearly fails to comprehend the meaning of it. The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) has set up some guide lines to what is considered social media and what not and the author is way off.

Do not buy this book for academic purposes or if you have a basic knowledge of what the Internet is.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2009
Wow - this is a hefty tome and really does look at everyting to do with Social media markeringt - not only does it cover off the main ones such as Facebook, Twitter and Blogging - but delve into the pages and be fascinated with setting up a virtual business on Second Life, social media marketing with games and looking at a million other websites. Great book to help with EVERYTHING, but be careful not to lose focus... Livecasting here I come. I think I will back it up with something more specific on the main social networking websites.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am very clued up with social media and I was looking for a good book that was discussing mostly social media strategy. From this point of view the book is OK, but not great. However, the author explains that he tried to fulfil several aims, and strategy was only one of them. If you are totally new to social media this book is truly great as it goes through the main ones, how to use them, why, how and everything you need to know as a beginner. I like the use of the QR and the links to a comprehensive website. The book does not cover some of the new entries like Pinterest and Instagram in detail, but this world is evolving so quickly that it is nearly impossible to stay on top of it in between editions.

Overall a great book if you are a newbie, a very good book if you are already knowledgeable in this field and a good book if you are very knowledgeable and want more ideas on strategy. Overall, well worth the price. The author's website offers bonus content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
I've been keeping up with social media for a few years now and this is the first book I've found that comprehensively brings most of the aspects together. It is a hefty book and it needs to be - the changes in online marketing over the last few years have been numerous, technically, strategically and tactically. This book attempts to, mostly successfully, cover it all.
I especially like the time taken to help the reader understand the roots and current implementation of technology e.g. podcasting, the rise of iTunes etc. Marketers today need to have a deeper understanding of the various tools they have to use in their roles and it helps to have some background in order to make better decisions when selecting tools for certain campaigns.
Also useful are the interviews, available to download, of marketers using social media successfully in various market sectors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
Do you tweet or troll? Lurk or plurk? Do you have Facebook friends or a LinkedIn list? Are you a virtual world resident with a beguiling or scary avatar? What is your favorite aggregator or rich site summary (RSS) service? Are you happy with your Yelp rating? Do you have a Meebo login? You know Google, but do you know Redlasso or IceRocket? What is your favorite wiki beyond Wikipedia? Like it or not, it is increasingly difficult to function in today's technology-obsessed world without becoming an Internet geek. You need to know how to get the most out of the Web. For that, turn to Lon Safko and David K. Brake. Their comprehensive guide to the perplexing online world explains the Internet-based social media, including how to use its networks and tools to build a marketing campaign. getAbstract recommends this smart, thorough, useful book to any businessperson who sees a single unfamiliar word in this paragraph.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
I was looking for a guise to help me develop our social media strategy - this does exactly that, and very well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Although it contains some good ideas, its overall a very basic explanation of social media. I found it far more beneficial simply reading the action guide set out at the end of each chapter and some of the case studies.
In order to fully appreciate this book you need to have absolutely no understanding of social media at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Good book with relevant practical examples in to help you with your business in todays market place. A lot of the examples would be better if academically referenced though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)