Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars71
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 15 August 2015
The box boasts the byline "totally irresponsible edition" and there is a lot to enjoy in this crazy film about a babysitter, Noah, reluctantly looking after three charges and finding himself driving around trying to find money to pay off a psychotic drug dealer. It is always lively, often crude, but likeable thanks to the contributions of Jonah Hill and Sam Rockwell - and all the cast, including the children, but it is the combination of these two that makes the film really quite sparky. The latter plays the dealer to perfection and is surrounded by beefy bodybuilders in skimpy gear, mad bad and dangerous to know, but with a likeable streak and an unreliable dress sense ... Both he and Hill reveal facets other actors don't reach in this kind of material. If the film seems to indulge in certain stereotyping both in racial and sexual terms, these are neatly subverted so that its vulgar, raucous heart emerges as being in the right place, without being too politically correct. The children themselves all have issues, but their wild adventure with Noah helps all three, and it really is well judged for a light 80 minutes of mayhem. It isn't remotely convincing, but as the implausibilities are piled on you don't really care - it can't be too outlandish, really.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
The movie starts out as a bad sex comedy. Jonah Hill stars as Noah Griffith, a slightly nerdy, obese young adult who peddles a bicycle. In the opening scene he is performing oral services for a pretty blond girl (Ari Graynor) who believes fat guys do it best, however she won't return the favor as she claims she has a touch of food poisoning. She is a coke slut loved by Noah.

Mom (Jessica Hecht) coerces Noah into babysitting for the neighbor (Erin Daniels). The kids are a 13 year old boy with responsibility issues, an eight year old girl going on 16, and an adopted kid from El Salvador who acts like he is part of a cartel. Noah is irresponsible as this turns into an "Adventures in Babysitting" adult comedy as he attempts to score some cocaine for his "girlfriend" who has promised him real sex in return.

As I watched the movie for the first time, I had the feeling I have seen this before. Predictable, trite, and mostly unfunny. A "me-too" comedy. A lower tier rental at best. Go watch Harold and Kumar instead.

F-bomb, sex talk, no nudity
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 July 2013
Noah Griffith (Hill) is a slacker who get's roped into a spot of babysitting, to allow his divorced mum (Jessica Hecht) to go on a night out. However Noah would rather be anywhere else, and an opportunity arises for him to make a good thing out the evening, and he takes the troublesome trio of kids with him on a trip to the City, where things get out of hand, and anything that can go wrong, does. Comedy & mayhem ensue.

Overall this film uses the premise of 80's babysitting comedy Adventures In Babysitting & shoe horns in adult themes headed by Jonah Hill (21 Jump Street) adding his own unique flavor of humor to it. There is a lot of swearing & mature content, even opening with an oral sex scene that i found quite a distasteful road bump into the movie. After that the structure of the film settles down into turning the plot of AIB to it's advantage. It does a decent job combining situations that are at home in a kids friendly version, with scenarios of a more adult nature, hitting the mark more often than not.

Jonah Hill takes his trio of minions Slater (Max Records) , Rodrigo (Kevin Hernandez) & my personal favorite, Blithe (Landry Bender), on a road trip into the City, to buy some 'candy' drugs for his girlfriend (Ari Graynor) & meet her at a party in return for sexual favors. Along the way they meet a host of unique characters, some totally silly like Sam Rockwell's (Moon) really bizarre drug dealer & his weight lifting pals. While Jonah Hill's priceless reactions to the situations is great in places. A big part of the enjoyment comes from what made the original AIB so enjoyable & this manages to recreate perfectly in it's own style. The development of the characters over the course of the evening, in that they all have some kind of flaw within themselves, that this crazy night seems to iron out & that by the end of the evening they all have this great connection as a result, which we are secretly in on.

In conclusion, The Sitter manages to turn a teen rated predictable story into an enjoyable adult remake using Jonah Hill's comedy talents & his quirky little minions bizarre attitudes. Contains strong language, adult themes & violence. Recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
So Jonah Hill is a babysitter.

Thats the premise of the film, and somebody bought that idea.

It's basically a very very lose homage to 'Adventures in Babysitting' or 'A Night On The Town' depending where you live.

Hill is babysitting three children all with issues, and his girlfriend asks him to get him some 'powder' and in return, she will make him a man.

He meets Sam Rockwell, one of the kids steals some more 'powder' and hilarity ensues.

It's good that Hill is a good screen presence as he really saves the movie from being completely over the top and mediocre.

His character is likable enough for you to actually care about his situation, and the children are kooky enough to provide a few laughs.

The only real problem is with Rockwells villain, who like the majority of villains in comedies has a weird trait. His is making best friends and putting them in a list. It's not funny and gets annoying very quickly.

All in all it's diverting, and doesn't out stay it's welcome being just shy of 80 minutes.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
This is a puerile, largely unfunny comedy. One or two lines stand out as immediately quotable and laugh out loud, but overall it's laboured, messy and childish.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Definitely not one of Jonah Hill's better movies! Mildly amusing but plot-line is weak and the laughs are way to obvious to be funny!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
I think Jonah Hill is one of the best and funny actors around just now. However this movie is mediocre at best.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
It made us laugh! Some great lines & Jonah Hill plays that character well! The youngest child is very good too!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
although i enjoyed this film i was upset to find out by email that i had been charged £9.99. i pressed watch now i didnt want to buy? i dont like this new system where i love film is connected with my amazon account. hence i have cancelled my subscription and will be going back to netflix.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
I know the majority of the film is predictable, dare I say cliché, but the ride was very enjoyable. That is, after-all, the nature of the comedy genre. How often do I go see a comedy for its intricate storyline, radical character development or enigmatic themes? Close to never, honestly, and so with that reasoning why not go balls-out? Jonah Hill is a very likable character in the film with an understandable ploy. It lacks the in-your-face violence of director previous film "Pineapple Express", but it is definitely hilarious, no doubt about that. The kids are very well played, and thankfully come out as pretty decent characters. Thankfully nowhere near as annoying as the duo of the "Are We There Yet?" films. It's definitely a coming-of-age film that may not be a classic, but it certainly is worth seeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.49
£4.45

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)