Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2012
I want to preface my comments by saying that I think Frank Herbert's original Dune works are the best science fiction ever written. He was able to write political and psychological thrillers while he simultaneously created cultures and worlds as he told his stories. No wasted words, no wasted effort - absolutely masterful writing. His characters were fascinating, captivating, strong personalities with gripping ambitions, hopes and fears. As you read you were pulled into their personalities and experienced the stories through them.

Sadly this book reads like little more than an expository piece of backstory doing nothing more than telling and explaining. The characters read like cardboard cutout characters as their motivations and histories are explained, described, redescribed and retold repeatedly page after page. There is little life in the characters or their worlds other than what was so powerfully written by Frank Herbert in his original books. The characters are lifeless, flat, dull and boring and in short order I noticed I didn't care about them or what happened to them. Don't expect anything even remotely like the original books. I wanted to hear more of Frank's storytelling but you won't find any of it here.
11 comment20 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
Having been engrossed for years by Franks work, and then enjoying Brian's follow up (especially with the thinking machine wars) I have to say that this book has lost a little something. The continual need to summarise over and over again at the commencement of a chapter storylines from the book you have only just read in the previous chapters, has had me almost tossing it in the bin. The plot and storyline could be so good but the execution is dreadful....I cannot believe anyone with the Herbert bloodline could have written this or supported such poor writing of what could/should be one of the best tales ever leading up to the Birth of Paul!
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Having just re read the original Dune Sequence, I thought I'd look at the additional books by Frank Herbert's son and Kevin Anderson. So far, the sample chapters are one dimensional, and lacking in insight into the meaning of Frank Herbert's books. they make extensive use of parts culled from the original novels, but completely fail to make stories live, even within the limited adventure story parameters they set. They both appear to lack enough imagination and really should have left Frank Herberts books alone.

I started reading Sisterhood of Dune and it appeared to have a plot and some interesting ideas, unlike other samples I have read....but it is not good enough to pay over £6 to read what I know will be a disappointing story in many ways, because the authors are simply not up to recreating or getting anywhere near Frank Herbert's vision. If it were £1.99 or less, that would be a fair price but these books can be little more than a cynical money making machine.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Amazon are a bit previous with their demands for ratings, only just started reading but so far all's good, being an avid "Dune" fan i'm finding the constant brief resumes outlining the previous books a lil' bit annoying (hence the 4 stars) but i can understand why this is done:) The seeds of all the different factions were sown in the "Machine crusades" series and this series is adding more flesh to them, making them more recognisable to what appears in the next series, "House of...", and finally the original books, which i'll have to reread me thinks:) but only if Amazon drop the price, it's about time they were free along with all the other classic novels:)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
A very readable and good piece of the jigsaw that helps to construct the "known universe" prior to Frank Herbert's original Dune series. It is admirable as it is a difficult project done to a high degree of fidelity to Herbert senior's vision and ideas. What is missing from Herbert Junior and Anderson's Dune prequels are the insights into characters' psyche and inner thoughts, which were a forte of Herbert senior's Dune series. However, a recommended reading to those who want to expand on the universe of Dune, originally envisaged and articulated by Frank herbert.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
the ever expanding dune franchise another trilogy for all that its not bad very much a starter book for the next two but some interesting characters and scenes but it has a hint of dullness about it.a bit ponderous.i did give this a 3 star but i find myself looking forward to reading the next instalment so i popped another star on
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
If you are a fan of the Dune series I would be surprised if you didn't get hooked by this new wave of books. They are written in a similar style to the originals and bring a whole new dimension to the Atreides/Harkonnen stories. Compelling characters and connected contexts - buy them all and get immersed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Rubbish. Couldn't get more than a couple of chapters in to it.
Also had to force my way through the pre-Dune stuff by Kevin. Just doesn't really do what it says on the tin. Just common or garden sci-fi novels that would have been okay on their own but suffer from comparison with Dune.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
This title is one of the slightly better ones in the BH/KJA range of Dune books. The best part is where the Sisterhood are dealt with; the other factions are bland. As one other author has remarked, the modern efforts do not have the characterisation and originality of the original works.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Fantastic reading for Dune fans. Very true to the rest of the universe, and giving insights into areas I always wanted to know more about, the sisterhood, mentats, the budding start of the Corrino empire. Well written, cannot wait for the last book in the trilogy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.