Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 May 2009
`The Silence of the Lambs' is the classic 1990 film based on the novel by Thomas Harris. Trainee FBI agent Clarice Starling (Jodie Foster) is asked to interview a cannibalistic killer named Hannibal Lector (Anthony Hopkins) and ask for his knowledge on profiling to help the FBI to find a vicious serial killer known as Buffalo Bill (Ted Levine).

This has always been one of my favourite films of all time - everything about it is first class. It's without a doubt one of the creepiest, most exciting and suspenseful thrillers that I have ever seen and still stand the test of time nearly 20 years later. The presentation and setting is dark, dirty and gritty, giving it the seedy feel that the book gave me, the script is nearly spot-on to the book too with not much left out (something that is rare with adaptations) and the acting from the whole cast is performed perfectly to their counterparts from the amazing novel, making this one of the best book-to-film adaptations ever. So as you can imagine, when I heard that this was coming to Blu Ray I couldn't wait to get hold of it and watch it in high def.

Well I watched it last night and I'm sad to report that the transfer to high definition was not really worth me re-buying this and "upgrading" it to Blu Ray. The picture quality was pretty bad with a very grainy look to it throughout the whole movie. In the darker scenes it looked as if there were white dots on the black areas of the screen and the rest just looked incredibly dark. I actually compared it to my DVD copy straight afterwards and I was shocked to see that the DVD version actually looked better than the Blu Ray transfer! The sound however was noticeably better.

Overall this is one of the best films ever that I strongly recommend seeing but if you already have it on DVD you should definitely not buy this version as it would be a real waste of money.

MOVIE - 5/5
PICTURE - 2.5/5
SOUND - 5/5
OVERALL - 3/5
55 comments| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
Jonathan Demme is such an incredible director, so able to work on different genres and always so great in refreshing them with a personal touch.
It is not a matter of turning each genre upside down, but to reinforce it, being at the same time faithful and innovative.
That's what he did with comedies (Something Wild and Married to the Mob), drama (Philadelphia), romance (Rachel getting married, maybe his masterpiece). And with documentaries, which represent his alter-life (Man from Plains, Caroline Parker, Swimming to Cambodia, The Agronomist) and, by looking at films like Silence of the Lambs, they seem to be made by another director.
Silence of the lambs is one of the best thriller and serial killer films ever done. Not as fascinating and disturbing as Manhunter (which belongs to the same saga) or Peeping Tom, but it is definitely the best Hollywood could do. Under his masterful direction, Demme transformed an apparently genre film in a oscar winning success, relaunched Jodie Foster and Anthony Hopkins who found in this film the turning point of their career, and marked the imagination and collective consciousness of the last 25 years. This film is a diabolique mix of ancestral fears, intriguing plot and twist, and a constant subtext about the struggle of a woman in a man's world. Demme does not show off but wisely uses photography, acting and editing (the twist in the sequence of the final irruption is a perfect example of refreshing use of parallel editing) to engage and drag us into the story. No special effect: just great cinema.
On a pretty good blu ray, which only lacks of some video definition, but it is watchable and enjoyable anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2007
You've heard of this film, it's been so parodied and referenced over the years since it's release that it's become firmly embedded in the public consciousness. The reason for this? It's absolutely fantastic. It's one of the few films I haven't a bad word to say about, it's pretty damn near perfect.
The story follows a young FBI trainee Clarice Starling (Foster) who's sent to interview an imprisoned serial killer, the now world-famous Hannibal Lecter (Hopkins). The interview coincides with the continuing activity of another very different killer, Buffalo Bill, and of course the two plot lines quickly become one as Lecter offers to use his undoubted psychological genius to aid the police in exchange for improving his circumstances of imprisonment.
Hopkins as Lecter is only on screen for about twenty minutes totaled up and yet he gives such a stunning performance that his presence is felt throughout the film. He is at once charismatic, dangerous, electrifying, creepy, hypnotic, menacing and deeply disturbing. The first time he stares into the camera you feel like he's staring into your very soul, and for Starling he is. He's behind glass and yet Hopkins manages to instill such a sense of danger to him that he seems infinitely more terrifying than Buffalo Bill - where Bill is deranged, confused and emotionally volatile, Lecter is cold, intelligent, darkly empathetic, and completely detached from that most basic drive that prevents us killing. That Lecter clearly has his own strict moral code based on manners and politeness makes him even more frightening.
Foster as Starling delivers a career best performance, perfectly realizing the character as both strong but vulnerable, sensitive but determined, by no means the 2D female lead the film would have produced in almost any other actress. We feel for Starling, we want her to succeed, we feel afraid for her as she becomes dangerously close to Lecter. Foster really has to drive this film, Hopkins makes us afraid but Foster has to make us care, which she achieves easily. Her performance is often overlooked in this film because of Hopkins, but they both won Oscars for their roles and both were well deserved, two of the greatest performances on film to date.
The directing by Jonathan Demme is superb, forcing his audience into every scene by keeping face-on to the dialog and way too close to the action for comfort so we feel like we're there without the need for shaky-hand-held-documentary-style work that works well in some films (e.g. the Bourne Franchise) but would have ruined this. This film is not rugged, it's precise. It's not about random violence, it's about calculated horror.
In conclusion this is an incredible film with stunning performances, intense atmosphere, perfectly calculated directing, and one of the best constructed and driven plots in cinema history. Buy it now, it doesn't matter which edition, just get your hands on this film and prepare to be blown away. Good? It's Perfect.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Yes I have this on DVD with the same features as on Blue ray , and after multiple DVD releases and now Blue ray , they cannot get round to new interviews and commentaries ? That is disappointing as all the other films in this series have commentaries from Hannibal , Hannibal rising to red dragon .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
I won't go into talking about the film as those that are purchasing this item have probably seen the film before. The steelbook itself is absolutely beautiful and does justice to the film inside it. The HD clarity of the film is equally great and is a welcome addition to my blu-ray collection.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2016
This arrived promptly and not overly packaged which was a relief. The DVD itself was non-damaged and there were absolutely no issues with the image or sound quality of this DVD and no missing scenes. Silence of the Lambs is a classic movie that never gets old no matter how many times I watch it. Its one of the creepiest, tense and exciting thrillers with brilliant acting by the leads. A fantastic watch that I highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
This is a terrific film, gripping to the last, and even believable. The leads are faultless, although outshone by Anthony Hopkins' astounding performance as Hannibal Lecter. For the interest of anyone interested in this kind of info, the film is an excellent example of the Campbell Cycle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
I only previous had the movie on VHS so was keen to add it to my dvd collection. When I saw it was available for the price listed I was sceptical but when I received it I found it to be in pristine condition. Having watched it I can confirm that it plays perfectly. When you think I bought this and another dvd (from another seller) for £5 in total including delivery it is indeed a bargain. Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2003
Based on the bestselling novel by Thomas Harris and winner of five main academy awards, (Best Actor (Hopkins), Best Actress (Foster), Best Screenplay (Ted Tally), Best Director (Demme) and Best Picture), there can be no doubt that 'The Silence Of The Lambs' is an absolutely great movie that, by now, has secured its place in film history.
Clarice Starling (Jodie Foster) is a trainee at the FBI academy who is put on a the 'Buffalo Bill' (Ted Levine) case. Eager for a lead, she seeks the help of serial killer Dr Hanibal 'the cannibal' Lecter, but in return, he demands the right to penetrate her most horrific memories, creating a wierd kind of intermacy between them.
Although this film is supposed to be a horror, its not really that scary as such (apart from the bit at the end where 'Buffalo' Bill is chasing Clarice in the dark basement), but some parts of it are pretty intense and two of these intantly spring to mind. The part where the dead is brought in for an autopsy, and the part where Lecter manages to break out of jail. The latter is extreamly violent and bloodthirsty, and will leave you gripping the seat. There are parts in this movie, like the two i have just described, that really make you want to hide behind the sofa, but there is somthing about it which keeps you frozen in your seat, like an invisible force field. I can't really describe it that well but if you have watched this film then you will know what i mean.
Overall, the acting is pretty amazing really. Jodie Foster was probably the best we have ever seen her, and Anthony Hopkins was absolutely extraordinary as the evil Hanibal Lecter, and it was probably his performance which got the film its five academy awards. 'Buffalo' Bill was just plain disturbing, but Ted Levine managed to make him better than he could have been.
So, as you can see this is a spectacular film all round and when you watch it you will see exactly why it has won so many awards and has become so popular throughout the film world.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2006
Just got my copy of the ultimate edition since my special edition became corrupted by that yellowing/cloudy artefact on the disc. It seems a very good transfer but the beginning of the credits are missing (principal actors and film title) - the picture is there but the actual credit writing doesn't appear over it. I've noticed on the net comments that this occurred with the Scandanavian version. Not sure what this means - whether we return it and wait till Sony/MGM get it right, or whether we're lumbered with the fault. It seems this title is the kiss of death on DVD for MGM. I'm writing this 2 days after its release and so far I can see no other mention of this fault on the net. My advice is to hang on and see what develps before purchasing in case we have to return the discs like last time.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)