The Second Life of Amy Archer and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
The Second Life of Amy Ar... has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by ACE_BOOKS
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: VERY GOOD OVERALL CONDITION --- GUARANTEED IN STOCK --- ELIGIBLE FOR AMAZONS
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Second Life of Amy Archer Paperback – 18 Jul 2013

70 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 18 Jul 2013
£12.99
£7.20 £0.01
£12.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 1 left in stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Second Life of Amy Archer + Before I Go To Sleep
Price For Both: £16.18

Buy the selected items together



Product details

  • Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Orion (18 July 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1409128563
  • ISBN-13: 978-1409128564
  • Product Dimensions: 15.6 x 3.3 x 23.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (70 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 850,662 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Rob is a native of Harold Hill, Romford in Essex but spent much of his adult life in London, particularly Kennington. He's also called Rotterdam, Manchester, Edinburgh and Frankfurt home for varying lengths of time.

He somehow graduated in History from Warwick University and then faffed about as a tour company rep, play leader and night club bouncer - while dreaming all the while of being a writer.

His dream sort of came true when he began a career as an advertising copywriter, a career that saw him work on some big name clients and ghost write letters for Thora Hird and Terry Waite OBE among others. But it still wasn't really what he wanted to do.

Eventually he sat down and wrote several books - one of which became The Second Life of Amy Archer.

He is the co-founder of the Friends of Kennington Park, a voluntary group which, in ten years, has transformed the park from neglected open space to proud owner of a coveted Green Flag for excellence.

Rob's into history, psychology, music, parks, tennis, swimming and cycling. Oh, and books of course. He also really likes hearing what readers make of his stuff.

You can find out more at www.rspateman.com

Product Description

Review

A slick and gripping debut. His writing style is rare; the minute details bring to life the characters, locations and the modern world so vividly that scene by scene it is almost palpable (WE LOVE THIS BOOK)

A gripping and well-written tale (LITERARY REVIEW)

As secrets emerge, the plot unravels and characters are not what you expect making you crave the final conclusion. This book is a must (IRISH EXAMINER)

You won't be able to put it down. A touching and startling read that is sure to propel RS Pateman's talents (WOMAN'S WAY (IRELAND))

Book Description

A tense, gripping psychological suspense novel for fans of S.J. Watson and Gillian Flynn.

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Related Media

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By DaisyDaisy VINE VOICE on 1 July 2013
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
From the very first page I was hooked on Beth's story. Her strong voice led me confidently through the kidnapping of Amy Archer ten years ago and her apparent return in the present day. I was moved by the recollections and the aftermath of the kidnapping.

I didn't know what to expect from this book and was pleasantly surprised by the mystery of reincarnation and the dilemma Beth faced when confornted with Esme claiming she was Amy. Though I did get a little bit fed up of Beth's confusion and whether she believed as this was dragged out and repeated a little bit too much for my liking.

I did read this book in a few days as I couldn't wait to get back to it and find out what happened. Even though it was fantastic, I only gave it four stars as there are no definite answers at the end. Another thread of the story is revealed that could have added substance to Esme's claims, that are apparently disproved earlier on.

I am trying not to reveal too much so I ruin it for other readers completely; it is definitely worth a read to work it out for yourself.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Joanne Sheppard TOP 1000 REVIEWER on 14 May 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The Second Life of Amy Archer is one those high-concept thrillers that seem to be all over the place at the moment. Beth Archer's daughter Amy went missing ten years ago from a London park, leaving Beth unable to move on or find any sort of peace. Shortly after the anniversary of Amy's disappearance, Beth is contacted by Libby, a much younger woman from Manchester, who claims that she knows where Amy is - and that she's still alive. The complication is that Amy is now called Esme, and in the ten years since Beth last saw her, she hasn't aged a single day.

Can Esme really be the reincarnation of pretty, perfect Amy? Certainly she seems to know far more about Amy and her life than she could possibly have been coached to know from the newspapers. Beth, understandably, is simultaneously desperate to believe that Esme and Amy are one and the same, and yet struggles to believe that reincarnation could be possible. Can she trust Libby and Esme? What about Ian, a local psychic who claims to know something about the case? And how will Brian, Beth's former husband, now remarried with two more children, react?

I can't deny that the basic premise of The Second Life of Amy Archer is an excellent plot driver, and the author's skill in characterisation really comes to the fore in Beth, a fascinatingly unreliable narrator consumed with guilt and grief. Just when we find ourselves wholly sympathetic towards her, there'll be a flash of mistrustful paranoia, a sudden mood-swing, a surprising judgement. There are times when every character in The Second Life of Amy Archer could be deceiving another, and this constant atmosphere of fearful uncertainty is one of the book's great strengths.

The book's biggest fault lies with the ending - or rather, last one-fifth or so of the story.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Lizzie Dee on 17 July 2013
Format: Paperback
I was given a copy of 'Amy Archer' for promotional purposes and review. I can honestly say that it is a great debut novel and hope to read more from this author in the future.
Ten year old Amy Archer disappeared ten years ago after an argument with her best friend. Her mother, Beth, has since been living a nightmare. Will she ever find the answer to what happened to Amy? Her marriage has broken down and she has put her faith into psychics in order to find out the truth.
On the evening following an appointment with a new psychic, Ian, she is contacted by Libby who claims that her daughter Esme is Amy. Reincarnated.
The story is very cleverly written in the first person, present tense (apart from a portion in the second half of the novel where Beth is listening to evidence), with a totally believable female voice.

I felt I had a great intimacy with Beth as she began her quest for closure. Should we believe the reincarnation theory or is it just a hoax?
I too started to suspect many of the characters. Was Ian the psychic for real? Beth's friend Jan also seemed a bit odd to me.
I liked Dave, the Manchester cabbie, his great Northern charm and willingness to help.
The writer has managed to convey great menace and atmosphere together with fast moving dialogue- I was never bored reading this.
I would really recommend this as a good psychological suspense novel; it kept me guessing right up to the end. My only gripe would be just that - I'm still guessing. However this fact could give book groups much to debate upon!
So although one issue is resolved I had to go back and reread Beth's version of events of the day Amy went missing and still I can't decide who to believe.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 15 July 2013
Format: Paperback
The Second Life of Amy Archer
This debut psychological suspense novel by R.S Pateman is about the disappearance of 10 year old Amy Archer, the only child of Beth and Brian. Beth has never given up hope of finding Amy or at least finding out what happened to her. She is angry at her now ex-husband and the police for what she sees as giving up the search and turns to psychics in the hope that if Amy is dead she will contact her through the medium. 10 years later after yet another unsuccessful visit to a medium there is a knock on the door. The woman at the door then proceeds to tell Beth that Amy has been reincarnated in her daughter Esme who was the spitting image of Amy and who know things about Amy that she could not have reasonable been expected to know.
The back cover of this book says this is a must read for those who enjoyed Before I Go To Sleep . I haven't read it nor have I read many psychological suspense novels so I didn't know what to expect. However, I did really enjoy the book. The story is told mainly in the first person so for most of the book you only have Beth's account of what happened. Later in the book you hear from other voices who were involved in the disappearance of Amy by letters etc. It is then that we begin to get a wider picture of what happened. Beth was not an easy character to like even though you know that she had been traumatized by the disappearance of her daughter: in fact I don't think I really liked any of the characters until their stories started to unfold.
This would be an excellent choice for a book club as there would be much to discuss about the horror of losing a child, about parenting, child abuse and in the end just who was responsible for the disappearance of Amy Archer .
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback