Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £5.99

Save £3.00 (33%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

The Sea Sisters Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 624 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£5.99

Length: 386 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £7.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready

Get a Free Kindle Book
Between now and 26 February 2016 you can earn a free Kindle Book by simply downloading and registering the free Kindle reading app, buying a Kindle Book, or buying a book. Learn more
Get a £1 credit for movies or TV
Enjoy £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle ebook from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle ebooks) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at on Friday, 26 February, 2016. Terms and conditions apply

Product Description

Review

“a terrific summer read” Richard & Judy Summer Book Club

‘Essential reading if you have a sister, as Clarke has totally nailed the complexities of that relationship. It’s perfectly paced …oh, you’ll want to quit your job and go travelling’. HEAT

‘You don’t have to go on your hols to appreciate this amazing beach read – the captivating story will send you to far-flung, exotic destinations… A gripping, unpredictable page-turner.’ NOW

‘Lucy Clarke’s debut novel had me hanging on its every word. It manages to be both an interesting and dramatic story and also beautifully written. I found it extremely thought-provoking… With this absorbing, heartbreaking novel, Lucy Clarke shows she’s a writing force to be reckoned with. Bring on novel number two!’ FABULOUS (The Sun on Sunday)

‘It’s a thrilling and perceptive debut which captures the complex relationship between sisters and loss at its rawest. Trust us, you won’t be able to put it down.’ COSMOPOLITAN

‘This may be set in sunny places like Bali and Maui but underneath lies the darker story of two sisters…deeply moving’ STAR

‘Moving back and forward between past and present, London, Australia and Bali, this is an atmospheric and enjoyable page-turner that makes good use of the exotic settings.’ SUNDAY MIRROR

‘This beautifully written story of secrets and sisterly bonds is twisty and intriguing – a total page-turner’ CLOSER

‘I thought this book w as quite gripping and read it in two days. I think that book clubs would find plenty to discuss on many levels; sibling rivalry, how death can divide or bring together families and the way travel can help to develop a person.’ NEWBOOKS magazine

About the Author

Lucy Clarke has a first class degree in English Literature and is a passionate traveller and diarist. She has worked as a presenter of social enterprise events, a creative writing workshop leader, and she is now a full-time novelist. Lucy is married to James Cox, a professional windsurfer, and together they spend their winters travelling and their summers at their home on the south coast of England.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1312 KB
  • Print Length: 386 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (9 May 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009YBTTYE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 624 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #17,233 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Lucy Clarke has a first class degree in English Literature, and is a passionate traveller and diarist. She and her husband, a professional windsurfer, spend their winters travelling and their summers at their home on the south coast of England.

Her debut novel, THE SEA SISTERS, was a Richard & Judy Summer 2013 Book Club pick. Her second novel, A SINGLE BREATH, is 'a gripping, emotional mystery' and was published by HarperCollins in March 2014. Lucy's novels perfectly blend vivid, exotic settings with the tension of a psychological thriller. Perfect for fans of Rosamund Lupton, Jojo Moyes and Alex Garland.

Lucy is published internationally, including in the US, Canada, Germany, Holland, France, Brazil and Russia.

www.lucy-clarke.com
www.facebook.com/lucyclarkeauthor
@lucyclarkebooks

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Mia and Katie are sisters, but seemly complete opposites. Kate lives a life that is carefully structured and planned whilst Mia is more of a free spirit. As Mia heads off rather spontaneously to travel the world with her friend Finn, Katie stays behind in her London life. However, Katie's world is shattered by the news that Mia has been found dead in Bali, and the police are claiming that it was suicide. Desperate to know what happened during the last months of Mia"s life whilst she was away, and with only Mia's travel journal to guide her, Katie sets off on a journey to uncover the truth and mystery surrounding Mia's death...

Wow! What a book! I was hooked from the very first page and I didn't want to be separated from the story! When I had to put the book down to cook for example, I kept thinking about the characters and even took to talking about them throughout dinners and throwing out ideas about what might have happened...I was so absorbed in the novel, that the characters were constantly buzzing in my mind, and they stayed with me long after I had finished the last page.

The story is told from both Katie's and Mia's viewpoints. I really enjoyed this as I was able to learn more about the relationship that Mia and Katie had with each other, their feelings towards each other, the emotions they felt for each other at certain points in their lives, their thoughts during the times they supported each other and the times they didn't too. Their relationship with each other was very deep, with many different layers and emotions throughout, and as I was able to see both sides, it drew me in further to the story and I wanted to read on and find out more about them.

I LOVED the idea of a travel journal!
Read more ›
3 Comments 90 of 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By realovesbooks TOP 500 REVIEWERTOP 1000 REVIEWER on 9 May 2013
Format: Paperback
The synopsis to The Sea Sisters did an excellent job at sparking my interest, before I even started to read this book I was intrigued by this storyline. The story follows two sisters, Katie and Mia who have a very troubled relationship. After the loss of their mum Katie has taken the role of protector but this is not something Mia is thankful for she feels inadequate compared to her sister. Much to Katie's surprise Mia returns from work one day and declares out of the blue she is going travelling with best friend Finn. It is during Mia's travels that Katie is woken to a rap on the door only to find the police at her door with some very unwelcome news Mia has been found dead at the bottom of a cliff in Bali. Katie is heartbroken but she has many questions she needs answering and there is only one way to find the answers and so she embarks on her journey.

The story is written in alternate narrative which allows us to follow both of the girls journey and to get to know each of the characters separately. I really enjoyed both of the girls journeys but with me being a younger sister I felt like I sympathised more with Mia. Some of the things Mia tells us especially the relationship between her sister and her mum I could relate to.

We follow Katie as she retraces her sisters steps through Mia's journal so we see her begin to unravel some truths, many of which are a shock to Katie as well as us the reader. It was great to hear from Mia as her emotions are portrayed through her actions and it soon becomes clear that she is a flawed character and feels that she is living in her sisters shadow, she doesn't feel as if she belongs. The relationship between the two sisters have very realistic characteristics such as jealousy, competition and the love/hate relationship.
Read more ›
Comment 53 of 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I loved this book, it's a beautiful story about the bond between sisters. The story takes you on a journey around the world in the search for truth into mias death. i felt like I was in these country's and couldn't stop reading to find out what happened next. I didn't want the book to end.
Comment 6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Katie has to come to terms with the fact that not only is her sister Mia dead but looking like that she committed suicide.

You feel the darkness that Katie must be feeling and the fact that she does not want to believe that her only sister could not talk to her properly before embarking on an adventure that ends in terrible events.

Katie not wanting to believe follows Mia's journey but finds things not as they should have been along the way.

Lots of soul searching, looking back at arguments and lots of what ifs fill this novel. Makes you not want to argue before someone goes away and leave things unsaid, as sometimes there is no time to make amends and this comes so much to the surface in this book.

If I am really honest I was not quite sure what the outcome would be, the twists of did she or not are put into place and did have me thinking. Katie's partner does not want her to see the journal (dairy) of those last entries as more things will tell the truth for Katie. I was left wondering if he was doing it to either cover himself or save Katie from any more hurt.

A read I enjoyed in just a couple of days as I wanted to find out the truth and would buy the next book by this author. It was one of those books that if I had picked it up in a bookshop and read the back cover would have bought it at full price.
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions