FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Scold's Bridle has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Scold's Bridle Paperback – 1 Mar 2012

3.9 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£1.13 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£7.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • The Scold's Bridle
  • +
  • The Sculptress
  • +
  • The Ice House
Total price: £24.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Pan (1 Mar. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1447208099
  • ISBN-13: 978-1447208099
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 3 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (23 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 451,004 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Minette Walters is England's bestselling female crime writer. She has won the CWA John Creasey Award for best first crime novel, the Edgar Allan Poe Award for best crime novel published in America and two CWA Gold Daggers for Fiction. Minette Walters lives in Dorset with her husband and two children.

Product Description

Review

"Minette Walters knows the cruel kinkiness that can lurk behind the most sedate of facades."--"Los Angeles Times" "Thoroughly chilling . . . gripping . . . disturbing."--"Orlando Sentinel" "Walters fearlessly flirts with gothic menace and intricacy as she draws all the loose threads together in this full-bodied plot."--"The Washington Post""" "A wonderful, thought-provoking mystery by a brilliant new British writer."--"The San Diego Union-Tribune" "Fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell will respond to Minette Walters's deft touch and psychological suspense and appreciate her ability to depict complex and sympathetic women characters."--"Minneapolis Star-Tribune"

About the Author

Minette Walters is a bestselling crime writer. She has won the CWA John Creasey Award for best first crime novel, the Edgar Allan Poe Award for best crime novel published in America and two CWA Gold Daggers for Fiction. Minette lives in Dorset with her husband.


Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By A Customer on 25 Jan. 2001
Format: Paperback
This book was a marvel, i found myself up till five in the morning. The plot is engrossing and the characters wonderfully thought up and portrayed. All and all what we have come to expect from Ms Walters. How sad and disappointed i was to reach the end. Not just at the fact that it was over, but it was so disappointing, there was no attempt on her part to cover the murderer's identity up in the latter part of the book, nor to convince the read they might be innocent. Add to that the fact that it was so precitable, and there was a much better candidate, who would have been much more satisfying. All in all a joy to read, but a shambolic end.
Comment 12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on 19 April 2000
Format: Paperback
Having read The Sculptress and The Dark Room , I expected better from the usually talented Walters, but The Scold's Bridle is a confused and confusing tale going nowhere. The characters are unbelievably 2-dimensional, difficult to identify with and none of the relationships between them are properly explained, so we are left to guess for ourselves why they behave as they do. Walters barely skims the surface with regards to any detail about Mathilda's childhood (which is necessary to the story) and the details that are given are sketchy, so it is left to the reader to try to fill in the many blanks by themselves. The book goes from one ridiculous scenario to another and is quite unbelievable at times. I managed to keep reading to the end (but only just) in the hope that the details surrounding Mathilda's bizarre death would explain the reason for this very draining story and that more information about her family history would be revealed - along with the reason for her obsession with the Scolds Bridle - but it turned out to be an almost totally unrelated ending which Walters seemed to have plucked from a completely different book! Take my advise - give this one a miss.
3 Comments 6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This was the first book I've read by Minette Walters, and I won't be reading any more.

The story was told almost entirely in dialogue with very few descriptions of the settings in which these conversations took place. How can the reader really get a feel for where they are without descriptions?

There were also hardly any moments of thought or other activity between these conversations. They just went from one conversation to another, like a comedy sketch show.

In fact I did find the structure of the conversations quite comical; they nearly always consisted of only two people; and of the main characters who all knew each other, it would go something like this:

A speaks with B; B speaks with C; B scurries off to speak with D; A speaks with C, etc. until everyone had talked to everyone individually with nothing else going on in between!

But I stuck with it, as it said "Crime Novel of the Year" on the front, but alas (won't be falling for that one again), the ending was like an afterthought. It was as if the author couldn't be bothered finishing the book and had no clue who to have as the murderer. Then months later, she thought she'd make up a totally ridiculous and unbelievable story to try to back up her choice of culprit.

If the settings had been described in any detail, the ending would have made a lot more sense too.

I was furious! It had gone from bad to worse. I guess the people who chose it as "Crime Novel of the Year" must be very easily pleased, or this was the only book they'd read.

I remember seeing a documentary once that said Hitchcock hated whodunnits, as the audience couldn't invest in any of the characters.
Read more ›
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
4.5 stars

This is the first time I have read a book written by British author Minette Walters. I thank my friend Janet for recommending her to me. The Scold’s Bride is a beautifully penned mystery. Ms. Walters writes rich literary prose that is such a joy to find in the mystery genre. Though I have not read Ruth Rendell or P.D. James, I have seen other readers compare Ms. Walters’ style to theirs. This is high praise indeed.

The main plotline deals with whether Mathilda Gillespie, considered by many to be a spiteful arrogant old bitch, was murdered or committed suicide. The story is highly involved and is played out by an intriguing cast of characters. These players, in turn, are also complex and well fleshed out. There are numerous secrets and hidden agendas for the authorities to discover and maneuver around if this case is to be solved. A special treat is the way the author laces the narrative with references to the works of William Shakespeare. There are plenty of surprises along the way, and though the tale moves along nicely, I wouldn’t call it a thriller. I characterize the book as a deliciously dark, but not graphic, mystery.

I thoroughly enjoyed The Scold’s Bridle. If you are looking for a quick airplane read, an action-packed thriller, or some great blood and gore, this is not the book for you. This tale is for mystery aficionados who are looking for something intricate and thought provoking, a novel to savor. I am looking forward to my next book by this very special author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback