Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
Price: 23.60

or
 
   
Trade in Yours
For a 8.50 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 

The Scheme Programming Language, 4th Edition [Paperback]

R. Kent Dybvig
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
Price: 32.95 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, 22 April? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 24.71  
Paperback 32.95  
Trade In this Item for up to 8.50
Trade in The Scheme Programming Language, 4th Edition for an Amazon.co.uk gift card of up to 8.50, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

4 Sep 2009 026251298X 978-0262512985 4th
This fourth edition is not only an introductory text, but also an essential reference for Scheme Programmers.

Frequently Bought Together

The Scheme Programming Language, 4th Edition + The Little Schemer + The Seasoned Schemer
Price For All Three: 73.09

Buy the selected items together
  • The Little Schemer 20.19
  • The Seasoned Schemer 19.95


Product details

  • Paperback: 512 pages
  • Publisher: MIT Press; 4th edition (4 Sep 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 026251298X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0262512985
  • Product Dimensions: 23.1 x 17.6 x 2.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 397,105 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"Kent Dybvig's The Scheme Programming Language is to Scheme what Kernighan and Ritchie's The C Programming Language is to C. Kent's book is the book for either the novice or serious Scheme programmer. Its style, wit, and organization has reached a new high with the publication of the fourth edition."--Daniel P. Friedman, Department of Computer Science, Indiana University "This fourth edition builds on the strengths of the previous editions and provides a comprehensive, no-nonsense introduction to the Scheme programming language in its latest form. The combination of solidity and finesse displayed in this book makes it a reference text for educated computer scientists. The accompanying software, Petite Chez Scheme, makes it the ideal starting point for any programmer who wants to extend his or her repertoire with Scheme." --Olivier Danvy, Aarhus University, Denmark, co-Editor-in-Chief of Higher-Order and Symbolic Computation -- Olivier Danvy "Eric Raymond once wrote that learning Lisp makes one a better programmer for the rest of one's days. Scheme is the best dialect of Lisp to learn for this purpose, and Kent Dybvig's book provides a comprehensive and beautiful introduction to learning Scheme and becoming a better programmer." Olivier Danvy , Aarhus University, Denmark, co-Editor-in-Chief of Higher-Order and Symbolic Computation

About the Author

R Kent Dybvig is Professor of computer Science at Indiana University and principal developer of Chez Scheme.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index
Search inside this book:


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars K&R for Scheme 29 Feb 2008
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Dybvig's book is an excellent but terse tutorial and reference on Scheme.

Writtem in the tradition of Kernighan and Ritchie 'The C Programming Language' it provides a complete description of the language in a very short amount of space.

I found this approach in keeping with the Language, scheme is a small and very expressive language.

It sits on my desk next to K&R, Hanson, Stoustroup, Graham, Stevens and Steele.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book 3 Mar 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book just seemed to be pitched at my level. I thought SICP was great but it left me wanting to know more about scheme itself. I'm coming from a background where things like "closure" and "continuation" don't mean anything. And just what *is* a macro? Well I'd puzzled out the first two and read various Lisp articals about macros. But scheme's macros seemed incredibly arcane. Why are there so many (lisp-like, define-syntax, syntax-rules, syntax-case)? And even others that people have invented. So I searched the net and stuumbled on TSPL. Wow. I know you can read this online (so if you want a look you don't have to pay Amazon anything!) but I like technical books in dead-tree form. So I bought it and regretted nothing. syntax-rules make perfect sense! Maybe I'll grok syntax-case in the end! It's also a great R6RS reference.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars R. Kent Dybvig's The Scheme Programming Language 20 Dec 2012
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Here we have one of the standard books in the world of scheme programming, known and recommended in computer science departments around the world. Tough, dry, authoratative; I am about a third of the way through my first reading of it, and I know that I will have another go in a few months' time. And maybe another go after that. For example, chapter three, 'Going Further' ambles steadily through serious recursion then hits us with continuations and CPS. Great fun.

Ernestly recommended if you like scheme, or if you are chasing a CompSci degree.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good exposition 14 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
This is an excellent introduction to Scheme.
Disciplined technical writing, with no redundancy.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a Scheme book 14 Dec 2010
By Hanna S
Format:Paperback
I like reading by actually holding a book. They make it easier for me to jot down what I think or write down keywords to make it easy for me to recall what is where at some points. It is not much difference that online reference in order to understand the language. But it may be more elaborate on notation and naming conventions which is and added advantage. I still need to search online from time to time.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xae9402a0)

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback