Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
28
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2013
Second solo album from the former Corrs Violinist and vocalist, after "Dream of You". this is a more stripped back sound, with Sharon penning all of the songs, helped by Don Mescal and Producer Mitchell Froome. Very good indeed, with Sharons vocal delivery improving markedly over Dream of You and some truly beautiful songs, delivered very well at a concert in PAris I attended recently. Stand out songs for me are Take a Minute, We could be lovers, Raindrops, Wave upon an Ocean and The Runaround. Catchy, melodic Irish Trad fused with Pop and indicative of where The Corrs might have gone had they still been together. First rate effort.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
I am a self declared 'Corr'-aholic and I get each of the solo efforts of any of the siblings. I loved Dream of You way more than anything that Andrea came up with. But this album is something else. Its beautiful.. There is no other word for it.
The lyrics are poetry, not rushed, not uber modern, not trendy, but classy and well worded (and hats off for managing to write lyrics today without the word baby in the whole album) And each song has been arranged in simple yet catchy melodies - not foot tapping record selling numbers - but melodies that give the album a common thread and a mood that is soft romantic and not rushed. Something that takes you with it to sunny Florence or picturesque Spain. Sharon sounds like she always did on her background vocals... Heartfelt and pleasant; without the slight strain that was criticized in her last album. I miss her violin interludes but that's because I know its Sharon, the album or songs don't require anything, they are just perfect as is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
Sharon's second solo album was well worth the wait. Her song-writing has developed further, influenced no doubt by Don Mescal who co-wrote 7 of the tracks with her, and by Mitchell Froom her producer who co-wrote 3 songs (and who also produced or co-produced 4 of The Corrs albums). It is different from her first album not only because it is more "laid back" in style as a whole but because there is no "Traditional" Irish music on it, nor is there much evidence of Sharon's violin playing. Instead we are treated to her playing the piano, indeed two of the tracks are simply Sharon singing whilst accompanying herself on the piano ... and her singing is better than ever. The whole album is a masterpiece of simple production which shows that less can be more more. If you prefer to hear the simple quality of the songs to their production (or over-production as is usually the case these days) you will love this album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
Still not so sure about this album. I think I will have to listen another couple of times before I decide how good it is. My thoughts at present are that it is okay, but that it lacks something. Maybe it is that she does not have the confidence to put everything into it, having been rather overshadowed in the Corrs by her sister;soutstanding performances. I don't knw.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Sharon's second album must count as a success, although I (a Rock fan) would have liked her to retain the trademark violin and occasional Irish folk song (or instrumental).

There are several highlights on this collection, starting with Take A Minute, then followed by the rocky sounds of We Could Be Lovers, Full Circle, and You Say.

A worthy second album, although not (in my opinion) as good as her first offering. A star deducted because of the absence of the sounds that made the first album so good and also for the disc lasting only 38 minutes and six seconds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
A beautifully create album. Gone away is the over-production of current commercial music, superficial instruments and talentless singers.
The Same Sun is the second album by Sharon Corr and, perhaps is missing the violin element from her first, Dream Of You [Bar Edge Of Nowhere and We Could Be Lovers] yet does not make the album any less of a masterpiece.
An album great for a Sunday morning after a night out, an early morning stroll waling the dog in the countryside or even listening to whilst creating a artistic masterpiece.
From A HardCorrFan, 10/10. Less Corrs influence, but Sharon shows her solo artist side, which is amazingly talented.
ALBUM OF 2014!

Recommended if to listeners of or similar to Passenger, Leona Lewis, Ed Sheeran & Ellie Goulding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
Bought this after hearing her interviewed on local radio and hearing her perform one of the tracks 'live'. I liked the Corrs so I though I'd give it a go. As sometimes happens, the track I'd heard was one of the best on the album, the rest not quite hitting the spot. It may grow on me but initially, I'm slightly disappointed even though it's beautifully recorded and makes a good Hi-Fi demo album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
The most beautiful album; such meaningful, touching lyrics accompanied by amazing vocals!! Beautifully produced. A few stand out songs- Take a Minute- Carpentersesque magic!! Christmas Night- anyone can relate to this song, brings a tear to the eye. Full Circle- what an amazing song, and amazing live! Every song on the song is a gem! Sharon is so talented, and this album is a testament to her talent. Can't wait for the next album/tour!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Sharon's second studio album. A very refreshing album - well penned - Sharon has certainly done a superb job on this album with great lyrics and great melody. Highly Recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Excellent. She and her sister Andrea should form a group with other siblings. The Corrs would be a good name!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)