Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars28
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2010
i am normally a lonely planet girl , but having compared with other travellers, the rough guide is much more informative and more accurate. dont hesitate, buy this one - it tells you about great hidden away places that LP does not even mention.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2010
Great book giving lots of facts and local information to help make your holiday less stressful, eg tips about tipping, safety on the roads (if driving), as well as recommended hotels, places of interests, what to look out for etc.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
A great guide that covers the country excellently. I usually compare Lonely Planet and Rough Guide before buying and LP tends to win, however in the case of Sri Lanka its total non contest, LP wins repeatedly. However this bucks the trend. Very informative in all the right areas, I didn't find it long winded as others have stated and found that a town's section could easily be read over breakfast on the train etc. The author has also displays something seldom seen in travel guides the ability to discuss the annoying traits of a country.

Someone else states below
"It lists 25 top things to do - Would you believe it, play cricket is Number 2!"

Absolutely, cricket is a massive part of the Sri Lankan culture and to understand them you need to understand crickets place there in. Also to go to a ground and watch/join in with the festival that goes on in the stands even if you don't understand what's going on in the middle or loathe it, is something only the most cold hearted person would fail to enjoy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2010
Good, practical book. Author can seem quite negative at times though. I suppose it's not such a bad thing. I would have preferred more info about the history and culture they have in Sri Lanka (as with Lonely Planet). But still, a worthy guide book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
i travel 4-5 per year and at the beginning was using Lonely Planet but then by accident i got the RG and i couldn't believe how different guide books can be. LP lacks plenty of info and mainly suggest places which probably paid to get to LP review as they're never special. on the other hand RG present the touristy view with an edge (really local restaurants, interesting areas of city which LP would not mention, etc.)
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2011
You really get to grips with a place with a Rough Guide, and this one's no exception. There always seems to be a "grumpy" undercurrent though, and I'll be interested to find out if I feel as "ripped off" by the prices to forigners as the author seems to suggest. I'll know more when we've been , of course, but it's a good, informative read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
We bought 4 guide books to Sri Lanka: the Rough Guide, the Lonely Planet, the Insight Guide and the Bradt Guide.

Of these, the Rough Guide was easily the most comprehensive. By the end of our trip it was virtually the only one we used. The Lonely Planet had far less information and covered fewer places; eventually we stopped referring to it. The Bradt Guide had the occasional useful part, but otherwise was patchy and very out of date. It was also quite bizarre in places, for example including information on tipping a steward at a cocktail party. The Insight Guide was useful when planning the trip, because its colour photos give a good first impression of what the country is like.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
For a warts and all guide this book certainly doesn't hang back but as cutting as some of its barbs are it also dishes out praise a plenty. I am certainly looking forward to my trip even more after reading the Rough Guide and will definately purchase other books in the series before travelling again.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
The weather was not good for our trip to Sri Lanka in February 2011 but, as usual we found our Rough Guide invaluable. It did draw attention to the fact that the Sri Lankan government over charges foreign visitors to their National Parks. However we found them quoting 500 rupees for Dehiwala Zoo when the price is now 2,000 rupees - a fourfold increase. Other prices quoted in the guide were often understated though not to that extent.
A visit to the Ruk Diya Eco Stop descrbed as excellent by the guide was dissapointing. We paid them 2000 rupees for a trip around the bird sanctuary - but were then asked for 500 rupees for the tuk tuk driver - who actually did the work. The 2000 rupees appreared to be simply an introduction fee - a bit steep to put it mildly. The accomodation was indifferent too, for eco read ramshackle.
Despite these inaccuracies though the guide is comprehensive and readable.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
Although updated in 2009 the information in the guide was still fairly relevant to 2012. We were on a coach tour so we were able to look up information about where we were heading for, before we got there, which was useful. We didn't need to use the accommodation guide as that was already prebooked but the tourist sites, terrain of the country, customs, what souvenirs would be useful to buy, etc. were all really to know about beforehand.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)