FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Requiem Shark has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Requiem Shark Paperback – 6 Jul 2000

4.5 out of 5 stars 18 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£9.99
£4.41 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£9.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 7 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • The Requiem Shark
  • +
  • Long John Silver
Total price: £19.98
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Abacus; New Ed edition (6 July 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0349111839
  • ISBN-13: 978-0349111834
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.4 x 19.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 108,287 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

Remarkable ... a vivid and authentic picture of life at sea that is second to none. What Griffin does not know about pirates is not worth a ship's biscuit ... there is more than enough action and adventure, blood and guts, disease and death, love and cruelty, acts of loyalty and deeds of deceit to keep all but the most squeamish turning the pages (DAILY MAIL)

Griffin records in prose of studied ease that is utterly his own. The narrative is almost flawless (Ross Leckie, author of HANNIBAL)

Fascinating research... A wonderfully original blend of pastiche and the raciest action writing you'll find anywhere. (Julian Rathbone, author LAST ENGLISH KING)

A gory and glorious tale of piracy..The writing is assured, and the use of journals enhances the plot and characters. Nicholas Griffin has taken an old-fashioned subject and breathed into it modernity and considerable wit. (SPECTATOR)

Battles, storms and doomed young love will appeal to fans of Robert Louis Stevenson and Errol Flynn ... faultlessly rendered (INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY)

A marvellously exciting and breathless book ... has taken an old-fashioned subject and breathed into it modernity and considerable wit (SPECTATOR)

This rousing debut set aboard an eighteenth century pirate ship tells a skilfully crafted hypnotic tale abounding in mayhem and murder ... Concluding his yarn with a clever triple twist, Griffin proves himself an unusually fine chronicler of high-seas adventure (PUBLISHERS WEEKLY)

Exciting and occasionally gruesome debut swashbuckler that replaces Hollywood conventions of swordplay and melodramatic revenge with brutally frank historical realism ... Plenty of action and horrific thrills, without a salty cliche in sight. A splendid debut (KIRKUS REVIEW)

Inspired ... there are moments of humour offset by vivid descriptions of lust, drunkenness, disease and deceit ... an authentic account of early eighteenth-century piracy (HISTORICAL NOVELS REVIEW)

Book Description

* An original, authentic novel about 18th century piracy.

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
First Sentence
Williams refolded his journal and pushed it deep within his coat pocket. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By A Customer on 10 Mar. 2001
Format: Paperback
So much historical fiction is dry, or overly serious which just makes it seem so distant and unapproachable. Griffin, on the other hand, has written a real world into existence, filled with the ups and downs that created routines,even odd routines, like those on board ships in the Eighteenth Century. What I'm trying to say is that this isn't just a bloody depiction of the depths of piracy and slavery, but it can be howlingly funny as well - constant displays of nonchalance during the extremity of experience that rang very real and reminded me of War memoirs from across the ages. This book also has one of those rare satisfying endings that concludes without contriving a thing.
Comment 17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on 1 Sept. 2000
Format: Paperback
This is, in many ways, a brutal and bloody book, an extraordinary depiction of life at sea in the eighteenth century that takes the world of Patrick O'Brian and shows what would have happened if the ideals of honour and duty were replaced by greed and anarchy. This fine evocation of pirate life on the seas between West Africa and the Caribbean is saved from being stomach churning by a fine and wry sense of humour that seems to keep even the most savage of characters humane. It evokes a wince or two, some scenes bordering on the shocking, but the story is always engrossing and any book that can twist and squirm at its conclusion and still thoroughly satisfy, deserves to be read and reread.
Comment 14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on 14 Aug. 2000
Format: Paperback
Bartholomew Roberts,in his time the most feared (and most successful) Pirate Captain, and his crew chase a dream : the "Juliette", a ship of untold and magical riches. In its pursuit, they encounter lesser prey, wild and uncharted coasts and islands,scurvey and other hardships,spending their ill- gotten gains on women and rum . One day their ship will come and they will live happily ever after...History Buffs know how Bart Roberts and his men end. Griffin succeeds in painting a realistic picture of life aboard a 18th Century pirate ship and is especially skillful in imagining how the everyday casual brutality of life affects the minds of those on board. If you liked Barry Unsworth's "Sacred Hunger", you will enjoy this book.
Comment 8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Best find of 1999 - The bloody legacy of Black Bart, as told by first time writer Nicholas Griffin, is an exotic and imaginative composite of fact and fiction. Blood and ink are the thread that tie pirate Bartholomew Roberts and his scribe William Williams together on their quest for the 'Juliette'; the pirate captain's El Dorado. While the crew encounter disease, treachery, starvation on the still waters of the Sargasso sea, and violent confrontations at sea, they remain united in their tireless pursuit of Black Bart's Juliette. But what are Black Bart's real motives? How is it that one man is able to capture an astonishing (unparalled in history) four hundred ships in less than four years? Unlike most writers of the genre, Nicholas Griffin sets his horizons beyond the requisite battle scenes (his research is astonishing, recalls Patrick O'brien at his best), and uncovers the workings of a brilliant pirate mind, mainly through the arrogant presumptions and machinations of his scribe - a 'pressed' fiddler who holds himself on a pedestal above his master's crimes. The ending is the most satisfying I have read in years, especially helped by the inclusion of a meddling Welsh 'noddy' aptly named Phineas Bunch, who I read in one review is the author's ancestor. No doubt, this is where he gets his incorrigible dark humour and twisted genius from. Other noteworthy and Dickensian characters include Innocent, a spiritually misguided yet peculiarly enlightened ex-slave; Catrin, a sweet Welsh whore who stirs Williams heart; Dr.Scudamore, who rarely 'intends to heal a man' as he does 'ease anguish. Rub oil on burns. Meet the eyes of the dying. Close the eyes of the dead.'; and the filthy, backstabbing, Harry Glasby, who proves that charity is wasted on the righteous. Overall, my favorite book of the last three years.
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on 21 Nov. 2005
Format: Paperback
I read this book on holiday in France during the summer and was transfixed. It's imagery transported me to another place in time and I could see, quite vividly, what it would have been like to have lived and fought on a pirate ship. The twist was great; I just didn't see it coming.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves imaginative and well researched historical novels. Great stuff.
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Battles, storms and doomed young love, Barbados, Brazil and Biafra, slaves whores and pirate princes - these are the elements of The Requiem Shark. This enthralling debut by the unheralded Nicholas Griffin - clearly a major new talent - recreates the fabled 1719-1722 cruise of Bartholomew Roberts, greatest and bloodiest of corsairs from piracy's golden age. I read this book in one long sitting, and when I stood up the room seemed to sway as though I had just lit ashore from a long sea voyage. And what a voyage! Lovers of the sea will smell the brine afresh from the very first page, historians will close their eyes and feel the old parchments crumbling, and the faint of heart will wish they had never embarked. Cutlass in hand, Nicholas Griffin has slashed his way into the very front rank of historical novelists. How long must we wait for his next work?
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback