Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Replacements: All Over But the Shouting: an Oral History Paperback – 1 Nov 2009

3 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£4.51 £17.12
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Voyageur Press Inc (1 Nov. 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0760334943
  • ISBN-13: 978-0760334942
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 2.1 x 22.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 969,286 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Alt. legends gets the oral treatment. In the tradition of Legs McNeil and Gillian Mccain's Please Kill Me, Jim Walshutilises direct quotes to trace The Replacments frenetic journey from the suburbs to the brink of fame before falling into spectacular dissaray. The enduring infulence of the four=piece proto-po-punks - perhaps equally renowned for their boozy boorishness - is reflected in the diverse cast of interviewees ( Billie Joe Armstrong, Peter Buck, Rosanne Cash). The only dissenting voices here belong to the band themselves, who rail fiercly against their rich legacy - perhas unsurprisingly considering their self -destructive history. Minneapolis journalist Jim walsh offers an insider's view that will delight fans and intrigue the casual listener. Eight out of Ten Stars! --Classic Rock Magazine

It s a sad situation when the benchmark for all things eighties American independent rock is Michael Azerrad s Our Band Could Be Your Life. The Replacements were blessed with a chapter in Our Band, but thankfully Minneapolis journalist Jim Walsh a guy who was actually there to experience the Mats heyday and subsequent downfall has culled together arguably the definitive Replacements collection, a biography he calls All Over But the Shouting. Designed to follow the oral history blueprint established in Please Kill Me and Form the Velvets to the Voivods, Shouting pieces together reminisces from all the Mats, as well as from major players including Peter Jesperson, Lori Barbero, members of Hüsker Dü and Soul Asylum, and Craig Finn. Walsh traces the awkward beginnings of the band coming together, offering up rad memories from the Mats parents and siblings, the recounting of their legendary live shows and drunken escapades, memories of Bob Stinson s incredible guitar work, his antics and the drug abuse that ultimately, tragically brought him down, and the supreme dick, flannel-clad loser, and all around great songwriter Paul Westerberg during their intoxicated, substance-abused reign, where he seemingly was speaking for all of us losers-in-love in worn Chuck Taylors. The book is not without its shortcomings, however, although they are few and far between. Westerberg refused to be interviewed, so his quotes are extracted from previously published articles over the years, giving a somewhat disjointed makeup. No Matter. It s still fantastic to read about the much underreported Tim, Pleased to Meet Me, and Don t Tell a Soul years, and the mostly rare photos are a blast. What a f***ing great band, and a great book to boot. --Skyscraper magazine

This is the rollicking story of the notorious and celebrated band, the Replacements, as told by veteran music journalist Jim Walsh, and eye witness who was always at the periphery of the storm and often in its eye. A band in three acts: from its founding through its ascension from the club scene to the national indie circuit and a major label deal in 1985 to its slow and painfull implosion....journalist Jim Walsh tells the story of the band that began in a basement and was eventually celebrated by the Village Voice and Rolling Stone. Walsh follows The Replacements remarkable rise ( seven LP's, a spot on Saturday Night Live, a Grammy nomination) touring with REM and Tom Petty through to their equally thunderous downfall --Uncut --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.


Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Worth reading if you're a Mats fan. Gives you a good sense of the scene they sprang from and fills in a lot of background. In the end, though, it's a collection of anecdotes and reminiscences, albeit well-marshalled and organised, and reads like that. What it does do very well is to capture that feeling that you will know if you are a Replacements devotee: just how is it possible for a band to be this good, this meaningful - and still be unknown to the vast majority of people who claim to love rock music?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
The Replacements were one of the all time great rock bands, and there's a great story to be told about them, unfortunately that story is still waiting to be told, because this book certainly does'nt tell it. Walsh misses every opportunity to tell to properly tell the Mat's story. There's no current interviews with any of the surviving members of the band, just reconstituted quotes from old interviews from the 80's and early 90's. However, there's plenty of quotes from local fans, all of whom are eager to empasise that they were fans from the old days, and very close friends of the band!. Walsh also loves to show how friendly he was with the band members, yet he seems unable to use this friendship to give any real insight into the band or it's members.
All in all, this is badly written and badly researched and badly put together - don't waste any money on this rubbish, because hopefully a decent book about this wonderful band will appear someday
Comment 6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
It's beautiful, not the so-ordinary biography I would read anyway, but around 150 people's recollections, 6 or 7 sentences each time, so coming from all sorts of standpoints, rather than an author's stripped down few to make a certain point. It's a book for dipping and being transported by information, memory and emotion. These are sound-bites BEFORE they were downgraded to the cynical thing they are normally today. The format would seem like the author has just put together the best bits of interviews and done nothing with them. THANK YOU, AUTHOR! The book is a joy as a result, recollections coming from all over the place, rather than a "he did this and they did that and then.." biography. By not boiling down/processing all these interviews, this book is sparklingly fresh.
Comment 2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Feedback