Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop now Learn More Shop now Cloud Drive Photos DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars200
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2006
Firstly, I am not at all religious, and though I am not fully aware of the changes made to the original story, I can't say it differed much from the story I remember being taught as a child. In my mind, this film does it exactly as it sets out to do, entertain whilst delivering one of the most well-known and influential biblical stories of all time.

The animation is top notch, a mixture of both CGI and hand-drawn, whilst the characters all have a beautifully chiselled design I have come to know and love from Dreamworks animation. The voice actors all do a top-notch job and I can say there is not one song in this film that I don't adore! All the songs and music just fit perfectly.

I first saw this film when I was about ten years old, a year or so after it came out and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Now, as an older teen, I still do and can see no reason why other children or adults wouldn't. Perhaps younger children under the age of eight might find the graphical interpretation of the plagues distressing but as a ten year old I certainly didn't and doubt I would have had I been even younger.

Perhaps what I find most attractive about this film is the fact that although it depicts a religious story, it in no way screams for the watcher to either believe or disbelieve the story it portrays, instead it merely points them to the book of Exodus if they want to read it for themselves.

Whatever your beliefs this is a fantastic film all round.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2000
'The Prince of Egypt' mixes historical, biblical and Hollywood-style outlooks towards the story of the life of Moses. Not everything is true to the bibllical account, and although changes may seem unnecessary, they fit in comfortably with the story. Spectacular visual effects, such as the parting of the Red Sea glue you to the screen, fitting in with the original music such as "Deliver us" and "When you believe". The journey from Egypt will leave you moved - each person in the huge crowd of people seems individual and real. Christians and non-Christians alike will enjoy this film, despite the DreamWorks alterations. The star-studded cast of voices includes Michelle Pfeiffer, Helen Mirren, Val Kilmer and Ralph Fiennes, some of these also singing. I really enjoyed this film, with the powerful, if abrupt, ending proving that you're never too old for Disney-style animation.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2001
The Prince of Egypt is the most moving and inspirational movies i have ever seen. The animation is brilliant even to todays standards as it is nearly four years old. The story is an adaptation of the story of Moses and the miracles God works through him. I really feel that this is a film to show the whole family. The special effects are amazing especially 'the red sea' scene. DreamWorks have really captured the story well and have done a good job of filling in the little bits that arn't explained fully in the Bible. I would definately reccomend The Prince Of Egypt to anyone because it is undoubedly one of the best Animated films ever made. Dreamworks, in my opinion are right up there with Disney and this movie is a must buy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
I am a teacher and I bought this to watch with a Yr3 class (7-8 year olds)to support some RE work on the story of Moses. Whilst it was entertaining viewing, it seemed not to tally with the bible story we had studied. One such example was that we had learned that although Moses was brought up by an Egyptian princess, he had always known he was an Israelite; in the film he is horrified when he finds out as an adult that he is an Israelite. Another is that the bible story stated that the Pharoah's daughter was particularly keen to keep Moses as she wanted children, but had none of her own; in the film, as she carries the baby Moses into the house, there is a toddler tugging at her robe calling her mother. I'm not sure which is the most accurate, perhaps some children's bibles contain slightly different versions of events. None the less it was a relaxing afternoon's viewing with enough humour to keep the children engaged.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2006
It may not be Charlton Heston playing Moses, but this is still an EPIC!! In fact, it's a good deal better than 'the Ten Commandments'
For those who don't know the Bible story, the Hebrews have lived in Egypt for nearly 400 years. The current Pharaoh, fearing their alarming birthrate began oppressing them. Now the Israelites are slaves in a foreign land. But God has not forgotten them. That's where Moses comes in, sent to try and deliver his people out of Egypt and take them to the Promised Land as God commands him.
The story is brilliantly told and we see how Moses, raised as a Prince of Egypt, must learn of his past and later face it to meet with the task put to him. The character animation appears flatly drawn, but it works well and the acting is fully believable. Other special effects are positively mind-blowing, in particular, the Burning Bush, the Angel of Death and the Red Sea.
Hans Zimmers' score really adds something to the movie. Some of his compositions are very moving. One of the really high points is the joyful Hebrew chorus during the Exodus. (That part was actually sung in Hebrew)
So, to conclude, this is a terrific movie and a credit to the Exodus story.
P.S. About the question of the Plague on the First Born of Egypt. God did indeed bring that plague, but it was not an easy decision. Remember, Moses earnestly warned Rameses that something worse was coming - he would not listen, and so there was no other choice but to go through with it.
Besides, you must consider that the previous Egyptian Pharaoh ordered the death of EVERY newborn Israelite boy, so in a sense it was blood for blood.
44 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2006
I bought this DVD because my class started watching it in music to analyse the effectivness of the music and i was curious to see the whole film. I wasn't disappointed - the animation is amazing, so good that you dont think it's animated at times, the story line was fantastic and much praise should go to the fabulous voice overs - their feeling made the film what it was. The music in the film was very moving making the many moods of the film my personal favourites were Deliver Us, and When You Believe... buy this movie you wont be disappointed!!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
DreamWorks The Prince of Egypt is just a spectacular film in so many ways.

The film is an adaptation of the Moses story found in the Bible book of Exodus but as the disclaimer at the beginning of the film notes artistic license has been taken with some aspects of the story.

The film includes an impressive all star cast with Val Kilmer as Moses and the voice of God, Ralph Fiennes as Ramesses, Michelle Pfeiffer as Tzipporah, Sandra Bullock as Miriam, Jeff Golblum as Aaron and other actors involved include Patrick Stewart, Helen Mirren, Steve Martin, Martin Short and Danny Glover.

The score of The Prince of Egypt is by composer Hans Zimmer (Gladiator, Inception) and the musical number's are impressive such as 'Deliver Us' and 'Playing with the Big Boys'.

The film nod's a respectful wink to the 1956 film The Ten Commandments in many places but at 99 Minutes long is far easier to digest.

The artwork particularly the background is just beautiful and the way Ancient Egyptian art has been incorporated into the animation is just stunning.

The special effects animation is impressive the particular scenes I found this to be case were the Ten Plagues and the parting of the Red Sea.

For a non Disney film this really does impress, the film I'm sure would appeal to children and adults alike.

Also if you are put off by the religious nature of story don't let that put you off as the story is fantastic and isn't preachy or on other hand blasphemous.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2000
An unlikely but inspired choice for an animated feature. While the animation and direction do not in themselves break new ground, this film is best viewed as an Old Testament epic which just happens to be a cartoon. It makes happily few concessions to the under-twelve crowd (e.g. the chariot race) and remains faithful - literally - to the source. As you'd hope in a high budget animated feature, the voice casting is good.
For me, the best moment is the very final scene - which puts on screen quotes from the Old Testament, New Testament, and the Koran, driving home the message that this is a story for all faiths.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
I'm no "Dot Cotton" but, Moses is my favourite Bible Story. This magical film tells the story of Moses who, as a baby, Moses real mother seeing that other baby's are being taken away from there mother's, saves Moses by putting him in a basket and then places him in The Nile.
That's where Moses tale begins.
I won't spoil the rest of this fantastic story especially, if you have not seen this film before.
I will say however the voice acting is top notch as is the story. I immediately loved watching this film as it explains everything with what is going on with Moses and Rameses.
The music score again, is fantastic to listen to. The song's "Deliver Us" and "When You Believe" are beautifully sung, in fact every song is great to listen to.
I really felt Moses plight right from the start of his journey. This film is always watched in my home as this story really did happen many, many, many, years ago.
If you have never seen this film before then please do, as you will not be disappointed by this magnificent story.
I give this fab film 10/10 as it is one of the greatest stories ever told.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2000
'The Prince of Egypt' is simply a great film for everyone. For children, their is the strong religious aspect and having something visual to relate to instead of something out of a text book. For adults, it has strong symbolism and songs that are enjoyable, and have proper words that are true to their meaning. The all star cast was worth it - all actors pull the voices off perfectly. They include Steve Martin, Ralph Finnes, Michelle Phifer, Geoff Goldblum, amoung many others
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.