The Prairie and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

Start reading The Prairie on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Prairie [Paperback]

James Fenimore Cooper
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
Price: 6.97 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, 22 April? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 0.00  
Hardcover 18.95  
Paperback 6.95  
Paperback, 27 Aug 2013 6.97 Trade-In Store
Did you know you can use your mobile to trade in your unwanted books for an Gift Card to spend on the things you want? Visit the Books Trade-In Store for more details or check out the Trade-In Amazon Mobile App Guidelines on how to trade in using a smartphone. Learn more.

Book Description

27 Aug 2013
The classic book The Prairie by James Fenimore Cooper. Originally published in 1827, The Prairie is part of the famous Leatherstocking Tales series. Enjoy The Prairie by James Fenimore Cooper today!

Frequently Bought Together

The Prairie + The Pioneers (Classics) + The Pathfinder: Or, the Inland Sea (Classics)
Price For All Three: 25.01

Some of these items are dispatched sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Paperback: 254 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (27 Aug 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 1492263605
  • ISBN-13: 978-1492263609
  • Product Dimensions: 25.2 x 17.6 x 2.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,932,358 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

About the Author

James Fenimore Cooper was born in 1789 in New Jersey, the son of a wealthy land agent who founded Cooperstown in New York State. Cooper attended Yale, but was expelled in 1805 and spent five years at sea on merchant then naval ships. He married in 1811, and eventually settled in New York. Precaution, Cooper's first novel, was written in 1820 as a study of English manners; its successors, The Spy and The Pilot, written within the next three years, were more characteristic of the vein of military or seagoing romance that was to become typical of him. In 1823 he began the Leatherstocking Tales series of novels, centred on a shared Native American character at different periods of his life, for which he is chiefly remembered. Cooper's reputation as one of America's leading authors was quickly established, and spread to Europe by a long stay there from 1826, making him one of the first American writers popular beyond that country. After his return to America in 1832, however, conservative political essays and novels dramatising similar views, as well as critiques of American society and abuses of democracy, led to a decline in his popularity. James Fenimore Cooper died in 1851. --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
2 star
1 star
3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars The last of the Long Rifle 24 Jan 2014
By BobH
`The Prairie' by James Fenimore Cooper (1827) is a fine book but perhaps not quite to contemporary taste. Fenimore Cooper has been styled `America's counterpart to Sir Walter Scott' and with good reason. Their style reflects that common in the early 19th century - long sentences, complex paragraphs and an extended vocabulary - and which is now most often seen in some winners of prestigious literary awards. Their subject matter concerns the past, romanticised and with an abundance of resourceful heroes, wilting heroines and treacherous villains against a backdrop of history not quite as it really was. In effect, their novels became the morality tales of historical fiction, a species largely absent in the modern form of the genre. In one major aspect they differ: Scott is famous for SOME of the Waverley novels (e.g. `Ivanhoe', `Quentin Durward' and `Rob Roy') which vary greatly in period, location and subject matter: in contrast Fenimore Cooper is remembered for five books, `The Leatherstocking Tales' linked by a single hero, Nat Bumpo, aka Deerslayer/Hawkeye/The Pathfinder/Leatherstocking/the trapper among other aliases, who ages as he passes through that series: - `The Deerslayer'(1841), `The Pathfinder'(1840), `The Last of the Mohicans'(1826), `The Pioneers'(1823) and `The Prairie'(1827). Note the books were written out of chronological order.
One aspect of the main character which persists is the defender of natural environment and a reluctant disturber of God's creation. In `The Prairie' as an octogenarian he remarks, `....This is man's wish, and pride, and waste, and sinfulness. He tames the beasts of the field, to feed his idle wants, and having robbed the brutes of their natural food, he teaches them to strip the `arth and its trees, to quiet their hunger.' (P.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category