Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
19
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2011
I started reading The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond by Bill Hybels initially over Christmas but didn't really get on with it. I think I needed more space and time, and ironically God was maybe going to use it to whisper in my ear.

The book challenges the reader to think about the attitudes and characteristics needed to hear from God, and most specifically to hear when God whispers in our ear. He shares, as always, a number of stories and scripture passages that outline how we hear God's whisper in our mind, through scripture and through others. In chapter four he very helpfully outlines a number of ways in which we can know that we're hearing from God:

1. Ask is this message from God?
2. Is it Scriptural?
3. Is it Wise?
4. Is it in tune with your own character?
5. What do the people you most trust think about it?

The reason I wonder if God was using this book to whisper to me was a small paragraph at the top of page 199:

When you heart gets layered over by protectiveness because of the tough ministry hits you've taken through the years you become less sensitive to the hearts of others. I think this dynamic deserves your honest reflection.

Something I'm reflecting on at the moment, what has ministry normalised in my heart?
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
There's nothing more invaluable in Spiritual life than listening to the voice of God.

This is a really good book to read and understand how God speaks to us. However, the only But I have, is that there's not an amazing amount about HOW to hear God's whispers, just a lot saying that it's really important that you do! In some ways then, it might not be the right book for someone wondering why God seems silent at times, but if you're on the way out of that valley it might be exactly what you need to read right now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2011
This is an inspirational book filled with examples of how God has touched the lives of his people worldwide. How they have been prompted to follow his guidance and advance his kingdom. Bill Hybels writes in an easily readable style full of real life stories, backed up by scripture. The book challenges us as Christians to draw closer to God, to listen for his whispers and to obey. Full of inspiation and challenges to the reader. I will recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2010
Absolutely loved this book. Bill writes books that inspire, encourage and share personal testimonies. He is a very humble man of God.

I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to gain courage and realise that they hear god a lot more than they think. xxxxxxxxx
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
A very beneficial guide to recognising God's voice: Bill Hybels has included lots of scripture as well as real-life examples to support his explanation of how God speaks today. I looked forward to my evening reading sessions - if I'd had the time, would have easily read this in a couple of sittings. I fully intend to make some notes on the book and review these - and I have already acted in response to God's 'whispers' on a number of occasions. So it's a book that has an impact!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
Bill Hybels is at his best in this book "Power of a Whisper". It is very easy to read and manages to be challenging at the same time. I couldn't put it down and bought another one as a Christmas present.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Our small group is following the DVD, so I thought I'd read the book. Bill Hybels has written very honestly and helpfully about his own experiences, and challenges us to follow in small steps. I expected to enjoy the book (good topic) but enjoyed it even more than I expected, as did my friends whom I lent it to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
This is a wonderful book. Full of examples from Bill's life, and many others, when he has clearly heard God's Whisper and what he has done about it. He presents a filter checklist for making sure you are actually hearing God's word which is extremely helpful. Thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
"The Power Of A Whisper" - Bill Hybel always is good. In this book the reader is told to "have the guts to respond". We are taught that God's Whispers are there if we listen. After reading this book I feel one must take more time to listen and maybe less time in talking ! This book is bound to help anyone who wants to clome closer to the Lord.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
Read and understand how God has spoken into human life in the past, now, and the future. It's changed my relationship with God
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse