Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Pharaohs [Hardcover]

Joyce Tyldesley
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.

‹  Return to Product Overview

Table of Contents

Prologue: Finding the Pharaohs. The First Pharaohs: A Tale of Two Lands (the Valley and the Delta, c.5300-3050 BC); The Horus Kings (Menes and Narmer, c.3050-3000 BC); The Evidence from Abydos (Egypt's first royal cemetery, c.3000-2686 BC). Pharaohs and Pyramids: Stairways to the Stars (the step pyramids, c. 2686-2613 BC); The Great Builders (Snefru and his family, c.2613-2494 BC); The Children of Re (from Userkaf to Unas, c.2494-2345 BC); Decentralization and Drought (the end of the OId Kingdom, c.2345-2181 BC). Pharaohs Reinvented: Local Rule (the first intermediate period, c.2181-2055 BC); Reunited (the warriors of Thebes, c.2125-1985 BC); Peace and Prosperity (Amenemhat and his descendants, c.1985-1773 BC); Decline (the end of the Middle Kingdom, c.1773-1650 BC); Invasion and Expulsion (the second intermediate period, c.1650-1550 BC). The Fighting Pharaohs: Egypt Restored (the expulsion of the Hyksos, c.1550-1504 BC); Valley of the Kings (housing the royal dead); Developing the Empire (the Tuthmoside kings, c.1504-1427 BC). Pharaohs of the Sun: Sunrise (Amenhotep II and Tuthmosis IV, c.1427-1390 BC); The Dazzling Sun Disk (Amenhotep III, c.1390-1352); High Noon (Amenhotep IV/Akhenaten and the Amarna Period, c.1352-1336 BC); Sunset (the experiment fails, c.1338-1295 BC). The Ramesside Pharaohs: A New Beginning (General Ramesses and his son, c.1295-1279 BC); Master of Propaganda (Ramesses II, c.1279-1213 BC); An Inextricable Decline (from Merenptah to Tawosret, c.1213-1186 BC); Rise and Fall (eight kings named Ramesses, c.1186-1069 BC). Pharaohs and Foreigners: Divided Rule (Tanis and Thebes, c.1069-945 BC); Chaos and Confusion (the Libyan Pharaohs, c.945-715 BC); Brief Stability (the Nubian Pharaohs, c.747-656 BC); A Backwards Glance (the Saite Pharaohs, c.664-525 BC); A Hated Overlord (two Persian invasions, c.525-332 BC). The Final Pharaohs: Salvation (the Macedonian Pharaohs, 332-305 BC); A New Empire (Ptolemy I to Ptolemy III, 304-221 BC); Change (the beginning of the end, 221-51 BC); The Last Pharaohs (the fall of the House of Ptolemy, 51-30 BC). Epilogue (after the Pharaohs). Glossary. Index. Further references.

‹  Return to Product Overview