The Oversight (Oversight Trilogy Book 1) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£11.99
  • RRP: £14.99
  • You Save: £3.00 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Oversight has been added to your Basket
Trade in your item
Get a £0.29
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Oversight Hardcover – 6 May 2014


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£11.99
£1.03 £3.04

Trade In Promotion


Frequently Bought Together

The Oversight + Dragon Shield: 01: Dragon Shield
Price For Both: £17.98

Buy the selected items together


Trade In this Item for up to £0.29
Trade in The Oversight for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.29, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit (6 May 2014)
  • Language: Unknown
  • ISBN-10: 0356502899
  • ISBN-13: 978-0356502892
  • Product Dimensions: 16.2 x 3.7 x 23.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 89,034 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised. This feels like the start of something amazing (M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS)

Told in a kind of compelling and hypnotic poesie that I just lapped up . . . I'll certainly be reading the next one (Cory Doctorow BoingBoing.net)

The Oversight is - and let's be clear here - something very special . . . It's oh so moreish a morsel. I'd read a prequel this evening, a sequel as soon as. (Niall Alexander Tor.com)

A highly entertaining fantasy that promises a trilogy worth sinking your teeth into (SciFiNow)

Fletcher's Victorian London is juicily vivid, and laced with macabre Dickensian wit. There's a real sense of grim danger, both natural and unnatural, hungrily awaiting the slightest mis-step (Frances Hardinge)

Richly atmospheric (the evil lurks in the background of every paragraph), the book should be a big hit with supernatural-fantasy readers ... the second book can't come soon enough (Booklist (starred review))

A richly atmospheric and intensely readable slice of Victoriana, with a splendidly eerie sense of the way the unearthly lies cheek-by-jowl with the mundane (Adam Roberts)

A remarkable combination of British folklore, brisk pacing and wide-ranging imagination (Kirkus Reviews)

Utterly enthralling: Charles Dickens meets Susanna Clarke (Lou Morgan)

Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised. This feels like the start of something amazing (M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS)

Richly atmospheric (the evil lurks in the background of every paragraph), the book should be a big hit with supernatural-fantasy readers ... the second book can't come soon enough. (Booklist (starred review))

The Oversight is - and let's be clear here - something very special . . . It's oh so moreish a morsel. I'd read a prequel this evening, a sequel as soon as. (Niall Alexander Tor.com)

Book Description

Only five still guard the border between the worlds. And when they fall, so do we all. The Oversight is a gothic fantasy that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Philip Pullman and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Its hard to make comparisons with other similar stories. The concept of a London where there is the human side and then the hidden supernatural side isn't new but this book does feel different. And in a good way.

The Oversight, the law (lore) enforcement intermediaries between both worlds are well written well rounded characters and you feel for them as they start to see their world come under attack from their enemies.

There is also a nicely hinted back story that gives things a lot more depth.

Its also has a nice brand in humour that helps with the overall tenseness of the story..you are never quite sure how safe the main characters are , and they certainly don't get things all their own way.

The good news for me is that, within the overall trilogy arc, there is a good self contained element to this first book so some major peieces are resolved by the books end but with some tantalising story thresd still dangling.

Not seen much publicity for this book which is a shame, it deserves more recognition.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Robyn K on 6 May 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
The oversight takes place in a late Victorian, slightly Steampunk version of London. The oversight is a band of free men (and women) who police the supranatural world. A Sluagh- a northern kind of a fae/picts/bogeyman finds his way to town and that is where the adventures start.

Charles Fletcher transports you to a gas lamp lit, shadowy cobblestone London of times-gone-by, that is so vivid, you can almost smell the filthy Thames.

There is so much mystery and intrigue, that halfway through the book we still don’t know who Lucy truly is. All we know she was sold to Sara and can only speak French. Sara says she is a trap; maybe not, but still an enigma certainly.

The oversight is a bizarre tale that I have never read the likes of before. I was reminded of Mike Shevdon’s Sixty-one nails and Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke in feel; but The oversight is a truly unique and quixotic story. This was an exceptional Gothic Low Fantasy book and a must read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
The perfect book for the jaded literary palate as it doesn't neatly fit into a category. The closest I can come to describing it as as a dark gothic fairytale. Yes, I know dark and gothic are generally synonymous but this is particularly dark - the setting of Victorian London (in the main) adds to the feeling of dark, wet and sinister. And whilst it's a fairytale, it's certainly not the saccharine variety - there's brutality, despair, deceit and layer upon layer of secrets.

It starts intriguingly and throws you into a twisted supranatural (as it's described) quite Dickensian world with speed - it took me a little while to catch up and the prose is so rich that it's slightly dizzying emerging from it. And whilst it's hard to warm to any of the main characters initially, it's that sense of duality and imperfection again and you do ultimately see redeeming features in very real, flawed characters.

It's not a neat book and thus it's difficult to encapsulate but it's about what lies beneath the surface of an already dark Victorian underbelly - a group of 'mongrel' people, half supranatual, half human, policing the non-human world, 'The Oversight'. They've dwindled to such a small number that they're a very thin line indeed. Into their headquarters is brought a girl in a sack with her mouth plastered shut. Could she be one of them? Is she a trap for them? If she is, does she know it? And who is she and what is her history? We don't know and nor does she but she's the pivot for the story and catalyst for events that unfold in the book.

I imagine that fans of Jonathan Norrell and Mr Strange would love this but I found The Oversight more gripping, intriguing and pacy then Mssrs N and S. Don't expect neatly tidied away ends here - there are more questions left unanswered by the end of the book than you get resolutions; I cannot imagine where it's going but I look forward to finding out.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
The Oversight came as a little bit of a surprise for me. I read a book to be entertained and this one certainly began with signs of being entertaining. I want to have a book grab my attention from the first page and this one scooped up my attention and wouldn't let go. Maybe it's because I have recently read several novels in the fantasy genre which were ultimately disappointing for me so I had set myself up to be disappointed again. Once I combined the entertainment factor plus the attention grabbing and then added to it a story which I found myself genuinely interested in that it made me feel surprised at how much I was enjoying reading this book. And that enjoyment just went right on to the ending. Thank goodness there are two more books to follow this one!

Charlie Fletcher has presented 1840's Victorian London in such a rich tapestry of color I was surprised to realize that most of the descriptions of actual color are somber black, gray, dark tones which paint the landscape and the "supranatural" characters. Yet there is Sara Falk, leader of the remaining Hand of the Oversight, a five member group charged with regulating the interactions between humans and that unseen world of those wielding evil magic. Sara is anything but a dark character. Lucy Harker may not know exactly who she is because of the holes in her memory, but she definitely can't be described as dark. And then there is Mr. Sharp, what a lovely character is Mr. Sharp. So the darkness is a result of the superb writing ability which Mr. Fletcher has to immerse the reader in a world where such things as bones from different creatures can be brought together with a bit of spit and a few drops of blood to re-animate and do the bidding of a Shadowganger, one of the Sluagh.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback