Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2010
A thoroughly researched and candid approach to a fundamental question of society: "Are we equally responsible for the consequences of our in-action, as we are for those of our actions?"

This book recollects acts of great personal sacrifice in a time when it was all too easy to focus on ones own self-preservation. Through her thought provoking analysis Agnes Grunwald-Spier uncovers the stories of individuals who were willing to take the moral stance in the face of persecution and thereby earning the great honour bestowed upon them as "Righteous Among Nations"

The power of this book however lies in the author's ability to turn the question on the reader, asking us to reflect upon our own actions within our lives. I am sure that we would all like to think that have the courage to help our neighbours in times of need, but it is all too obvious that this is often not the case.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
It is difficult to read this book and not be awed by the compassion and courage of the rescuers and the strength and fortitude of those who were persecuted during the Nazi era. Agnes Grunwald-Spier is to be commended for the meticulous research and measured writing which has gone into 'The Other Schindlers'
This book is ultimately a reminder of the enduring goodness of some brave individuals amidst the unimaginable horrors of fascism in Europe and the Holocaust.
Read this book, then talk about the issues and the moral questions it raises.
The world is still very much a place that requires us to remember.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
I read this whilst on holiday in Bavaria - the very place where some of the atrocities took place that Agnes describes in her facinating book! Like most people I was aware of the Schindler story and saw the film, but was heartened to find that Oscar Schindler was not the only one who helped jewish people to escape or avoid death. This book should be in every school library as a reminder of the horrors that humans are capable of, and as food for thought to pupils studying wars and trying to understand human motives in extreme conditions. The holocaust will never be forgotton whilst such research is published to remind us of this shameful episode in Europe's history.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Oskar Schindler remains one of my all-time heroes. A man with many flaws, when faced with a choice and despite the risk, he took the courageous decision to help his fellow man. Ms Grunwald-Spier's superb book gives a voice to others who for a number of reasons undertook similar risks to help Jews during the Holocaust. For me these stories illustrate that we all have the potential, even if it is on the one occasion, to display courage and compassion and that gives me hope for the human race.

The book illustrates examples of outright bravery, quiet disobedience of a hideous regime or profiting from hiding Jews which highlight the breadth of reasons why the Nazis were resisted. While we can gasp at some of the motives, the outcome of any of these acts enabled Jews to be saved which ultimately meant undermining of the Nazi plans. It brings me comfort that despite the horror of our worst period of history, there was a small but significant contingent sticking their two fingers up at the regime.

I cannot recommend The Other Schindlers highly enough - it's required reading for the heart and soul.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2010
The story of Oscar Schindler is well-known, through both Thomas Keneally's book and Steven Spielberg's film. This book, by turns inspiring, disturbing and infinitely moving, tells of the many other non-Jews in countries throughout occupied Europe and beyond who effectively saved thousands of Jews from extermination in the gas chambers of the Nazis' infamous concentration camps. It is a story of the triumph of human goodness in the face of an evil so monstrous that it resonates even to this day. The author deserves great praise for having meticulously researched her subject and produced a narrative that is never less than compelling. That she herself, as a baby in Budapest, was saved from the horrors of Auschwitz by an unknown official makes her book all the more moving.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2010
Agnes Grunwald-Spier has written a most interesting book about some very brave people who chose to save Jews in the holocaust. It is extremely well researched over a number of years and tells some remarkable and moving stories. In particular the conclusions the author reaches as to why some helped and why many remained bystanders is a stimulating and profound debate that is worth reading in its own right.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
It is remarkable to think that ordinary people caught up in extraordinary circumstances can, on the spur of the moment, make decisions that save the lives of thousands. Grunwald-Spier has brought these remarkable true stories to life in a way that feels both deeply personal and current. We are left asking ourselves if we, in those circumstances would have had the courage to do the right thing. This wonderful book reminds us that despite the atrocities committed in wartime, and often at terrible personal risk, there are a great many good and courageous people who will stand up and try and do the right thing, and it leaves us with the requisite desire to be one of those people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
I bought this book for my daughter, who had already read schindlers list. She has said that it is a brilliant book that really makes you appreciate what other people, previously know known about, really did to help the suffering of jews during the war. A must read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2012
The book is academically written and is a wonderfull book, something the world has been waiting for! I was thinking the book should be read by all school children to tell them about the evils of anti-semitism and how people saved strangers! Particularly poignant that the anti-semitism was Catholic based and now it is Muslim based!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
What a beautifully researched book that shows there were such good and brave people who risked their lives to save fellow human beings being murdered for their religion.
Ms Grunwald -Spier has gone to enormous trouble to try to define the motives which enabled these righteous people to take such risks and makes one look into oneself to wonder if one would be found wanting given such perilous circumstances.
How they deserve to be remembered and this book shows that a good deed is never forgotten .
It should be compulsory reading for all students of WW2 history to show both the terror of individuals caught in the horror the holocaust and the phenomenal bravery of the few.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)