Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 December 2011
If you've enjoyed a book so much, you buy the sequel; and then find the sequel even better, why be all arty and pseudo-intellectual about it, and mess about with four stars, when what you really want to do is give it five?

It's difficult to say too much without giving out spoilers, so I won't go down that route; merely to say both books are real page-turners, and surprisingly easy to get into for such a tome with so many players, as you're introduced to them in chunks, chapter by chapter.

If you like the genre, or if you think you might, I can only thoroughly recommend these books; my only question is, why oh why do the States have access to book 3 on Kindle, but the UK doesn't - a fact confirmed by the author himself, who is always delighted to hear from readers via his blog site/email.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
The opposition seem to get tougher as the book goes on. It does sometimes seem like an RPG in that way - the opponents powers escalate to met the increased powers of the main characters. Even so, some good character development kept me interested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2011
This carries on from the excellent "Acacia", and inserts some slightly darker themes. The moral ambiquity which grew in that first novel is redolent here, with the Queen becoming both self-absorbed and self-delusional, as the world shifts. There are surprise here also, in terms of how the novel's wordl is portrayed and the various factions. I think one of the geniuses of both books is Durham's very fine balancing between that moral uncertainty, and the underlying decency of some of the characters as they seek an end to, and revenge for, the child abduction and abuse trade which lies at the base of the lands economy. Thoughtful, exciting, imaginative and ecomplex. Recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
Some of the characterization is too simple but the twists and turns of the plot are both enjoyable and unpredictable. Will enjoy the third in the series in due course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
Previously borrowed from library, but I am going to want to re-read it so ended up buying it. Lovely to find a new author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
Flips everything you thought you learnt from the first book upside down, brilliant book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
Bought this book for my husband, he was able to put the book down. he says it was an excellent book. He loves the storyline and the way it is written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.