Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now
  • RRP: £44.99
  • You Save: £4.50 (10%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
The Organ Music of J. S. ... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by amm_books
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Unread. There is some minor wear to the cover. Expedited delivery available. In stock ready to dispatch from the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Organ Music of J. S. Bach Paperback – 11 Dec 2003

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
£34.64 £33.51
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
£40.49 FREE Delivery in the UK. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

  • The Organ Music of J. S. Bach
  • +
  • The Organ Music of J. S. Bach: Volume 3, A Background: A Background v. 3 (Cambridge Studies in Music)
Total price: £68.48
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Paperback: 638 pages
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press; 2 edition (11 Dec. 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0521891159
  • ISBN-13: 978-0521891158
  • Product Dimensions: 17.4 x 3.3 x 24.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 733,262 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • See Complete Table of Contents

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description


On the first edition: '… obligatory for anyone concerned with the core of the organ repertory … Dr Williams's writing has a rare vigour and confidence; its sheer authority makes for compelling reading.' Stanley Sadie, Gramophone

'… is, without doubt, the most important text on the master's organ music.' Classical Music

' … there is no denying the stimulating nature of the content … you will find much to stimulate, provoke, invigorate … that is good scholarship.' Early Music Today

'The original publication was always stimulating to consult and highly thought-provoking, and it is pleasing that the author has retained this engaging - and sometimes quite challenging - approach. A remarkable achievement.' The Consort

Book Description

The first two volumes of Peter Williams's classic study of Bach's organ works have been fully revised, taking account of Bach scholarship of the 25 years prior to publication. This one-volume 2003 edition provides a piece-by-piece commentary on this ever-popular repertoire, showing what its unique qualities are, and how we might hear and play it today.

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
First Sentence
This is a transcription of the last forty-five bars of the final chorus of Cantata 131 (1707), whose opening and closing movements are, unusually, a prelude and fugue, the latter a permutation fugue of three subjects (Example 1). Read the first page
Explore More
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By Robert Fielding on 28 Sept. 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
as advertised
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 3 reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Great Scholarship 6 July 2013
By Edward Greene - Published on
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is an exhaustive and comprehensive account of Bach's organ music -- all of it, every single piece that can be accounted for. Peter Williams begins with BWV 525, the organ sonata in E-flat major and the first piece in the order of the Bach Werke Verzeichnis and goes through every piece in numerical order. It's really a reference book, so don't try to slog through it from cover to cover. It's easy to look up a specific item if you know the BWV number. If you don't, prepare yourself for a long search, because there is no index of individual titles. There are helpful introductions to different types of pieces, group by group -- the trio sonatas, preludes and fugues, concertos, chorale settings, etc. The discussion of each individual piece begins with its manuscript and publication history. (Surprisingly little of Bach's organ music exists in autograph -- some of the pieces have come down to us only as copies of copies.) Then comes a description of the piece's musical content, with copious illustrations and examples. These are especially helpful in quoting all the chorale tunes which Bach used.

The first copy which came in the mail was seriously defective: the binding was split and pages were coming loose. But as soon as I let Amazon know, they promptly sent a replacement which was in perfect condition. I'm a happy customer.
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Everything you need to know about Bach's Organ Music 6 Sept. 2007
By M. Cesare - Published on
Format: Paperback
This book is fundamental for every organist! Very clear and full of relevant and difficult to find information about Bach sources. A must buy.
Five Stars 29 July 2015
By Emi - Published on
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
If you are an organ student or a professional organist you should read this book
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know