Buy Used
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Some visible wear, and minimal interior marks. Unbeatable customer service, and we usually ship the same or next day. Over one million satisfied customers!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Ocean World of Jacques Cousteau: Invisible Messages Hardcover – 1973

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover, 1973

Product details

  • Hardcover: 144 pages
  • Publisher: World Pub; 1st Edition edition (1973)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0529050749
  • ISBN-13: 978-0529050748
  • Product Dimensions: 27.6 x 21.8 x 1.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,126,683 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Ned Middleton HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWER on 15 Jan. 2013
Format: Hardcover
Over time, several people have mentioned their confusion over the many different books which appear to have the same name of `The Ocean World of Jacques Cousteau' and, because no other person appears to have submitted a review for any of these excellent books, I offer this explanation which I hope is helpful.

In 1972/3 Jacques Cousteau produced a book of 20 volumes under the overall title `The Ocean World of Jacques Cousteau' with each volume covering a different aspect of the sea. Over time, different publishers reproduced this series of books in their own matching style. That is to say, the content remained the same but the covers varied - with some editions being clearly numbered 1-20. In 1978, Volume 21 was added and this was a complete exposé of his famous research ship `Calypso' (currently being restored in France!). Finding a matching set of the first 20 volumes is difficult enough and a matching set of all 21 is almost impossible.

That said, full matching sets of either 20 or 21 books are occasionally offered for sale but they are soon snapped up. My own 21 volumes were purchased here and there and do not match at all. Nevertheless, I would much rather own a complete unmatched set than not have these books readily to hand because they are full of information which is as relevant today as it ever was.

The volumes are: 1. Oasis in Space, 2. The Act of Life, 3. Quest for Food, 4. Window in the Sea, 5. The Art of Motion, 6, Attack and Defence, 7. Invisible Messages, 8. Instinct and Intelligence, 9. Pharaohs of the Sea, 10. Mammals in the Sea, 11. Provinces of the Sea, 12. Man Re-Enters Sea, 13. A Sea of Legends, 14. Adventure of Life, 15. Outer and Inner Space, 16. The Whitecaps, 17. Riches of the Sea, 18. Challenges of the Sea, 19. The Sea in Danger, 20.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category