Start reading The Noble Lie (An Ethan Stone Thriller) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

The Noble Lie (An Ethan Stone Thriller) [Kindle Edition]

Tom Aston
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Books Summer Sale
Kindle Summer Sale: Books from 99p
Browse over 600 titles from best-selling authors, including Neil Gaiman, John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer, Veronica Roth and Sylvia Day. >Shop now

Book Description

The Noble Lie: An Ethan Stone Thriller

“The Noble Lie is a conspiracy so big, Stone, that it’s all around us. It runs our lives. It ran our parents' lives. It's all around us. A Lie so big, no one can see it.”

To those who discover its existence, The Noble Lie means death. When English hacker David Morpath stumbles upon The Lie, he knows his days are numbered. Face to face with his killer, he sends his last mysterious message to ex-soldier turned peace activist, Ethan Stone, a man he barely knows. Within hours, Stone finds himself framed for murder and forced to find the answers for himself.

Why has Morpath has chosen to reveal his secrets to him? Can he really trust Lys, the attractive French Agent who saved his life? Who is the mysterious Espada who can tell him about The Noble Lie? And what else was it that Morpath discovered - the appalling weapon that has lain hidden since the days of the Cold War, and is now about to be unleashed?

Stone is a cool, enigmatic loner, a peace campaigner who has tried to bury his violent past in Special Forces. Now Stone is forced to rediscover his former self, and face up to the demons of his violent past.

This story of mystery, violence and betrayal twists through France, the Alps and Afghanistan, coming to its nailbiting climax in New York City.

Praise for Tom Aston:

“The Machine” is the best thriller I have read this year, and the first 5 star review I have given this year for a fiction book. Bob, Amazon top 50 reviewer.

“I came away feeling educated and that's rare in an airport thriller novel.”– Iain Grant, Idle Hands writers’ blog.

"I can highly-recommend this book to readers who enjoy Jo Nesbo, Lee Child, Tom Clancy and Thomas Harris." - Simon Fairbanks

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 535 KB
  • Print Length: 341 pages
  • Publisher: Pigeon Park Press (1 July 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00DQR9L6S
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #481,075 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Tom Aston grew up near Manchester, England and went on to study Far Eastern Languages at university. His career has taken him to London and Chicago and he has spent time living in both China and Japan. He has worked in many roles in the book business, including as editor, publisher's rep and as a bookseller with his own store for twelve years. Now he has discovered the joys of writing and storytelling, his one regret is that he did not start learning his craft as a writer earlier in life.
Aston's latest novel, "The Machine", is the second featuring radical peace activist and campaigner, Ethan Stone. It is a page-turning thriller, packed with extraordinary characters, intrigue and stunning ideas. Aston's aim is to set new standards for the thriller genre with his quality of writing and his subtle themes. Aston has drawn on his knowledge of modern China to paint the unforgettable scenes in "The Machine".
His translation from the Classical Chinese of Du Fu's "The Ballad of Lovely Women", undertaken in research for The Machine, can be seen on the TomAstonBooks web site.
The first Ethan Stone novel, "The Lie", is also due out from Pigeon Park Press later in 2012.
Tom Aston lives in Birmingham, England with his wife and three children.

www.TomAstonBooks.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rolling Stone 18 Oct. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
They say a rolling stone gathers no moss. Well, the Ethan Stone franchise certainly honours this old proverb because Tom Aston's sequel is leaner and meaner than its predecessor.

Aston understands the formula for a good thriller: a deliciously-complex plot, plenty of action, a quick pace, a host of ambiguous characters and twist upon twist.

What's more, unlike many thriller writers, Aston has a superb grasp of language. The dialogue is crisp and the sense of place is vivid. He describes characters and settings in short, sharp bursts of poetic language, for instance: "The showers of freezing rain drifted down under the street lights of the old suspension bridge like thin grey curtains gusting in and out of a broken window." This provides powerful imagery but doesn't overstay its welcome. The novel is a thriller, after all.

As a sequel, the expectation is for an increase in scope and Aston delivers on this front. The plot, arguably the defining tool of any thriller, is extremely intricate with numerous sub-plots occurring all over the world. This global element signifies another increase in scale. Whilst its predecessor, The Machine, was set predominantly in China, the sequel zips along at a dizzying pace between France, Canada, Switzerland, Afghanistan and New York. And the sequel delves a little deeper into Stone's back-story, touching upon his military exploits in Macedonia. Hopefully there will be more back-story in the next instalment.

Aston, like fellow thriller writer Jo Nesbo, is full of fresh ideas. Notable highlights include the explosive opening in which a suicide bomber charges through Strasbourg Christmas Market, a brutal wrestle between two women in a hotel room and an eye-watering interrogation scene involving a scalpel.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars  1 review
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rolling Stone 18 Oct. 2013
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
They say a rolling stone gathers no moss. Well, the Ethan Stone franchise certainly honours this old proverb because Tom Aston's sequel is leaner and meaner than its predecessor.

Aston understands the formula for a good thriller: a deliciously-complex plot, plenty of action, a quick pace, a host of ambiguous characters and twist upon twist.

What's more, unlike many thriller writers, Aston has a superb grasp of language. The dialogue is crisp and the sense of place is vivid. He describes characters and settings in short, sharp bursts of poetic language, for instance: "The showers of freezing rain drifted down under the street lights of the old suspension bridge like thin grey curtains gusting in and out of a broken window." This provides powerful imagery but doesn't overstay its welcome. The novel is a thriller, after all.

As a sequel, the expectation is for an increase in scope and Aston delivers on this front. The plot, arguably the defining tool of any thriller, is extremely intricate with numerous sub-plots occurring all over the world. This global element signifies another increase in scale. Whilst its predecessor, The Machine, was set predominantly in China, the sequel zips along at a dizzying pace between France, Canada, Switzerland, Afghanistan and New York. And the sequel delves a little deeper into Stone's back-story, touching upon his military exploits in Macedonia. Hopefully there will be more back-story in the next instalment.

Aston, like fellow thriller writer Jo Nesbo, is full of fresh ideas. Notable highlights include the explosive opening in which a suicide bomber charges through Strasbourg Christmas Market, a brutal wrestle between two women in a hotel room and an eye-watering interrogation scene involving a scalpel.

Finally, Aston should be commended on his research. His knowledge is vast, ranging from countries and weapons to languages and historical conflict. It is an impressive feature of his work and ensures his stories feel grounded in the real world.

Based on The Noble Lie, it is reasonably to expect Ethan Stone to have a literary career as long as Jack Reacher. And that's the truth.
Was this review helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category