The Night Sky in my Head and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £6.99
  • You Save: £1.00 (14%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Night Sky in My Head has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Night Sky in My Head Paperback – 5 Jul 2012


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.99
£1.50 £0.01
£5.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Night Sky in My Head + Socks Are Not Enough + The Private Blog of Joe Cowley
Price For All Three: £17.22

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: OUP Oxford (5 July 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0192733192
  • ISBN-13: 978-0192733191
  • Product Dimensions: 22.7 x 2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 404,113 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Sarah Hammond was born and grew up in Lincolnshire. As a toddler, she wore out her copy of Beatrix Potter's The Tale of Peter Rabbit through enthusiastic overuse and she is just as passionate about books now as she was then.

For almost a decade, Sarah worked as a solicitor in the City. However, following a lifelong dream to write children's fiction, Sarah recently completed a masters degree in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University.

The Night Sky in my Head is her debut teen novel, published by Oxford University Press.

Mine! is her debut picture book, published by Parragon Books Ltd.

Find out more about Sarah at http://www.sarahhammond.co.uk

Product Description

Review

'The plot is gripping from the outset and maintains tension to the end. This is a terrific début novel.' (Marilyn Brocklehurst, Children's Booksellers Choice, Bookseller)

'It's a compassionate story, gripping as well as worthy.' (Evening Standard)

Book Description

Step backwards. Witness the murder. Find the truth

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 9 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By ML Jensen on 10 July 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
The Night Sky in my Head is a thoughtfully-developed tale of a boy with special needs. It is also an exciting and engrossing adventure. Mikey's life is divided into two halves; the time when he was still Little Mikey with a dad at home and no scar on his head, and the Mikey he is now; with a broken family, a scar and feeling different to other people.
But Mikey has a gift which he calls the Backwards which enables him to look into the past and see things that have happened in specific places. When he finds the courage to look at these dark and shadowy visions he begins gradually to piece together and come to terms with what happened to him and his family.
The Night Sky in my Head is a teen mystery story and an uplifting story of courage and growing up. It may well appeal particularly to readers who enjoyed Siobhan Dowd's London Eye Mystery and Mark Haddon's The Incident of the Dog in the Night Time. It keeps you turning the pages throughout to find out what is hidden in Mikey's past and how he will use that to resolve his fears and confusion and find a future for himself.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By SH on 19 Aug. 2012
Format: Paperback
I just finished reading Sarah Hammond's young adult novel The Night Sky in my Head. Her finely tuned prose, as well as the story's intriguing concept, makes for an absorbing read. Through the eyes and special-needs sensibilities of the fourteen-year-old narrator (Mikey), Hammond masterfully juggles the tender with the delightfully scary. She brings us deeply into the emotional rhythm of Mikey as he comes to terms with his father's imprisonment by solving a murder mystery. He also has a unique "gift" (the Backwards) of tapping into the memories of places. It is as if the places themselves have souls . . . and secrets.
Among the book's many strengths is its moment-by-moment heightened imagery. A quick example: "The world swirls. Frost crackles up the bus-shelter glass." All the while, Hammond keeps tabs on what readers must follow in order to fit together dramatic events that are revealed to Mikey in a piecemeal of "present" and "Backwards." In this page-turner of a novel, Mikey must learn the hard way who's a "good un'" and who's a "bad `un."
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Roseanna on 13 Sept. 2012
Format: Paperback
Thrilling, gripping and unusual, this is a great book for ages 12 and up. It is a story of crime, murder and secrets all entwined in a mystical web of the past, present and future.
This unique book is original, moving and enthralling. It tells the tale of Mikey Baxter, a character you will never forget, and the story of his dad's disappearance, told as the mystery unwinds in front of Mikey's eyes.
Shy, damaged and muddled, Mikey Baxter is unlike other fourteen year old boys. He has an extraordinary gift. Mikey can go back in time and view the past and what hides in the shadows.
Now Mikey must use his gift to discover the truth behind the disappearance of his dad before the past starts to repeat itself.
Roseanna Kirby (13)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Kindle Customer on 18 Sept. 2012
Format: Paperback
The Night Sky, is a thoughtful, carefully paced story, that sucks the reader in to the very special world of Mikey. Mikey has suffered an accident that makes him see everything differently from other people - and throughout the book, we are kept guessing as to the reality or not of his visions. Mikey's destiny is to discover the truth, no matter how difficult it is to face, and we live through his highs and lows, his fears and memories until he finds what he is looking for.
A highly complex story, it's told with absorbing clarity - and although I'm an adult, I would expect young people from 12 upwards to find it a gripping read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By S M S on 14 Sept. 2012
Format: Paperback
This book is a really good read for adults as well as teenagers, for whom it is intended. The pace of events is rapid and keeps you needing to know what happens next, but also it gives an extraordiary insight into the confused world of the main character, Mickey, who has sustained a head injury in childhood. This has changed his perception of the world and given him unique flash backs to events that shape his present.
He has insights denied to the uninjured brain and thus he is able to make sense of the present by gradually unravelling the dark secrets of the past. It is a murder mystery with a very original twist, told with great skill and compassion.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback