Start reading The Night She Died on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

The Night She Died [Kindle Edition]

Roger Ormerod
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

Kindle Regular Price: £2.99 What's this?
Kindle Price: £0.99 includes VAT*
You Save: £2.00 (67%)
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

  • Length: 192 pages
  • Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.15  
Kindle Edition, 25 Feb. 2014 £2.99  
Hardcover --  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

Ten years on from closing the case, the name Connie Freeman means very little to Detective Inspector Richard Patton.

But when Connie turns up on his doorstep, the memory comes flooding back.

The memory of a brutal murder, of a woman bludgeoned to death.

The victim, Sylvia Thomas, was the mistress of Connie’s husband, the womaniser Harry Martin.

Connie knew of her husband’s infidelity and so Richard and his team assumed she possessed a motive - and they convicted Connie of murder.

It was a case he would rather forget, but now Connie has returned - and she is determined to prove her innocence.

The straightforward case of a wife seeking revenge on her husband’s mistress begins to unravel and Richard becomes more and more intrigued about what he had got wrong.

Now he is determined to find out the truth about Sylvia and what happened on 'The Night She Died'.

'The Night She Died' is an atmospheric police thriller that is perfect for fans of Peter James and Peter Robinson.

Praise for Roger Ormerod:

"Eclectic, underrated Ormerod can be relied upon to come up with the startling goods" Sunday Times

"I am glad to announce that the detective novel is still alive and well in Mr Ormerod's skillful hands " The Spectator,

"Fast-moving, with well-orchestrated jiggery-pokery; not unlike an early Dick Francis in tone and method” Times Literary Supplement

Roger Ormerod (1920-2005) was a prolific writer of ingenious and densely plotted crime novels - some 35 in all - which were published in the UK and the USA. He lived in Wolverhampton and amongst other things worked as a civil servant and as a Social Security inspector – backgrounds which he made full use of in his fiction, as he did with his hobbies of painting and photography.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 838 KB
  • Print Length: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press (25 Feb. 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00IO24ZVG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #19,764 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced murder mystery 21 Mar. 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
This is a solid take on a classic mistress murder mystery, as part of the Richard and Amelia Patton series. Author Roger Ormerod takes the reader on a fast-moving detective adventure as former Detective Inspector Richard Patton works to solve a murder mystery he thought he had cracked ten years earlier. Many colourful characters make an appearance, and though there aren’t many suspects to choose from, you are kept guessing until the very end.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars The Night She Died 26 Mar. 2014
By Unknown
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The plot is very good but a bit the ending was disappointing. Using that I would read another book by the same author.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok 12 Feb. 2015
By Elaine Tomasso TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I think this book is decidedly old fashioned in its attitudes and plotting for being published in 1997 and I guessed the culprit almost immediately. The best I can say is that it's ok. I have another of the author's books downloaded so I will read it but I wouldn't pay for another one.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 10 Dec. 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
a good read
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.5 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quiet but effectve UK mystery 11 Mar. 2005
By F. J. Harvey - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
This is an entry in the series about former Detective Inspector Richard Patton .Patton worked in the West Midlands (England ) Police and is now retired living with wife Amelia and a family friend , Mary ,-not to mention two boisterous boxer dogs .

He is approached by a woman named Connie Freeman who 10 years previously had been convicted of murdering her husband's mistress after a confrontation in the deceased woman's house .The main clue was a thumprint belonging to Connie that was found on the dead woman's new and expensive watch ,a gift from the philandering husband

Connie insists on her innocence and Patton agrees to dig into the crime .The decision has fatal consequences -the husband in the case , Henry Martin ,is clubbed to death ,as is a possible witness to Martin's murder.

The climax comes at a Bonfire Night party as Patton unmasks the killer in front of the local; police and some interested firemen .

Patton is a solid ,even somewhat stolid ,figure -pipe smking , dependable and calm but with a streak of anger that at one stage sees him contemplating vigilante action on the killer .

The climax is well handled and Ormerod is good with landscape and climate --the original murder was done on a violent rain lashed night and the climax involves a similar set of conditions

There are too few suspects to make guessing the identity of the killer a major problem but this is solid second string material from the late Mr Ormerod who usually satisfied mystery readers and did so agian with this book
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable 3 Nov. 2014
By George L Golden - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I am not much of a reader, but I couldn't put this one down. I am a former investigator and was wondering if I figured it out before or after he did.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category