The New Watch and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £16.99
  • You Save: £2.11 (12%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The New Watch has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The New Watch Hardcover – 2 May 2013


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£14.88
£7.80 £3.70
£14.88 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The New Watch + The Last Watch (Sequel to the "Night watch") + The Twilight Watch: 3/3 (Night watch triology)
Price For All Three: £28.06

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: William Heinemann (2 May 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0434022314
  • ISBN-13: 978-0434022311
  • Product Dimensions: 16.2 x 3.7 x 24 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (51 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 281,475 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"This is slick, clever, assured urban fantasy, told with style, and shot through with wry humour." (Crime Review)

"If you’ve been following Russkie Lukyanenko’s excellent parallel universe series you’ll have rushed out and bought this book already… the Watch books are deeper and meatier than most of their kind." (4 star review, Weekend Sport)

Book Description

The fifth instalment of the phenomenal Night Watch series; vampire novels set in a richly realised post-Soviet Moscow. Reminiscent of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials in its ambitions and achievement, the series has sold for huge advances all over Europe.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful By Matthiasman on 2 May 2013
Format: Hardcover
The Night Watch series has been described as Russia's answer to Harry Potter. Personally, I've never thought this was a particularly flattering comparison - it's much bigger and better.
After the original trilogy of books, (Night Watch, Day Watch, Twilight Watch) Sergei Lukyanenko declared the series complete. He had told the story he wanted to tell, and he was happy with it. A few years later, he realised just how many loose ends were left, and expanded into a quadrilogy with The Last Watch. And later still, he figured there might just be another story to tell, and we ended up with The New Watch, released in the UK today (02/05/13) after six months of translation.
Fans will be happy to hear that Sergei hasn't strayed from his "three story" method of writing. Each book contains three stories, the first two loosely connected, and the third being a climax of the two, where plot strands are connected. Its one of the strongest writing styles I've ever seen, because it always leaves you wanting more, tantalisingly close to working things out, but never certain of your theory.
Set some five years after The Last Watch, The New Watch continues the story of Anton Gorodetsky the accidental higher magician, his daughter Nadya the new Messiah, and Gaeser, the scheming puppeteer, and expands on the world of The Others. After discovering a Prophet (a rare type of other), Anton is flung into peril when he discovers that Prophets are hunted and killed by a physical manifestation of The Twilight before their major prophecy is revealed. Rivalries must be put aside, and new alliances formed, in order to protect the young Other from an unstoppable force.
I'm not going to lie - I didn't think a fifth book was necessary.
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By I. Nilsson on 3 Jun. 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
The fifth novel in this series was a delight to read. All the favourite characters are there - Gorodetsky, Gesar, Olga etc. It was also fun to meet Arina again. The plot was quite intricate and interesting. Once again the twilight is threatened, and this time by Gorodetsky's own daughter. On the minus side, Lukyanenko is in this novel often prone to some rather longwinded philosophical discussions about the nature of the twilight and other topics along the same vein.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By I Readalot TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 9 May 2013
Format: Hardcover
Fans of Lukyanenko's `Watch' series will need little encouragement to read `The New Watch', it was on my reading list as soon as I heard it was being published. Once again Lukyanenko takes us into his version of our world but this time takes the reader deeper into an understanding of the Twilight.

The story starts with Anton noticing a young boy at the airport, he screams, terrified about getting on the plane with his mother. From there we learn about prophets and the mysterious entity known as `the tiger'. I like the fact that in this series it is all about the Light and the Dark Others keeping a balance in the world, the distinction between good and evil is blurred.

There is plenty of humour and popular references include Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings and House. Anton has forgone his mini-disc player for an MP3 although the mini-disc is not forgotten entirely and has its part to play. The story involves a hunt to learn prophecies and we travel to London and Tawain.

I believe this is the last of the `Watch' novels and the ending does have a note of finality. Overall it is a compelling and imaginative urban fantasy well written and translated. Perfect for fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files novels.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Ranald C. on 1 Jan. 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I bought this like so many other books, on the strength of the earlier volumes in the series. For some reason, this one fell flat and well short of what I was expecting. DId I have expectations that were too high? Possibly, but then the characters of the Night Watch series have been engaging and engrossing in the same way as the classic Saturday matinee adventures. If you have not read the earlier volumes, it might both be satisfactory and confusing as it draws on the back story and history of the characters built up to this volume, much like the Game of Thrones series of novels (and most other series for that matter). If you're a fan of Lukanenko's work, then it is worth adding to the collection since there is one more supposedly in the works.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By E. A Solinas HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWER on 11 Jan. 2015
Format: Paperback
In the world of the Night Watch series, there are many kinds of supernatural power. But it turns out that some Others are more rare and dangerous than others.

And in the fifth urban fantasy by Sergei Lukyanenko, Anton is confronted by the realities of prophecy and precognition... which may turn out to be more trouble than they're worth. Those who have read the other Watch novels know what to expect: "New Watch" has the same robust, implacable magic and complex world as the preceding novels, as well as weary sorcerer Anton Gorodetsky.

While drinking at an airport, Anton spies a little boy screaming at his mother that a plane is going to crash -- and since the boy is a high-level uninitiated Other, he suspects the kid is actually a Prophet. Think a clairvoyant, but much more powerful. But as the Night Watch approaches the boy (whose name is Kesha), they find that a powerful Twilight creature known as the Tiger is coming for Kesha, and anyone who hears his first prophetic words.

Understandably, Geser is kind of worried by this. So he sends Anton on an international trip to learn more about past prophets and attacks by the Tiger. But Anton isn't prepared for the next prophecy to come down the pipeline -- it's one about his daughter Nadya, who is an Absolute Other. She has the ability to destroy the Tiger... but it would also destroy the entire Twilight and all magic.

While it's separated into three separate sub-stories, "New Watch" is a pretty cohesive book -- the three stories are entwined together by the Tiger and the unheard prophecies. In fact, this book is less about the eternal conflict between Dark and Light, Night and Day... and more about a spooky boogeyman who likes to kill Prophets if anyone hears what they say.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback