Start reading The New Watch on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The New Watch
 
 

The New Watch [Kindle Edition]

Sergei Lukyanenko
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £8.99
Kindle Price: £3.95 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.04 (56%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.95  
Hardcover £14.88  
Paperback £8.99  
MP3 CD, Audiobook £9.28  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Review

"If you've been following Russkie Lukyanenko's excellent parallel universe series you'll have rushed out and bought this book already. the Watch books are deeper and meatier than most of their kind." 4 star review, Weekend Sport

Book Description

The fifth instalment of the phenomenal Night Watch series; vampire novels set in a richly realised post-Soviet Moscow. Reminiscent of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials in its ambitions and achievement, the series has sold for huge advances all over Europe.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 958 KB
  • Print Length: 420 pages
  • Publisher: Cornerstone Digital (2 May 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00BMQDM2O
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #23,212 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy sequel, but probably not a finale. 2 May 2013
Format:Hardcover
The Night Watch series has been described as Russia's answer to Harry Potter. Personally, I've never thought this was a particularly flattering comparison - it's much bigger and better.
After the original trilogy of books, (Night Watch, Day Watch, Twilight Watch) Sergei Lukyanenko declared the series complete. He had told the story he wanted to tell, and he was happy with it. A few years later, he realised just how many loose ends were left, and expanded into a quadrilogy with The Last Watch. And later still, he figured there might just be another story to tell, and we ended up with The New Watch, released in the UK today (02/05/13) after six months of translation.
Fans will be happy to hear that Sergei hasn't strayed from his "three story" method of writing. Each book contains three stories, the first two loosely connected, and the third being a climax of the two, where plot strands are connected. Its one of the strongest writing styles I've ever seen, because it always leaves you wanting more, tantalisingly close to working things out, but never certain of your theory.
Set some five years after The Last Watch, The New Watch continues the story of Anton Gorodetsky the accidental higher magician, his daughter Nadya the new Messiah, and Gaeser, the scheming puppeteer, and expands on the world of The Others. After discovering a Prophet (a rare type of other), Anton is flung into peril when he discovers that Prophets are hunted and killed by a physical manifestation of The Twilight before their major prophecy is revealed. Rivalries must be put aside, and new alliances formed, in order to protect the young Other from an unstoppable force.
I'm not going to lie - I didn't think a fifth book was necessary.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
The fifth novel in this series was a delight to read. All the favourite characters are there - Gorodetsky, Gesar, Olga etc. It was also fun to meet Arina again. The plot was quite intricate and interesting. Once again the twilight is threatened, and this time by Gorodetsky's own daughter. On the minus side, Lukyanenko is in this novel often prone to some rather longwinded philosophical discussions about the nature of the twilight and other topics along the same vein.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and imaginative urban fantasy 9 May 2013
By I Readalot TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Hardcover
Fans of Lukyanenko's `Watch' series will need little encouragement to read `The New Watch', it was on my reading list as soon as I heard it was being published. Once again Lukyanenko takes us into his version of our world but this time takes the reader deeper into an understanding of the Twilight.

The story starts with Anton noticing a young boy at the airport, he screams, terrified about getting on the plane with his mother. From there we learn about prophets and the mysterious entity known as `the tiger'. I like the fact that in this series it is all about the Light and the Dark Others keeping a balance in the world, the distinction between good and evil is blurred.

There is plenty of humour and popular references include Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings and House. Anton has forgone his mini-disc player for an MP3 although the mini-disc is not forgotten entirely and has its part to play. The story involves a hunt to learn prophecies and we travel to London and Tawain.

I believe this is the last of the `Watch' novels and the ending does have a note of finality. Overall it is a compelling and imaginative urban fantasy well written and translated. Perfect for fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files novels.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great 1 Jan 2014
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I bought this like so many other books, on the strength of the earlier volumes in the series. For some reason, this one fell flat and well short of what I was expecting. DId I have expectations that were too high? Possibly, but then the characters of the Night Watch series have been engaging and engrossing in the same way as the classic Saturday matinee adventures. If you have not read the earlier volumes, it might both be satisfactory and confusing as it draws on the back story and history of the characters built up to this volume, much like the Game of Thrones series of novels (and most other series for that matter). If you're a fan of Lukanenko's work, then it is worth adding to the collection since there is one more supposedly in the works.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series. 25 Jun 2013
By Alfie
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I'm addicted to the night watch series so not reading this wasn't really an option. Had to get it and am loving it so far. I would advise reading the other books first if you haven't already.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Watch 10 April 2014
By Ak
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
All of the books in this series are simply fantastic. I was having withdrawal symptoms from reading Game of Thrones and Stephen Kings Dark Tower Series. I wasn't sure I would enjoy what I thought was a horror genre. How wrong was I? Firstly, the books are not a horror genre. They are beautifully translated and keep you captured throughout. I love the way Sergei Lukyanenko tells three little stories to solve a bigger mystery.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worthy addition to the series 12 Mar 2014
By kman
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It took me a while before buying this book as I had convinced myself the story had nowhere else to go. I was very happy I did as this genuinely feels like the author felt there was more to say and not just a little money spinner. It is a worthy addition to the series. Fans of the previous books will not be disappointed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not bad by my ad God add the first two.
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
excellent
Published 2 months ago by zubzub
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
It was great but it was too short.
Published 2 months ago by bodacia
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Lukyanenko as always amazing :D
Published 2 months ago by Hannka
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, I have the full set
Great reading, I have the full set. However you should read them in order to fully understand story line as later books refer back to things that have happens in the past.
Published 4 months ago by splatt
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Fine addition to the series, I was surprised that the author thought of more ideas to write about, very good.
Published 4 months ago by sharon moussaieff
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition to the Night Watch series!
Brilliant original story, mixing classic fantasy with modern times and Russian culture.
Another great addition to the Night Watch series! Read more
Published 4 months ago by Mr. James C. Harris
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Very good value
Published 5 months ago by Lisa
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
All his books are firm favourites of mine, just hoping he writes another. Sometimes sequels can be poor in relation to the first book however I feel that he has grown as a writer... Read more
Published 6 months ago by Kristina
4.0 out of 5 stars The New Watch is a good book to read
I have read all of the watches, this book is good could of done with more action but I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Published 6 months ago by Miss N.L. Raymond
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category