Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2008
David Meerman Scott asserts that the Internet has transformed marketing and public relations forever, and he's undoubtedly got a point; however, his argument is extremely light on facts and figures (the text contains hardly any numbers at all), and heavy on case studies. Based on Scott's blog, the book is anecdotal, chatty, easy to read and occasionally repetitive. Scott is an evangelist for using the Web in new ways, and his ideas are useful and practical. getAbstract recommends this book to experienced marketers who are unfamiliar with or skeptical of new media and techniques; younger readers may find it superficial or obvious.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2008
There are some real gems and lots of good, solid, practical insights in this book. And I have to admit after some initial scepticism, this book is the first to provide me with real insight into how the Web, and blogging more specifically, can be used to aid PR and marketing strategies.

This said, I found Scott less good with the underpinning theory; he has a tendency to make a few too many assumptions and is a bit too loose with the generalisations. This isn't necessarily a bad thing in itself, as it can make the writing `pacy' and accessible. However, I would certainly take issue with the way he defines marketing. It's a pretty one-eyed view, and to make matters worse its advertising he focuses on in the list he draws up detailing its shortcomings. At the best of times resorting to `man of straw' arguments is dubious rhetoric, and initially this made me doubt the book's `authenticity' or thought leadership, as Scott would perhaps call it.

I would also argue that `interruption advertising' still has its place both of itself and when integrated into Web-based strategies. The creative variations of Cadbury's `Gorilla' advertisement on YouTube offer an intriguing insight to what can be achieved.

The issue I have with Scott's book is, that to begin, he is so concerned to argue the old marketing and PR rules are dead, that he dilutes the message about how the old and the new might be better integrated to deliver more effective communications, at whatever level of access. But by the end of the book, his more measured, thoughtful and practical approach had turned me around.

For me, Scott sums up his book in the following statement. The new publishing model on the Web is about. . . delivering content when and where it is needed and, in the process, branding you or your organization as a leader. When you understand your audience, those people who will become your buyers, you can craft an editorial and content strategy just for them. . . . In order to implement a successful strategy, think like a publisher.

Two final comments: understanding your audience is classic, `old marketing'. Secondly, thinking like a publisher is not exactly easy, but it's what conventional PR attempts to achieve when crafting messages for its audiences. So, let's be careful not throw out the baby with the bath water.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2008
If I get one good idea from each book I read, I'm quite happy.

This book truly has some good ideas like an analysis of the most over-used and under-meaningful phrases in PR. But apart from a handful of nice-to-knows this book is really disappointing. Too many pages for too few need-to-knows.

This book is probably good for newbies to online (and social) media (i.e. they who don't know what a blog is), but I certainly cannot recommend it for "advanced users".

For the former it's a nice kickstart, for the latter it's merely an overview of what you already know and hence a waste of precious time.
11 comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2009
Hi,

I bought this book because of the good comments it got and I liked the title as well. I thought, it will tell me something new... something revolutionary: 'The NEW rules..".
Well, let me tell you something, you already know those things that Mr David Meerman Scott is talking about.

Now, if you are really interested what he is talking about in the book, then I can share it with you (for free), so you will become the proud owner of that knowledge:

-Blogs are good for your business because they attract visitors! So if you have a website, create a blog and start blogging about interesting things that are related to your business.-

That's it. The book is about blogs and some case studies. He repeats himself hundreds of times which makes the reading experience even worse.

I do not recommend this book to anyone.

Dan
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
This book is divided into three main sections, entitled:

`How the Web has changed the rules of Marketing & PR'
`Web-Based Communications to Reach Buyers Directly'
`Action Plan for Harnessing the Power of the New Rules'

There are easily understandable descriptions of the different media covered (thankfully just the main ones) and guidelines on how to use them (this is by far the longest section). I wasn't disappointed by this book and was pleased to learn some new techniques to include in my own marketing campaigns.

While the author is keen to point out that online methods shouldn't replace the existing offline marketing & PR efforts, there is a definite bias towards the new; and a veiled warning that traditional media needs to look to its laurels and keep up.

What makes this book so valuable is that the comprehensive content can be applied to such a wide variety of organisations - from corporation to solo consultancy, non-profit, church, school - the list is all-encompassing.

There are plenty of case studies to demonstrate the major points, including some of the author's personal experiences.

I have been using many of the techniques covered to promote my business for some time, and was pleased to find that this book still provided new ideas for me to try, as well as explaining others which had been a bit unclear beforehand!

The total novice might find the comprehensive contents overwhelming, but should still be able to follow the step-by-step action plan to extend their online presence. By keeping each chapter short, the author ensures there is time to absorb one concept before moving on to the next.

Because of the incredibly fast-moving nature of the internet, elements of this publication may well be out of date even before the year is out (indeed Facebook is making major changes as I write!). However, the overall concepts surrounding the use of social media in marketing will remain true for a little longer.

Any business making the transition to online marketing will find useful guidelines here.

The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use News Releases, Blogs, Podcasting, Viral Marketing and Online Media to Reach Buyers Directly
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
I am a marketing student in my final year and bought this due to our syllabus changing slightly to incorporate the changes that are occurring within the marketing communications world. It was very easy to read in comparison to other books similar to this one. Furthermore, it was actually interesting. It has not only been referenced in nearly all my assignments, but dissertation and exams as well. Definitely worth while reading as a student, business owner or just out of interest to see the impact social media and the internet is having on the business industry!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
Although i feel the book spends too much time introducing the information it is going to present to you, it is clearly written and its success is testament to the concepts within it actually working. Having since met the author via social networking it became clear that this is a topic that he is serious about and dedicated to and the book is based on his real experiences. Promotion of the book was conducted via online marketing and you can see for yourself its success by its high Amazon rank. Having tried some of the concepts myself I can state that I saw a significant increase in web traffic, but it is by no means a quick and easy option. Successful Internet marketing takes a lot of time and effort.
Although I would personally have preferred less background discussion on the topics in the book, undoubtably other people will find that this makes the book flow better and gives it more readability and interest than a straightforward textbook or reference book.
Definately a 'must read' for anyone interested in updating their marketing and PR efforts!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2009
Anyone with a career in marketing can certainly benefit from reading this book. Especially if like me, you graduated before the internet changed the face of marketing. I haven't had my head stuck in the sand for the last ten years, far from it. But what David M Scott gets right is that he shows you how to successfully incorporate blogs and forums into your marketing plan. He also defines buyer personas by giving examples you can understand. He writes in an informal way that the masses can easily digest. Not that the masses will read it mind you.

Some things are common sense, web content for one. But social media tagging and podcasting might not be so easily understood by everyone. I find a number of little gems in here, things that I have researched and written articles on myself. It does prompt you to learn more, and that's not a bad thing. Highly enjoyable!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2007
This is a fantastic resource for anyone just starting to get to grips with e-pr. Full of ideas of how to make the best use of the internet to drive your public relations campaign.

However, it is very Americanised and, unless it is updated yearly, it is unlikely to keep up with the fast pace of the net.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2008
My business targets pre-start ups, new businesses and established businesses and I have found this book extremely helpful in its extensive detail about the ever-increasing opportunities for companies to promote themselves online. If you have a limited marketing budget this book will give you lots of ideas which can be implemented at a manageable cost. As a marketing strategist who always insists on goal setting and target audience definition as a starting point for any business or business project, I particularly liked Section III, which deals with establishing organisational goals and identifying buyer personae for products and/or services. An excellent resource which is very relevant to the modern world of online marketing. Barbara Grehs Marketing, London, UK
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)