Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars13
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£4.95+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2003
I can understand why some viewers would deem "The Muse" as being cliched or predictable, however i still found this to be a wholly satisfying and genuinely funny picture with the lead roles all putting in worthy performances. There is no serious message behind it although there are some dry observations on Hollywood and the creative process a director goes through. But to be honest i found it refreshingly lighthearted and witty in its jokes, which were snappy and laugh-out-loud funny. I would encourage anyone looking for a fun comedy that doesn't take itself too seriously to seek this out.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Muse:
1. Greek Mythology Any of the nine daughters of Mnemosyne and Zeus, each of whom presided over a different art or science.
2. muse
a. A guiding spirit.
b. A source of inspiration.
3. muse A poet.
Free On-line Dictionary

Hollywood seems so false. Each of us has our own interpretation of Hollywood life, but I can safely assume that behind the glamour is a group of people playing one-upsmanship, trying to outdo the other and using any means to get there. Steven Phillips, played by Albert Brooks is a film writer. Now, Albert Brooks has always been the epitome of irony to me. His acting and comedic skills are so powerful that he has become a favorite of mine. Somehow Albert Brooks is able to convey and project the feelings of a film writer who is on the skids, but doesn't want to face the reality of a Hollywood that has no empathy. He has written 17 films and is comfortable with the company he works for. B ut, he is told by his boss that he has lost his 'edge'. Steven feels he is on the edge now and never lost his. After talking with his agent, Hal, played by Bradley Whitford, he is told that no studio wants him, they all feel he has lost the 'edge'. Steven goes looking for help, and ends up at the home of a fellow writer, Jack, played by Jeff Bridges. Jack reluctantly tells him he has hired a 'muse' to help him through the rough spots. At last Steven meets the Muse, Nicole, played by Sharon Stone and hires her. Sharon Stone steps out of her usual sexpot roles and plays a seemingly, intelligent woman who has wisdom to spare. That is not how this Muse works. Steven must pay handsomely, Muses do not come cheap! As time goes on, Steven's wife comes under Nicole's spell and she and Steven go to great lengths to keep their muse.

This is a light hearted romp through the business of film writing, and we get a look at how Howllywood works. It is not all talent, tricks and under pinnings all play a part in this world. Self confidence can be the name of the game, but we all need a boost every so often. This is not one of Albert Brook's best film, but it is a good one. So, is it better to hire a muse or be one?

Recommended. prisrob 06-13-13
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2009
A wonderful and hilarious family film with outstanding acting performance from all the cast.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2000
The movie is about a failed film writer, who has been told by paramount to clean up his act. He goes to a friend who is also a film writer but is very sucessful and his friend tells him about a muse (Sharon Stone) who inspires great script writing. But it all backfires pretty soon. Not the bestfilm but some funny parts and worth your time. Rent It.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
Although i didn`t find this a waste of time,it does seem Brooks later directorial efforts are disappointing compared with earlier films such as Lost in America & Defending Your Life.The biggest surprise for me is Andie Macdowell who gives the films best performance.Watchable & mildly amusing but i don`t remember laughing out loud much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2000
Sharon Stone plays the mythological Muse, a woman who inspires the creative impulses in those she meets. But this is not a service she offers for free, as ALbert Brooks' screenwriter discovers. Shunned by studio bosses who believe he has lost his writing talent, Brooks visits the Muse and seeks her aid. It soon turns out that she works to no set deadline and must be pampered 24 hrs a day. Its a little like selling one's soul to the devil. The Muse is harmless enough entertainment but there are too few laughs for a comedy and the climax seems rushed as though even the writer has had enough. The DVD itself offer nothing more than the movie, so you really need to be either a big Stone fan or be in the mood for undemanding entertainment to buy this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
Funny little film. Elton John did the score of the film. Probably the most boring music Elton John has ever written. Still it's interesting to hear what he did. Pretty horrible acting in the mediocre film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
Can't figure the dismissive reviews posted here. Anyone familiar with Brooks's oeuvre will know just what to expect in one of his films. (And this is in no way a bad thing.) And true to form, The Muse fits in perfectly with the run of AB's gentle/satiric, and very funny comedies. To my mind he's a sort of suburban Woody Allen, at once more homely and sympathetic than his more illustrious New York counterpart. Again, this is no bad thing. The Muse is funny from beginning to end, filled with knowing situations and shrewd zingers that illuminate Brooks's canny vision of Hollywood, without ever getting bogged down in the usual sermonizing twaddle one tends to find in these types of film. All this plus the value price, you must be a Player not to get a copy today.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Love this film, brooks and stone are amazing actors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2001
This film does rank down with some of my worst films of all time.
A dull comedy with little to offer.
A role which could have done with being played by Woody Allen was played by Albert Brooks who also directed the movie and I can tell you now, it really doesn't work.
A few scattered jokes do little to salvage the movie which offers one of the dullest storylines I've seen in a long time.
Cameo appearences from James Cameron and Martin Scorcese are probably the best bits but at the end it's all a bit of a hollywood mess.
I don't advise even renting the movie.
Avoid.
Perhaps you should watch Woody Allen's "Deconstructing Harry". A film that offers a same kind of story but actually is a funny and well written.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.